We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hostel”
Review of Hostel Celica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Celica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had heard before staying here that this was one of the best hostels to stay at in Ljbuljana so thought we would book here for three nights. We were not disappointed.

Very clean and tidy hostel. Friendly reception and bar staff (but that could be due to the amount of time and money we spent at the bar!!) Staff very helpful in providing directions. We did not stay in the old prison cells as there were four in our group so we stayed in one of the four bed rooms. Tidy and comfortable and spacious. We had our own bathroom which was a luxury. The breakfast was also very good for a hostel. I would happily have stayed here for longer than the three nights we booked.

I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to go to Ljubljana!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumbaa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 601 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed in a "cell" room (double room) for 4 nights. This hostel is well priced, well located close to the main train station, walking distance to all sights in town. The staff at reception are extremely helpful (helped booking shuttle taxi to airport) and friendly. The hostel itself is safe, clean, has a great atmosphere. Very cool rooms (used to be a prison). Showers/WC are shared, clean, constant hot water. Option of having breakfast in the morning (3euros - I would say it is slightly expensive for what you get, but then it is your decision whether you want it or not). All evenings were calm, no loud noises. They have good evening programs (live music, cocktail nights, football nights). Extremely happy, definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank putus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Arrived in Ljubljana in the evening and went straight to the hostel to check-in. Staff here (as everywhere in Slovenia) spoke v. good English, so no problems. The hostel is an old military prison, but it's been completely modernised inside and out, and looks very good. We had a private room which was an old cell. It had a decent sized double-bed, which was up some steps above the rest of the room. Shared showers and toilet were fine.

There was free wifi and internet usage, although we didn't really use them. Breakfast was included, which was a mix of cereal, breads, boiled eggs, coffee/tea/juice etc. Nice breakfast area, and there was a bar and a shisha-smoking area, which we didn't use.

The hostel is very close to the train station, and only about 10 mins walk from the main old city centre. The Metelkova area the hostel is in has lots of alternative clubs and so-on. The only drawback was hearing people coming back in about 4-5am making some noise.

The area around the hostel and the clubs has a lot of mostly very good graffiti, if you like that sort of thing (and I do). We also saw a lot of graffiti on the trains in and near the nearby station. The city itself has lots of graffiti and street-art in many places it seems.

Would definitely stay here again, and for longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncan-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A buddy and I recently visited Ljubljana from Scotland. I had been to the city before, however I chose another hostel. While I don't regret my original choice in the slightest, I'm really pleased I chose Celica this time. You will struggle to find a more unique hostel in a more unique setting. It sits on Metelkova, which is perfect. It has a great atmosphere and a really vibrant feel in the bar. The food is pretty good for a snack before heading out for the day and it serves a more than basic breakfast for only a little extra. As for the rooms, it's unlikely you will stay in any other prison in Slovenia without having committed some sort of misdemeanour so the novelty is very unique. The cells are pretty odd in a really cool way.. Good showers, and the hostel itself is absolutely spotless. It seems very clear they take great pride in their hostel, and quite right too. This will be my base of operations from now on in one of my favourite cities in the world. I can't recommend it highly enough. There, I hope this makes up for us oversleeping and missing our check out : )

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porkchopexpress1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is fantastic. Great location, as it is 5 minutes walk from the main train station.
Local bars are a throw away, so no chance of getting lost.
Very clean facilities. Free wifi. 3 compuuters close to hand. You receive 30 minutes free on the computer. After you pay a nominal fee for future use, during your stay.
A cheap bar, with plenty of space to relax. Food available throughout the day.
Washing & drying clothing costs 8 euros. Not the modernist washing machine, but it still cleans your clothes.
Smoking area in the garden. Heaters present, so it is never too cold outside.
Sleeping areas are compact, if you are tall, be careful when vacating your bed.
Decent showers, always hot water & steady streaming of water.
Alot of activities, such as a free concert, discounted cocktail parties & there is definitely an blend of international and local interaction.
Bus transfers to local & international airports(international bus is based on the number of people travelling).
No lockers in the rooms, but a free deposit box for your passport & wallet/purse.
24 hour reception.
The staff are very friendly & have a good knowledge of English.
Breakfast is worth taking, if you are awake then, but it can be excluded from the price of your stay, if you don't want it.
The hostel works also with tour and trip specialists in the city.
You can call worldwide for a cheap rate.
I bought a postcard and stamp, and a postman comes to the hostel, so no need to find a postbox.
An experience not to be turned down, if you are in Ljbubjana.
The building is part of an old prison camp, but now it is a hub of local and international following.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curtis-roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

What a great hostel! A former prison and you can tell in the way the rooms are structured. Prices are very reasonable while travelling, washing facilities were very good and there was a great mix of nationalities enjoying each others company. Breakfast was very good and simply couldn't fault the quality of the produce, the city center was around a brisk 10-15 minute walk and the main stations were in close proximity. Very clean and great that you can chill with a beer in the hostel!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank felipej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was very interesting for us to stay in a former prison and to sleep in jail rooms! That was unique experience and room was nice. Staff is informative and helpful, there is restaurant with nice atmosphere and the best was a breakfast, it was really delicious! If you want to experience something different this is a goodplace for you to visit! We had fun in Celica!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
1.7 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#27 of 31 in Ljubljana
250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,713 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Park - Urban&Green
Hotel Park - Urban&Green
#19 of 31 in Ljubljana
884 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vila Veselova
Vila Veselova
#3 of 58 in Ljubljana
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Celica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Celica

Address: Metelkova ulica 8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range: $22 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Celica 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HIPPEST HOSTEL #1 by Lonely Planet - situated in the centre of Ljubljana: train station - 3 min, Three bridges: 8 min walking distance - UNIQUE EXPERIENCE: Sleep in 20 artistically renovated former prison cells (a priceless work of art). - Artistically renovated former prison into a modern youth hostel - Food & beverage facilities - Cultural events, art gallery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostel Celica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Celica Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing