We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I never thought I'd enjoy being 'banged up abroad' like this.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Celica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Celica
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I never thought I'd enjoy being 'banged up abroad' like this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

A buddy and I recently visited Ljubljana from Scotland. I had been to the city before, however I chose another hostel. While I don't regret my original choice in the slightest, I'm really pleased I chose Celica this time. You will struggle to find a more unique hostel in a more unique setting. It sits on Metelkova, which is perfect. It has a great atmosphere and a really vibrant feel in the bar. The food is pretty good for a snack before heading out for the day and it serves a more than basic breakfast for only a little extra. As for the rooms, it's unlikely you will stay in any other prison in Slovenia without having committed some sort of misdemeanour so the novelty is very unique. The cells are pretty odd in a really cool way.. Good showers, and the hostel itself is absolutely spotless. It seems very clear they take great pride in their hostel, and quite right too. This will be my base of operations from now on in one of my favourite cities in the world. I can't recommend it highly enough. There, I hope this makes up for us oversleeping and missing our check out : )

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank porkchopexpress1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    223
    91
    46
    34
See reviews for
36
164
96
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is fantastic. Great location, as it is 5 minutes walk from the main train station.
Local bars are a throw away, so no chance of getting lost.
Very clean facilities. Free wifi. 3 compuuters close to hand. You receive 30 minutes free on the computer. After you pay a nominal fee for future use, during your stay.
A cheap bar, with plenty of space to relax. Food available throughout the day.
Washing & drying clothing costs 8 euros. Not the modernist washing machine, but it still cleans your clothes.
Smoking area in the garden. Heaters present, so it is never too cold outside.
Sleeping areas are compact, if you are tall, be careful when vacating your bed.
Decent showers, always hot water & steady streaming of water.
Alot of activities, such as a free concert, discounted cocktail parties & there is definitely an blend of international and local interaction.
Bus transfers to local & international airports(international bus is based on the number of people travelling).
No lockers in the rooms, but a free deposit box for your passport & wallet/purse.
24 hour reception.
The staff are very friendly & have a good knowledge of English.
Breakfast is worth taking, if you are awake then, but it can be excluded from the price of your stay, if you don't want it.
The hostel works also with tour and trip specialists in the city.
You can call worldwide for a cheap rate.
I bought a postcard and stamp, and a postman comes to the hostel, so no need to find a postbox.
An experience not to be turned down, if you are in Ljbubjana.
The building is part of an old prison camp, but now it is a hub of local and international following.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curtis-roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

What a great hostel! A former prison and you can tell in the way the rooms are structured. Prices are very reasonable while travelling, washing facilities were very good and there was a great mix of nationalities enjoying each others company. Breakfast was very good and simply couldn't fault the quality of the produce, the city center was around a brisk 10-15 minute walk and the main stations were in close proximity. Very clean and great that you can chill with a beer in the hostel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felipej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was very interesting for us to stay in a former prison and to sleep in jail rooms! That was unique experience and room was nice. Staff is informative and helpful, there is restaurant with nice atmosphere and the best was a breakfast, it was really delicious! If you want to experience something different this is a goodplace for you to visit! We had fun in Celica!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was a great experience sleeping in an ex prison. When I read before going to Ljubljana about this hostel I couldn't imagine we will be sleeping in a real prison cell.
Apart the atmosphere it is 5 minutes walk away from the train and bus station and 10 minutes walk away from the city center. The hostel itself is also a heart of social life, so you will not get bored staying there. Very nice staff...thanks to Alja for muffins and a cute note :o)
Will surely advice this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadejda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hostel is situated in a quite good position, very close to the train station but not so close to the city center, but come on guys, walk have never killed anybody.
The breakfast is the best feature of the hostel, everything is good and is all that you can it. (for me this is very important). The receptionists are nice and helpful, the rooms clean and the living room with the bar make you feel already in a pub where meet people and have interesting conversation.
They organize also a lot of events like concert and free tour of the city. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robiboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked this hostel because of the theme, transformed from a former prison. The cell we got was a private double. The cell itself was clean and warm but not as nicely decorated as what we saw in the website. We guess it really depends on which cell is assigned for you. About the toilet and shower, it was shared. It was not so clean and was really cold. I spent 1 minute to finish my shower as it was freezing. The food in the hostel was good tho. The restaurant was with a very good atmosphere and food are reasonably priced. Breakfast was brilliant with the price of 3 euro per person. Wifi was only for common area. It costs extra if you want it in-room. We were happy with the experience but we would book other hostel if we come back to Ljubljana, as with this price we would get something definitely better in town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwtlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#13 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
1.0 mi away
Vila Veselova
Vila Veselova
#2 of 55 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Celica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Celica

Property: Hostel Celica
Address: Metelkova ulica 8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Celica 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HIPPEST HOSTEL #1 by Lonely Planet - situated in the centre of Ljubljana: train station - 3 min, Three bridges: 8 min walking distance - UNIQUE EXPERIENCE: Sleep in 20 artistically renovated former prison cells (a priceless work of art). - Artistically renovated former prison into a modern youth hostel - Food & beverage facilities - Cultural events, art gallery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Celica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Celica Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing