We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel restaurant review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vander Urbani Resort
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel restaurant review”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The best slovenian ingridients meet traditional french techniques - great dining experience at the hotel restaurant. Staff were very friendly and dedicated to their job. Highly recommend the slovene cheese aged in Karst caves.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nudisiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    120
    31
    14
    2
See reviews for
40
170
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is actually review of the restaurant at the premise, as the place is also very suitable for eating and lots of people come here just to eat, rather than stay at the hotel.
The food is really innovative and good. Value is ok for such place, although a bit on the pricey side.
But the service... is not good. Waits are too long, waiters are a bit confused, , somehow the whole experience was not as it should have been, although it is hard to point why the staff was not good, they just seemed unintrested.
On the other hand, the apetizer in the form of couvert, was really "out of the place", not appropriate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vander Urbani R... V, Public Relations Manager at Vander Urbani Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review. Constructive critisism is always welcome.
That is one of the ways how to get better. Our restaurant is brand new and the staff as well.
Hopefully you will join us again and a difference will be obvious.
We are flattered that you liked the food.

Always welcome.
Best wishes.
Vander team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Vander Urbani Resort is right in the middle of the old town, where all the activities take place. The hotel receptionists are very friendly and will go out of the way to help you. The room itself (I got the small Vander room so I can't really blame anyone) is a little bit small but it's all very nicely decorated. The only problem with the hotel is that it's right near a very popular pub, so you can hear music blasting till 2 each night. You may want to ask the receptionist to give you a quieter room if there is one available. Other than that, each room comes with Molten Brown Toiletries. The infinity pool on the rooftop is very small but it's definitely worth a visit, especially in a sunny day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not too near to the pub around the corner!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony_Yiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great place, perfectly clean, personnel is great: they arranged an early breakfast box since I had to leave early in the morning, a table for dinner and helped me finding a location in Ljubjana.
I had an excellent stay and would love to go there for a longer journey. Service and rooms are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatatitania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in September 2012. We had a very good experience. The roof top pool is nice - but is very small - more like a lap pool/ hot tub combination. But the views are great and we enjoyed sitting up there for a few hours. The room was very nice - everything brand new. Bigger than any room we stayed in while in Slovenia. Our room had a big couch and a king size bed and there was still plenty of space. Bathroom was beautiful. Breakfast included was good but not as good as hotel cubo. Location is right in the middle of the pedestrian zone - which makes it perfect for walking out the door and being in the middle of everything- but a little dificult to get a cab. The serrvice was excellant. The manager went out of his way to make sure we had a good experience. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KRStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at the new Vander Urbani Resort in July 2012 after a vacation in Croatia we thought it could be nice to stop-over in Ljubljana. I saw the new hotel on the website of DesignHotels. For our whole stay there was just one point a bit frustrating: the hotel is situated in the middle of the Old Town of Ljubljana and not accessible by car! As we didn't know this our GPS navigator got completely stuck in Ljubljana. Best would be to follow the navigator to the hotel and you will automatically drive into a public underground garage (daily fee around 40 €). Fully packed with our luggage we were walking in the Old Town district and had no clou where the hotel is. After a short telephone call with the hotel someone appeared to pick us up and brought us directly to the hotel. It's hidden in an old building directly at the little river, 150 m from the "Triple Bridge". With just 16 rooms the hotel is really small and keen on personalized service. We booked the "Vander Large room" category and got a really nice room on the second floor with restricted views to the river, which was really beautiful. The room interior is cool designed with grey and and silver colours, a floor-to-ceiling glassed bathroom, marble walk-in shower, Molton Brown amenities. In a corner of the room is a mirrored "magic-box" which is the minibar. The snacks were complimentary! The super-king-size bed (2,20 x 2,00 m) was a piece of heaven. I haven't had such a good sleep for years. Even it was very hot in the town, our room was chilled and also during the night there was no noise coming from the air condition. As the hotel is located directly on a street with lots of bars and restaurants it was really noisy when the window was opened - but no more noise when you close it, fantastic!

On the rooftop is a small infinity-plunge-pool with hydrojets (7 x 2 m). Perfect to refresh and sun bath on comfortable cushions.

As the hotel was still in a soft opening it wasn't fully booked and some details are still missing as the hotel manager, Amanda, told us in a nice chat!

For breakfast we were alone as well and the nice lady served us very well. A small buffett just prepared for us, fresh juices, a good selection of bakeries and fresh fruits for a healthy start in the day.

In my opinion this little, hidden oasis of serenity will soon be one of the spots to be in Ljubljana and we will definetly return to the Vander Urbani Resort!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SaVa1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#22 of 31 in Ljubljana
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vander Urbani Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vander Urbani Resort

Property: Vander Urbani Resort
Address: Krojaska ulica 6-8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vander Urbani Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first member of Design Hotels in Slovenia.Vander lies on the river bank of the River Ljubljanica in the lively centre of the old town. Vander's heart beats with the Old part of Ljubljana, where old and new co-exist in a passionate embrace. Everyone can find a place at Vander. Whoever comes to Vander, will leave with the feeling as a local - "Ljubljancan". The external and internal renovation was designed by SADAR + VUGA architects. 16 exeptionally designed rooms are available. All bathrooms offer Molton Brown cosmetics. We offer a perfect sleep with Frette bedding, Moroso armchairs, Diesel and Floss lightening. A roof top terrace with an infinity pool deck is offering a special sensation. All kind of events can be organized on a terrace. The hotel has also wine cellar, restaurant and wine bar. The most exquisite ingredients from Slovenia are used by the Benjamina Launay, our Chef de Cuisine and his endless inspiration. Ecological awareness is not just a fashion statement for us. It's a way of life and business. Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Vander Urbani Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing