We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel, nothing special”
Review of Hotel Mrak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mrak
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel is 5 minutes walking from Ljubljana city centre in a quite corner. The rooms are clean but old style furnished. The wifi connection only works in the lobby and in some common spaces, but not in the room. The breakfast is quite rich but with average quality. The staff is cordial but sometimes a bit unprepared about basic procedures. The lobby was very smelly at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rysiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 304 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

the hotel is very well located just at the beginning of pedestrian area.
the room was not that small, just ok.
it is not possible to blind the window so at morning you always have sunlight in your eyes
the breakfast is poor and they are very fiscal on timing (at 10.000 they do not let you eat anything anymore!!)
the guy from reception in the afternoon was not so friendly and sent me to a wrong park when I asked for an information (and what I asked was basically the main park of the city!!!)
in the night the guy of reception was stinking so bad to make whole hotel stinks!! terrible!
the parking costs 16 euro
the price was very cheap but the hotel I think was overrated in trip advisor

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maba1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

You can do better than this hotel. The bed is simply a thin mattress (like a thin futon) on wood slats. The pillows are not much better than laying your head on a bag of dirty laundry. Our room was very dark and had very little air movement, even with the window open. The ensuite bathroom was clean and modern, although the shower stall was the absolute smallest possible and required special care to not rub against the sides while using. Breakfast was a variety of Slovenian dishes set out in a cramped space. As I said, you can do better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 298DickZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a small hotel in the centre of Ljubljana. Old looking interior, small rooms (still larger than rooms in France). Staff was kind and helpful. The lady at the breakfast was fast and helpful, but the food choice is quite basic. No diet or bio, not even low fat milk.

The reception can sell you some food or drinks. However, food choice is only chips and chocolate bar. Drinks choice is poor: some non-alkoholic drinks, some beer and wine. No whiskey, no vodka, no other hard liquor. No Coca Cola Zero, just the regular one.

Next time in Ljubljana we would consider this hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelF0rW0rkAndFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is not a high class hotel, it is not luxurious, nor extravagant. It is a nice, cozy hotel in the heart of the creative district in Ljubljana, just a few minutes walk from every important city amenity. It is by far more cheaper then other center based hotel, yet clean and comfortable. Don't expect latest fashion rooms, but there will be fabulous flowers on your windows, great friendly staff and a good vibe. Their weakest points are boring breakfast, that really gets you if you stay more then 3 days, lack of a mini bar ( there is a big fridge at the lobby, so you can get your drinks on your way to the room) and weak WiFi. We didn't have any problems with it, but our friends staying in a room further from the receiver, spent hours on the stairs, trying to get better signal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you book here, you will enjoy a very clean and comfortable room, a decent breakfast, good value for your Euro and an exceptionally convenient location from which to explore lovely Ljubjlana. Yes, it can be a little noisy on the street side but no different than many central city hotels. The desk staff was helpful and friendly and had useful maps and tourist information. We didn't dine here, though the restaurant appeared to be an attractive option. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Galooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Let me go to the point. The location is the best asset of this hotel.. the bathroom was ok and internet for free. The rest is somehow questionnable. small rooms, small bed (not comfortable), very old looking (colors, style, equipment..), breakfast was terrible... and when you have a room on the street side, then you will hear all the noises of the street, not sure that the window would close correctly...I would even not say that it had a good ratio price/value. Sorry for my honesty, it is just the way I feel after having visited many many other hotels.. if you go for partying and going out, probably fine. If you go for having a quiet touristic experience, well good luck.. business, forget it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yannick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,771 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#17 of 31 in Ljubljana
917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#21 of 31 in Ljubljana
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mrak

Address: Rimska cesta 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Pri Mraku Guesthouse)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range: $78 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mrak 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mrak is a family owned hotel, placed in the old part of Ljubljana town. It’s interesting history and a pleasant garden make this hotel an excellent choice for all travelers who are looking for a charming and inviting atmosphere. Besides the great location and the proximity to the main cultural venues, the hotel offers ultimate comfort whether you are on business trip or on holiday. This boutique hotel offers 34 rooms with comfortable beds and new high-quality mattresses made in Slovenia. Although the hotel is situated in the centre of Ljubljana, it is very quiet and peaceful place where you can relax and enjoy your stay. Breakfast is served from 07h till 11h in the ground floor as well as in the hotel garden during summer months – from May to September. FB is available upon request. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TV, telephone and free WiFi connection, safe deposit box… The hotel has 24/7 reception service. Our reception team is more than happy to assist you with any requirements you may have. In case that your request cannot be attended internally, we will find the best solution for you. There is a possibility of car parking in front of the hotel by prior arrangement and payment of € 16 /day / car. Pets are welcomed in hotel Mrak; upon prior arrangement and extra payment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pri Mraku Guesthouse Hotel Ljubljana
Pri Mraku Hotel
Pri Mraku Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing