We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Ljubljana
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had a lovely break at the City Hotel, we arrived early and so the friendly gentleman at reception upgraded us. We had a lovely room, gorgeous bathroom with plenty of soft white towels, hot water and lovely free toiletries. Beds were very comfy - we both slept well. Breakfast was buffet style with a LOT of choice, you would not go hungry here !! REALLY lovely coffee but I agree with the comments about the orange juice machine = best avoided. We found the staff to be very friendly, always a hello and a smile when we came back from a busy day of being tourists. This hotel is very close to all the main sites. If we come back to Ljubljana ( & we hope to !!) we will definitely book this hotel again as we found it smart, clean and comfortable - a delight !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seneca111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel lives up to it's 3 star rating. Rooms though not big are clean and comfortable there is also free wifi in the room. There are 4 lifts so you never wait for more that half a minute maximum. Breakfast starts at 6am and 7 in weekends and although not varied every day, one can find a wide range of items from cereals to meats hams sausages sweets bread jams and a whole lot of other things. It's also a buffet breakfast. Coffee is excellent. Just make sure to use the chrome looking machine not the cappuccino one. We also opted for late checkout and it only cost us 5 euro. Reception is helpful and they speak great Italian and English.location is also really great right in the middle of Ljubljana and close to the bus station 5 minutes walk. Only complaint is sound proofing between rooms. I could hear the room next door quite clearly at times. I do recommend visiting this hotel and will surely visit again. A real 3 star standard that lives up to it's standard.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Whilst this hotel is quite convenient in terms of location, the unfriendliness of the staff render it totally unnattractive. When my husband asked if he could borrow some wine glasses and a corkscrew the man at the desk acted affronted and the woman behind the bar was positively rude. We had been gifted a bottle of wine by a kind Slovenian man and wished to try it in our rooms. My husband was forced to get he bottle if wine from the room as they would. It lend him the cork screw. When we tried to check in, no one offered to help whilst I struggled as he. Was double parked out the front. Customer service no -existent. Would never stay again.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Katestu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is very well located for everything you wish to see in this beautiful capital city. Everything is within walking distance therefore there is no added expense with taxis.
The centre is lovely with the river flowing through the heart of the city and cafes, bars and restaurants lined up either side of this river. The square is full of shops with the added surprise of Lacoste and Armani stores.
I stayed here on B&B and the breakfast was very good and kept you full until lunchtime.
Slovenia is a very cheap place to eat and drink. We paid around £1.50 for a pint of lager and around £7 for a large chicken meal in a restaurant. There is a McDonalds there with prices similar to the UK.
I would thoroughly recommend the City Hotel and thoroughly recommend Slovenia.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordanellie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

close to city center within 10 mins walking to famous sight seeing spot and beautiful city

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliannelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business 3 weeks ago. It was booked by colleagues of mine as it was central. Manuel the receptionist was very accommodating, allowing me to check in early as opposed to 2 in the afternoon (I had an early flight and had been on the road since 3a.m.). this enabled me to prepare for the business in front of me without adding to any stress. Aside from Manuel, the majority of staff were not very friendly and one negative is that I came back one evening and could not get a drink at 10:30 as the bar had closed!! It wasn't expensive but wasn't great either.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHRIS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A fantastic hotel in a great location; very hepful and courtious staff, clean, comfy and relaxing atmosphere; the breakfast was very variable and delicious with stunning selections...They can arange airport pick-up for only 9Euro if you request it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,778 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
767 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ljubljana

Address: Dalmatinova ulica 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: $88 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ljubljana 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is located in the very heart of Ljubljana and is an excellent choice for both business guests and tourists to discover the charms of Ljubljana and Slovenia. It has a wonderful view of Ljubljana Castle and the city cathedral, and an ideal location just a stone’s throw from the historic old town. This pleasant hotel among the vibrant city inns, shops, and attractive historical buildings offers local Slovenian and international cuisine as well as a state-of-the-art congress center. The Jože Pučnik international airport is only 25 km from the hotel, and the main railway and bus station is only 400 m away. The hotel is easy to access from all of the city’s major roads; once in the city, you simply follow the blue hotel signs. Ljubljana’s City Hotel is the successor to the venerable Štrukelj Hotel, which opened in 1907. The current hotel excels in its friendly staff, the warmth of its rooms, and a broad range of services found at an excellent location in the very city center. City Hotel has 201 rooms, three luxury suites, an underground garage, a conference center with four meeting rooms, a library, a terrace, an Internet corner, a restaurant, and a bar. City Hotel’s complete makeover concluded with its opening in September 2007. The “basic” and “standard” rooms were renovated, and the “superior” rooms were moved to a completely new part of the hotel. All of the rooms use a card-locking system and all of them have free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Hotel Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ljubljana Cityhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing