We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I'm ever back in Ljub, Ill be there!”
Review of Sax Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sax Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If I'm ever back in Ljub, Ill be there!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hostel run by nice helpful people. Very cool jazz theme with its own jazz bar next door. About 20-30 min straightforward walk from train/bus stn thru the scenic centre. Its a pretty city and so a nice walk along the canal to it. The only thing I missed there was a kitchen but the centre is close with lots of cafes, markets, etc and theres a bakery very close. Clean bathrooms with up to date fixtures etc and good hot water. Fast wifi where ever I was in the hostel. Locker in room I could put my pack in (just barely) and they supplied a lock. If I'm ever back in Ljub Ill be there!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willyddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    22
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
1
17
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stumbled on this hostel accidentally but I'm really happy I chose it! Not only the jazz theme is magnificent but also it has a nice pub at the ground floor which is also very cute. The place was really clean and cozy.

The highlight though is the staff which are amazingly helpful. It would be impossible to describe how assissting they were. I can't stress enough how happy I was with their eagerness to help in any way imaginable.

I highly recommend this place with no hesitation whatsoever!

The neighbourhood (Trnovo) is also very nice very close to the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlaLjubljana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at hostel sax , Ljubljana, slovenia during my trip to Europe in August 2012. I hostel is wonderful, staff is very kind and helpful. When I landed at airport , I missed my bus to the town but the hostel staff guided me to take a cab and provided me required directions. The surrending area of this hostel is called eprova it's old Ljubljana and wonderful place to hang out, if you are lucky you will find live party at this place. Rooms are clean and neat, owners are very kind and listens to your needs. It's really a good place to stay if our are going to Ljubljana. Hire a cycle from hostel and you can discover the ci, Ljubljana castle is very near by. I had a great time during my stay there , I would definitely stay at hostel sax during my next visit.

Swap

Room Tip: Well my view is all rooms are nice and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Swapnil-liverpo... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Amazing staff, ready to help you as much as they possibly can, with great tips!
The hostel has it's own soul and livelihood, sparking clean and good facilities and location.
An amazing terrace for spring/summer, good music at the bar, live every Thursday night...

This place is just amazing....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Guillaume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

just got back from holidays , among other places also visited Ljubljana in Slovenia , that was on our list for a long time already.. We stayed in a new SAX hostel , that was recomended to us back home by our friends who were there last month. What a nice surprise it was. Friendly staff ( you feel like being home) , relaxed atmsphere and very clean .(showers cleaned twice) a day
We realy liked the design of interior and the grafitti painted house from outside makes it very special.We like to compliment the manager Mrs. Lea , who did the interior design.
Also The Sax jazz pub with its terrace and live jazz music was a nice surprise.Good jazz musicians in Slovenia.
Our stay in Ljubljana , in a hostel , situated beautifuly on the riverbanks , just 10 min walk from The Three Bridges,was realy unforgetable ,
We highly recomend it.
rgds joop

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joost d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had a two night stay in Ljubljana and our pre booked hostel was such a nightmare we decided to move here. Great atmosphere (no surprise with the pub downstairs) and within 10/15 minutes walk of the main square. 8 bed dorm was large, clean and comfortable. Only problem when we stayed was broken shower upstairs but this was being fixed as we left.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gunprecedented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here last night, got there at about 9.30pm so the people running the place were out working in the very cool bar out the front, but when they came out the back they got us set up pretty quickly and were really lovely. Place is brand new - very contemporary feel - think ikea! Had a double loft room with velux sky light. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was sparkling clean. We were the only ones who used it the whole time we were there! Dealt with 3 different people while we were there and they were all really chatty and helpful, just like all Slovenians are! Located right by the river which leads to a ten minute stroll up to the main square and another 10 to the train/bus station. Would not hesitate to recommend this hostel for a great place to stay in beautiful Ljubljana!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Vrba
Hostel Vrba
#2 of 73 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zeppelin Hostel
Zeppelin Hostel
#6 of 73 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostel Celica
Hostel Celica
#8 of 73 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sax Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sax Hostel

Property: Sax Hostel
Address: Eipprova ulica 7, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sax Hostel is Ljubljana's newest hostel, housed under the roof of the city's legendary jazz pub, Sax Pub. We are ideally located along the river running through the city's lively old center, where music lovers of all ages and walks of life have gathered for 25 years. Over the bustling terrace of Sax Pub, behind the graffiti-clad facade, are immaculately renovated doubles and dorm rooms, named after blues and jazz greats. To mix with Ljubljana's hip crowd, you need only to descend the stairs and take in the music of the pub, which on Thursdays is live. All rooms are equipped with power-outlets, reading lights, and free wi-fi. Every guest is provided with a personal locker for luggage and valuables. A fleet of bikes, ideal for exploration of the city, can be rented cheaply. Towels and linens are provided. Wheelchair accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Sax Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing