We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Killer”
Review of Hostel Celica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Celica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Unfortunately this review scores a zero. Hostel is nice, staff are friendly. Arrived at 2pm and was told i could not get my room until 3 but could lock my bag up in the safe bag room. You may have guessed, everything was stolen along with bags from other travelers.

Police advise this is common occurrence in this city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 613 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

At first we were put off by the layout and organization of the dorm beds (some beds are squeezed tightly into gabled-roof corners) but management was helpful throughout the stay and more than made up for the slight problem. It doesn't quite live up the hype, but the building is beautiful and artistic. A unique, friendly, hostel experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 629john_9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for a night in August as we travelled through Slovenia. We were really impressed by how helpful and friendly the staff were and the chill out areas available however the bedroom left much to be desired.

The bed felt unsafe (loft style); a rail would have made a big difference. The steel ladder was unnecessarily uncomfortable given everything else in the room was made of wood. Presumably The height of the bed was for style purposes however the fan was completely redundant since the chord was too short to lift the fan to a suitable height. As such, this led to a very uncomfortable sleep and were forced to leave the room in the middle of the night to get some air.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciwi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Celica has a sociable vibe and is great if you want to meet people. It is in a good location close to the bus and train station and within easy reach of the city centre. I was most disappointed with the room however. As the hostel is an old prison the room I stayed in was like a cell. The bunks are high up and quite close to the ceiling which means putting your sheets on is quite tricky and there is a ladder which didn't feel all that safe to climb up to get to the bunks. Also the room was extremely hot with a small window and only a worn out fan to cool us down, which meant for a very uncomfortable nights sleep. Furthermore the kitchen area is tiny and does not have much in it. In the morning we were leaving we had to wait about twenty minutes to check out as there was only one person on reception. Having stayed in a different, much nicer and only £2 more expensive per night hostel in Ljubljana, I would not return to Celica.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBo_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja L, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Celica, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We would definitely wished for a more positive response and honestly, are very sorry to hear that you wouldn't choose Celica again. However, it's great you appreciated the hostel's location as it really is just a few steps away from the center and the main bus & train stations which makes it ideal for late arrivals or early departures.

One of the hostel's main features is definitely its prison-like concept which makes it different from the other facilities around, but also it's one of the hostel's main advantages. Each of the 20 former prison cells is unique in style and concept, which means is completely different from the rest. There are high bunk beds, round beds, corner beds and many other artistic solutions which make each room a unique accommodation experience. Since perception of art is a completely individual experience, it is difficult to argue whether you might be right or wrong about the style of your cell. But the one thing that is a bit puzzling is your criticism about staying in a cell. Didn't you choose this specific hostel mainly for this reason, to experience accommodation in a former prison hostel?

We do feel sorry for the lack of air that can occur in really hot summer nights. The cell floor can be cooled down only by ventillators and not by the air-conditioning system as it is on the 2nd floor. The building's architecture and the cells' style make it somehow difficult to install a cooling system for the whole floor, but there are serious discussions and arrangements being made at the moment about some possible solutions in the near future.

Nonetheless, we do hope you change your mind and visit us again to experience a different, more positive Celica stay as it has been for so many other travellers throughout all these years in the hostel's story.

Wish you all the best!
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fantastic use of an old building but, although some of the art was interesting, it didnt make up for the dirty rooms, filthy communal wash areas, terrible showers and expensive beer! A bit of a hostel atmosphere at night but don't hold your breath.
A novelty, which quickly wears off!

Room Tip: If you have any type of disability check that your room does not have ladders to your bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemmagrdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The good:
The hostel is extremely close to the main station, with access to buses that can take you almost anywhere and the city centre is a short walk away.
The hostel is clean, and has an interesting Chinese tea room in which you can sit, relax and play boardgames that are available to borrow from the front desk.
With its polished corridors, and plush foyer, it feels very much like a hotel.
The bad:
The hostel was once a prison (one of its supposedly attractive features) with cells available to stay in. The rooms, being cells, are very small with a sort of reverse bunk bed that hangs above the door/gate and requires you to scale a ladder. There is little room to maneuver or fit the bed sheets which you are expected to do yourself. In addition with only a small warn out fan in each room, it gets extremely hot and though there is a window, with the huge number of insects in the summer, a boiler room is still preferable to an insect room.
The ugly:
On the rooftop of the neighbouring building there are a large number of manequins in various poses (labelled art) which have the haunting affect of looking like ghostly spectres during the evenings. This in combination with the floor based installation art (hard to describe, but imagine wailing figures under your feet) make for a horrifying sleeping experience.
We also had a camera stolen whilst down in the foyer and though this is not directly the fault of the hostel, their public bar and restaurant are, in my opinion, partly to blame for the loss. (Admittedly the staff did try to help. I wouldn't say they did their best to help, but they did show a little effort).

It should be noted that we stayed in a two person room and I cannot, therefore, speak of the dorms.

I would say that this hostel makes for an unforgettable experience, but having been there once I would not return in a hurry.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanja L, Public Relations Manager at Hostel Celica, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your thorough and sincere review about your stay at Celica.

We appreciate what you classified as »good«. Regarding the neighbourhood area with the manequins, which you obviously seem to dislike, it should be pointed out that it is an artistic-bohemian area of Ljubljana, full of unusual cafes, concert clubs, art galleries and even little theatres. A great deal of Celica guest often emphasize that such surrounding environment gives the hostel an additional value and completes the unusual hostel character .

Furthermore, the 119 cell you stayed in is a piece of art as the rest of the 19 other hostel cells that have been artistically redesigned from prison cells into funky rooms. Each cell's concept and appearance is the author's idea and work so unfortunately, there's little use in explaining what should be categorized as nice or ugly People just have different tastes. And which is of course a good thing.

And finally, we are very sorry about the camera loss. But even more to hear you blaming the bar & restaurant staff for it. Since they are occupied with serving drinks, food and entertainig guests, they cannot be responsible for people's personal belongings, too. On the other hand, if such unpleasant events occur, the staff does everything in their power to help, including contacting the police if necessary in order to do as mush as possible, but unfortunately it is often of little use after objects disappear.

Once again, we appreciate your honesty in the review and would definitely preferred to see your experience would have turned out more positively.

Always welcome to stay again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hostel is near the train station and some way from the town centre. Whilst converted jails can make excellent hostels - I recommend the ones in Stockholm and Prague - this one is in the middle of an area full of loud gatherings at all hours of the night; also there is no air-conditioning. So be aware that you're staying in the equivalent of Christiania: if you like graffiti art, public sculpture, and playing the guitar until the dawn, this is the place for you! If not, not.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasWomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
2.2 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meksiko
Hotel Meksiko
#23 of 31 in Ljubljana
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Trojane
Hotel Trojane
#30 of 31 in Ljubljana
17 reviews
0 mi away
Terme Snovik
Terme Snovik
#28 of 31 in Ljubljana
185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostel Tivoli
Hostel Tivoli
#4 of 100 in Ljubljana
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Celica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Celica

Address: Metelkova ulica 8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range: $32 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Celica 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HIPPEST HOSTEL #1 by Lonely Planet - situated in the centre of Ljubljana: train station - 3 min, Three bridges: 8 min walking distance - UNIQUE EXPERIENCE: Sleep in 20 artistically renovated former prison cells (a priceless work of art). - Artistically renovated former prison into a modern youth hostel - Food & beverage facilities - Cultural events, art gallery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Celica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Celica Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing