We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think it is good to stay only for one night !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel Ljubljana
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
St. Anton am Arlberg, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I think it is good to stay only for one night !”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Hotel has a good location in center Ljubljana , rooms are small, very poor and cheap furniture , bathroom very poor, room carpet appeared dirty needs replacement,the hotel is looking somewhat tired is in need of decoration, price 76 euro per person and includes breakfast, breakfast very good, no hotel free wifi in room,I think it is good to stay only for one night ! Not recommended !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertRozic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    616
    215
    46
    14
See reviews for
232
375
99
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had asked the hotel for an early checkin as my train was reaching early. I could have taken a later train had the hotel indicated that they cannot accommodate early checkin. Anyway I reach hotel early (10:30am) and ask if i can be atleast accomodated by noon and I dont know whether to point fingers but i did feel that the staff didnt care much. It was pouring outside but they asked me come back at 2pm only!! That too this was a day after eater and i could see that the hotel wasnt so full, but i guess that can be always contested. Anyway I didnt feel cared by the hotel staff and hence i reflect in my fdbk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTraveller-Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MihaCH, Manager at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our attention – normally our customer oriented and friendly service is one of the first things out guest notice, which can be also seen in the previous reviews.
Regarding the early check-in, generally the check-in is after 2 p.m. However, we do try our best to be able to accommodate our guests earlier when requested. The ability of doing so also depends on occupancy and the type of the room, since the room can still be occupied at the moment of your arrival.
We are sorry again if there was a misunderstanding in communication. You are always welcome to let us know about your early arrival, in order to pay extra attention to fulfil your wishes.

Sincerely,
Tina Mozina
Marketing & Sales Manager
City Hotel Ljubljana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were two couples traveling together, staying in different rooms. The rooms we were in were quite spacious, very clean and quiet. The wi-fi worked quite well anywhere in the room. The hotel seems to have been refurbished quite recently, even with three fast elevators in service - all activated with the room electronic card. Hot water in the bathroom was never lacking. The reception staff were all very helpful, as was Francesco who served us in our evening meals. Breakfast was very varied and very good, with a good assortment of fresh bread, cold meats, warm staff, cereals, cheeses, sweets...... It's location is excellent, being only five minutes walk from the centre. Except for the parking, which the hotel charges €18 per day, and no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, the hotel is all in all very good value for money, bearing in mind the location, the room, cleanliness, and breakfast service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfadami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location only 5 min from the river. Attractive warm bright room with plenty of storage space. The room was quiet and cosy with a working desk, great bed and fantastically reliable fast wifi. The breakfast was extensive and good quality and the reception staff were very helpful. You can tell that they really try and please their customers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucesterrshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Perhaps this hotel is a little lacking in character, but there are 5 good points which make it a very comfortable place to stay: 1, The location is excellent for those exploring the city on foot. And it is 10 mins walk from the train station if you want to go on a day trip. 2, Transport to and from the airport is arranged for you, and is reliable and reasonably priced. 3, Rooms are quiet and very clean, with comfortable beds and well appointed bathrooms. 4, Breakfast is varied with a good selection of both hot and cold foods. 5, Reception staff will help find information for you. We are going back to Ljubljana in a few months, and I have booked to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manxamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had the best experience at the Lesar Hotel in Ljubljana, on arrival they upgraded us to the penthouse. The service was excellent, room perfect, and when we had to leave early morning to catch a train they even made us a lunch to take with us. all in all the hotel and city were fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharronBellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We travel with friends to Ljubljana for my bussine trip.The location of the hotel is very good!Taxis out from hotel all the time. Super friendly stuff, ready to help you for all you need. Breakfast is good with different selection .The Internet was free!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtravelgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
1,473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 30 in Ljubljana
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
0.6 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#14 of 30 in Ljubljana
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ljubljana

Property: City Hotel Ljubljana
Address: Dalmatinova ulica 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ljubljana 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is located in the very heart of Ljubljana and is an excellent choice for both business guests and tourists to discover the charms of Ljubljana and Slovenia. It has a wonderful view of Ljubljana Castle and the city cathedral, and an ideal location just a stone’s throw from the historic old town. This pleasant hotel among the vibrant city inns, shops, and attractive historical buildings offers local Slovenian and international cuisine as well as a state-of-the-art congress center. The Jože Pučnik international airport is only 25 km from the hotel, and the main railway and bus station is only 400 m away. The hotel is easy to access from all of the city’s major roads; once in the city, you simply follow the blue hotel signs. Ljubljana’s City Hotel is the successor to the venerable Štrukelj Hotel, which opened in 1907. The current hotel excels in its friendly staff, the warmth of its rooms, and a broad range of services found at an excellent location in the very city center. City Hotel has 201 rooms, three luxury suites, an underground garage, a conference center with four meeting rooms, a library, a terrace, an Internet corner, a restaurant, and a bar. City Hotel’s complete makeover concluded with its opening in September 2007. The “basic” and “standard” rooms were renovated, and the “superior” rooms were moved to a completely new part of the hotel. All of the rooms use a card-locking system and all of them have free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ljubljana Cityhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing