We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Ljubljana Old Town
from $25.30
More Info
from $34.50
More Info
from $92.10
More Info
Reviews (6,741)
Filter reviews
6,741 results
Traveler rating
4,782
1,756
175
20
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,782
1,756
175
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river cobbled streets capital city cafes and restaurants walk around beautiful city small city european cities on foot both sides triple bridge the dragon three bridges walking tour castle architecture pedestrian
Filter
Updating list...
1,033 - 1,038 of 6,741 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2017

Although the centre is not that big it is a really nice place to visit. Nice buildings, relaxt atmosphere. Many terrases and everyone very helpfhul and friendly.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank NicNicNic_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017

Ljubiana is not the prettiest or most historic but is a good example of all that is good about Slovenia. With total population of only 2 million, with 65, 000 in the capital, it uses what is has to the best advantage.So lovely river, a tributary of the Danube, some churches, a small town centre, a few bridges all show cased by calm, organised Slovenians. The whole country is spotless. There is no unsocial behaviour, an unobtrusive police presence and lots of restaurants. Prices are reasonable, they have a market on Fridays with lots of stalls and food outlets. We had the Argentinian beef , with Argentinian wine...delicious. One of the best meals I had. At 14 euro for the two.

Date of experience: June 2017
3  Thank CrinkleDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile

Passed through Ljublyana on route to the Julian Alps. Had heard of it but knew nothing about the place. Having just come by train from Budapest, of the two I thonk Ljubljana is the place I will be coming back to.
We stayed in the Central Hotel, a chain hotel but very friendly and nice, with air-con in the bedrooms which was a relief.
We got of the train at 5.00pm and left the next day at 11.00am, so we had time for a nice supper, a look at the lights and a soak in the party atmosphere, then next morning a quick wander of the streets before shipping out. They do like to party in Ljubljana! All the cafes and restaurants down by the river were buzzing. We ate up a little back street, Tatjana's, see separate review, excellent place, although we passed many other places.
Didn't have time for the Castle with its exciting looking Funicular railway, didn't have enough time in the market, didn't have enough time, must go back!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017

We loved this city - beautiful to walk along the river and stop and view the old houses, refuel at one of the many fantastic restaurants and cafes - take the cable to the castle and check out the lovely shops and many bridges.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank TrixieBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017 via mobile

Very picturesque streets with old houses with no or very limited traffic. Many restaurants and cafes to stop be and refuel. Many squares with fountains. And the river in the middle of it.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank Kokosowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews