We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located for Business and Vacation in Ljubljana”
Review of M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
M Hotel
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Well located for Business and Vacation in Ljubljana”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Nice reception, reserved & free parking next to the hotel.
Good restaurant (esp. when dining a-la-carte), acceptable breakfast.
Relatively quiet location with good beds and reasonable TV selection. Free & fast WLAN now works in the rooms as well (before only CAT5).
Within 25 minutes walking distance to city center, which is great after a day in the car or the office; 5 minutes from the highway ring around Ljubljana is also a big benefit.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing towards the hill (same side as main entrance).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    174
    139
    28
    8
See reviews for
42
110
26
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Truly the worst hotel experience I have had in a long time......rooms are tiny and it almost looks like the hotel was previously a dorm for college students. Bed Linen stinks and air conditioning doesnt work. The breakfast buffet is more of a joke with all Mercator products in it. The staff is rude and even entered my room when I had the ''DO NOT DISTURB'' sign placed on the door handle. When I asked the duty manager why this happened, he told me that they thought I had already checked out of the hotel the previous day!!! Never again! 75 euros a night for this???

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ljubljana hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here as the hotel was selected by our tour for the first night...watch out for very small , very hard beds like you had back at school camp, a bathroom that is long overdue for an upgrade and a location with nothing gong for it unless you like the scenery created by grubby apartment towers. The one saving grace is the great little ground level bar and upstairs a more extensive restaurant across the back carpark...Go into the city a see what Ljubljana is really like. Lots of people could easily miss out on the beautiful city centre and extensive array of local treats available in this lovely city.

Room Tip: If any go for 801 defenitely not 406
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Mhotel in June 2012.
The hotel is located in the outskirts of the city, with a 20 minute walk to Old Town. One can rent a city bike, with the bike stand just around the hotel.
I noticed that Lubljana is a bike city, so watch out for the bikers, or join then on the rented city bike.

Clean, quiet and comfortable., with free internet access.

The speaks great English and is very polite. The breakfast was OK, but we were coming from Germany so German breakfast are superb in my opinion by comparison.

One of the problems was that the bar in the hotel closes early and we could not have a night cup after a long day, went around the corner and we were not served, although people just before us were - not sure what the problem was.

Another problem was the fact that hotel has terraces, which lock people trying to see some views of the city in. It happened to the member of mine group and another person.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleks K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have stayed couple of times in the last couple of years. My impression - not so good, average. Maybe more than average. Grab a cab if you don't have a car, since taxi in Ljubljana is not so expensive. Cleanliness is great, which is most appreciative.

Room Tip: Don't take the room which looks on the inner side of hotel, since trucks will wake you up EARLY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laki_Bgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed at M Hotel as part of a Cosmos tour, and then for an extra couple of nights after the tour ended.

As part of the Cosmos tour I was in a single room – it was the first time I’d ever come across a sole single bed in a hotel before! The room however was relatively spacious, the bathroom clean with a fantastic shower, and the bed comfortable. Both rooms I stayed in also had balconies, although there wasn’t much of a view as the hotel is located amongst residential blocks.

The staff were friendly, efficient, and all spoke excellent English. The breakfast buffets were great, although the dinner buffet not as amazing. However the service in the bistro was perfect.

Location-wise, it’s about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Ljubljana, 10 minutes’ walk to Tivoli Park, plus there are numerous shops nearby, including a supermarket right out back. It lies two minutes from one of the main bus routes, and the kiosks on the main road all sell Urbana cards for the buses. The bus system is also very easy to use.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoAngelNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
433 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The M Hotel is on the edge of the city centre. We stayed for two nights at the start and end of an organized tour. The rooms were fairly standard but comfortable enough. There is free WiFi internet access - this requires an access code from Reception. The reception staff all spoke very good English and they were efficient and helpful. There is a lobby bar but in the evenings we had to ask reception to call a barman to serve us from the restaurant. Both dinner and lunch were buffet style. A buffet dinner cost 10 euros - for this price it was good value with a fair choice of soups / starters, mains and desserts.
The hotel provided what was needed for a pleasant short stay in a historic city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LightAleCavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
2.7 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Meksiko
Hotel Meksiko
#19 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#25 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Birokrat Hotel
Birokrat Hotel
#20 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.5 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
5.0 mi away
Hotel Stil
Hotel Stil
#26 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Hotel

Property: M Hotel
Address: Derceva Ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — M Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel M is strategically located directly between the Ljubljana ring road and city center, providing a fast connection the airport and other tourist destinations and attractions in Slovenia. The city centre is only a short walk away or guests can use a public transportation and reach center in 5 minutes. Hotel M offers state-of-the-art accommodation with free wireless internet, a flat-screen TV and air conditioning. Guests can benefit from a modern restaurant with a beautiful terrace in summer. International, as well as vegetarian dishes are served there. A car and bicycle rental service is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing