We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; okay hotel”
Review of Hotel Mrak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mrak
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Delaware
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location; okay hotel”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel has probably seen better days. Seems a little tired - could use some redecorating in the bedrooms.

The restaurant for included breakfast was fine/acceptable.

The location was steps away from the Old City section and right by the hotel there were several restaurants, pizza shops, etc. I'd say the location is very good - no problems walking back at night from Old City.

I didn't pick this hotel - it was part of a Rick Steves tour - so I'm not really sure how it compares to other options in Ljubljana. But on its own merits I'd say it's a solid 3 stars.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    109
    82
    16
    0
See reviews for
30
90
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Very good accommodation; comfortable and clean room. We had an air conditioned room which not all room have. (You need to request air conditioning and is an additional charge.) Breakfast was fine, nothing special. Good location on the edge of old town...just where you want to be for sightseeing. Most sites and restaurants are within walking distance on pedestrian only roads. A nice hotel in a nice city!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamGorchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Location couldn't be better really, staff were lovely too. Rooms were clean, air con worked just fine, just a very old hotel, the room was kinda stuffy. A tad expensive for what it was. But no real complaints. Pretty good breakfast included too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loverofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights and found it perfect for a short sight-seeing tour of LJubljana. The old town with it's peaceful river and lovely cafes and architecture is literally just round the corner from the hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful and everything is spotlessly clean. Our room had a very nice bathroom but the room itself was rather stuffy and very hot as it was July and there's no air-con. However, we asked for a fan at reception - a must - and they promptly gave us one, which helped to some extent. There's also a great cafe almost next door to the hotel which does very nice coffee and food.

Room Tip: When we stayed there were noisy road works going on in front of the hotel (which would otherwise be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Location is the best asset of this hotel. The room was very dark (one small window) and furniture old, but it was very clean. Our room didn't have airconditioning and it was very hot in the night. When I made the reservation, I read from the hotel description that the hotel has airconditioning but it didn't say that there are rooms with and without airconditioning. So I made the mistake of assuming that all the rooms have AC. This also partly explains why the room price was lower than in some other hotels (the rooms with AC cost more, I read in the hotel).
Pleasant surprise was that our room for three contained three real beads, so the third bed was not an extra bed (meaning usually a sofa).
This is a good choice for a short city break, if you are not planning to spend too much time in your room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

+ location close to old town Ljubljana so ideal for a weekend trip
+ clean
+ breakfast was included

- bed was noisy and old
- didn't had the reservation on file when we came in
- kind of expensive
- has an old vibe to it not maybe due for a renovation I guess some people can find some charm to it

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadosM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

No frills but has all you need and an excellent location. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapine006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,522 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 31 in Ljubljana
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mrak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mrak

Property: Hotel Mrak
Address: Rimska cesta 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Pri Mraku Guesthouse)
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mrak 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mrak is a family owned hotel, placed in the old part of Ljubljana town. It’s interesting history and a pleasant garden make this hotel an excellent choice for all travelers who are looking for a charming and inviting atmosphere. Besides the great location and the proximity to the main cultural venues, the hotel offers ultimate comfort whether you are on business trip or on holiday. This boutique hotel offers 34 rooms with comfortable beds and new high-quality mattresses made in Slovenia. Although the hotel is situated in the centre of Ljubljana, it is very quiet and peaceful place where you can relax and enjoy your stay. Breakfast is served from 07h till 11h in the ground floor as well as in the hotel garden during summer months – from May to September. FB is available upon request. All rooms are equipped with flat-screen TV, telephone and free WiFi connection, safe deposit box… The hotel has 24/7 reception service. Our reception team is more than happy to assist you with any requirements you may have. In case that your request cannot be attended internally, we will find the best solution for you. There is a possibility of car parking in front of the hotel by prior arrangement and payment of € 16 /day / car. Pets are welcomed in hotel Mrak; upon prior arrangement and extra payment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mrak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pri Mraku Guesthouse Hotel Ljubljana
Pri Mraku Hotel
Pri Mraku Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing