We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient budget hotel”
Review of M Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
M Hotel
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Reviewed February 14, 2012

It is a clean efficient budget hotel. Rooms are quite small, but clean. Probably for cost saving purposes this hotel had the smallest soaps I have ever seen, not that it would matter but it shows the philosophy of a budget place. Breakfast is included in the price, it is OK if you don't expect much. Outdoor parking is plenty and free for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRozsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 461 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

I've been just a single night on this Hotel, however I've to say this is not close from the city center (at least walking).
Pros:
- Price;
Cons:
- The staff is not kind;
- There are rooms that still have the smelling of the smoke;
- The internet availability is restricted;

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiago C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed in a twin room and had no problems with the location (knew it wasn't city centre but it was close enough to walk or hire and ride bikes about to the tourist attractions). The breakfast was great when sitting outside in the sunshine - cooked and continental items available.
We even hired bikes from the hotel (5EUR for the day) to get around more of Ljubljana.
The only criticism is that both of the beds in the room have seen much better days and the two provided pillows were ordinary. New mattresses needed!
We caught the mini-bus shuttle for I think it was 8EUR per person and that was direct from the airport to the front door of the hotel and well worth it. WiFi was fine with a room on the 5th floor and the reception staff (we dealt with probably four different staff members during our stay) were all helpful.
Oh and the room price paid through whichever of the main consolidators I booked through for this hotel was pretty competitive too.
So, all good except the beds which were ok to sleep in but should be better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NTIcedCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights for a meeting. Front desk staff spoke decent English but not great and I had to repeat myself to be understood. They say there is room service but when I tried to order the restaurant answered that I should call back in 1 or 2 hours and they will see if they have food left!! There is a small drugstore and convenience grocery store around the corner. It's some 20 mins walk to the center, or a 5€ taxi ride. Coming back we paid 13€ and the driver explained that cabs hailed off the street is more since it's metered. (I think it's because we got the cab waiting in front of a high end hotel.) Breakfast is decent. Shower in room was very small so don't know how a large man could possibly shower without knocking the whole structure down. Single room with single bed is on the small side.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrusselsSprouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Stayed several nights in this hotel, which happened to be the start and end points of a tour of Slovenia I took recently. It's a decent place to stay, but don't expect the Ritz. The staff are pretty helpful and speak English and there free internet service (for up to 15 minutes per user), something pretty rare for European hotels. Rooms are small, with only a small shower and sink in the bathroom, but the beds were comfortable, if a little low to the ground. The breakfast bar is pretty good, with quite a few things to choose from, including eggs. Only big problem is that the hotel is a little ways out of the city center. Its either a 20-30 minute walk to downtown Ljubljana, or a quick bus ride (at least one route runs untill midnight). Fortunatly it's in a rather safe looking part of town (actually, Ljubljana doesn't seem to have that many trouble spots). One final word-if your to come to the hotel from the airport, its best to take the shuttle instead of the taxi. You save a lot of euro's and the service is almost as fast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derekp308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We needed a hotel for our late first night arrival in Ljubljana and couldn't have picked a nicer hotel. The staff were very welcoming, professional and knowledgeble, and the hotel was quiet, clean and business oriented. I loved the proximity to Tivoli park and reasonable access to the city centre.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyfromEtobicoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

On my previous trips I had been loyal to the Hotel Park in Ljubljana for its locaitons and friendly staff. On my most recent trip I thought I would try the M Hotel instead as it was substantially cheaper than the best price I could get at the Hotel Park. I had some reservations about the M Hotel initially as it is a few kms away from the old city but that turned out to be no problem at all. Through the hotel I had arranged a transfer from the airport to the hotel for a very reasonable price and the driver was on time, reliable, good company and the car was immaculate, all good omens for the hotel itself. The M Hotel is MUCH better value than the Hotel Park and definitely superior in every way - bigger rooms with better facilities, excellent restaurant facilities, the staff are as equally pleasant as those at the Hotel Park and abonus is that laundry facilities are free (considering how expensive the Hotel Park is to stay at, I resent having to pay to do a load of laundry !)The hotel also arranged a transfer to the railway station and the (different) driver was also great - humour, good spirts and reliable (much like the rest of the Slovenes). So don't be put off by the M Hotel being a few kms from the old city, it is worth the (minimal) cost and effort of getting there to stay in an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dallachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
5 mi away
Hotel Stil
Hotel Stil
#27 of 31 in Ljubljana
46 reviews
1.7 mi away
Birokrat Hotel
Birokrat Hotel
#22 of 31 in Ljubljana
374 reviews
1.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
3.2 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#25 of 31 in Ljubljana
254 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Hotel

Address: Dercheva ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: $75 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — M Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel M is strategically located directly between the Ljubljana ring road and city center, providing a fast connection the airport and other tourist destinations and attractions in Slovenia. The city centre is only a short walk away or guests can use a public transportation and reach center in 5 minutes. Hotel M offers state-of-the-art accommodation with free wireless internet, a flat-screen TV and air conditioning. Guests can benefit from a modern restaurant with a beautiful terrace in summer. International, as well as vegetarian dishes are served there. A car and bicycle rental service is also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your M Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing