We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at the Celica” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Celica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Celica
London, England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Celica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Third visit and is does not disappoint once again. We stayed in the en-suite room this time, family liked it, but I personally like the cells better and would not use it next time. Staff are superb and always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book early as it is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markymoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    223
    91
    46
    34
See reviews for
36
164
96
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a pretty large hostel do the staff are very efficient but you dont get much in the way of personal service. The cell rooms are very interesting and as expected tight on space. The private rooms are pretty cosy too and get very hot which with no aircon available. The bathrooms weren't very clean. Breakfast was good. The location is walkable to the city centre but a little distance out, not too bad for a hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was looking forward to Hostel Celica soo much on my trip I couldn't wait to get there! Particularly after a hard days traveling from Budapest-Graz-Maribor-Ljubijana I coudn't wait to hop into bed. Okay this Hostel is exceptional cool but the converted cells, although refurbs, are still actually quite uncomfortable to stay in. Now maybe we had a particularly odd room but we slept on a raised platform above the room itself what was a nightmare getting up and down (especially when drunk!) as the ladder had no railings and up there was incredibly hot, no aircon - only a fan which was obviously was on the floor and no bloody good because we 8 feet above the ground lol. Apart from the poor sleep, stupid internet passwords and kinda rude staff, the hostel itself is a great piece of art, with lots going on every night, a bar with an area outside for drinking, music, bbqs and meeting people etc. Also if you want to 'do as the locals do' just behind the hostel is a huge carpark-type area were everybody goes to drink most nights, so grab a carryout and go out and mingle! Mixed review I know - id recommend it for sure, not for a good nights sleep but for everything else!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Celica was an amazing place to stay for meeting fellow travellers and enjoying Ljubljana's sights and nightlife. It was really hot in Slovenia when we visited and the rooms have no air-con which made them a little uncomfortable at times during the night. However the unusual decor (bars on the doors etc) overcomes any negatives. Probably better for the under 35s than older travellers or those with kids...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_Marie_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

A great base from which to enjoy the beautiful city of Ljubljana. Not the cheapest hostel you will find, but that's because it is very efficiently & pleasantly run, has excellent facilities (including a nice bar/cafe, beer terrace and chill-out room), and is totally unique. Wonderfully converted from a former prison and just a short walk from the centre of town, it's also in the small, cutting-edge and graffiti-strewn area of bars & clubs called Metelkova - worth a visit in its own right. The staff are happy to arrange tours, (very good & excellent value) car hire and give out free wifi passcodes. Choose from funky 'cells' for two or larger dorms - all with an authentically incarcerated feel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

On our road trip this summer, we thought it would be cool to stay in a prison one night. The hostel in its self was what you could expect from one. The prices are, according to the locals, quite expensive. I've been told that you could actually get a hotel for half the price.
The hostel was all right, nice and clean. the breakfast was all right as well. nothing more, nothing less
However, what makes this the perfect stay over, is not the hostel it self, but the area it's located. For those who have visited Christiania in Copenhagen, this area is the Slovenian answer to it. We stayed one night, and thanks to the area, we had the best stay in Ljubljana we could expect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredpetersNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hostel Celica is a busy, fun, vibrant place but on the other hand it may be the hostel that people who never leave the resort never set foot outside as fun, parties, socializing is done so smoothly by the staff, who are multilingual, friendly and helpful. It is also overbearingly noisy. 12 person room hot but neat, provided towel, sheets. Breakfast terrible- if you don't want chocolate in your cereal there isn't much choice at all. You start to think, do I want a small hostel that maybe isn't so professional but sincerely wants to make your stay enjoyable or a large, seamless, day-filling, partying hostel that does all that then doesn't really care. Up to you. Location ok as within late night alternative party district but 15 minutes walk to triple bridge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 418Fork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#13 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
1.0 mi away
Vila Veselova
Vila Veselova
#2 of 55 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Celica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Celica

Property: Hostel Celica
Address: Metelkova ulica 8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 70 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Celica 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HIPPEST HOSTEL #1 by Lonely Planet - situated in the centre of Ljubljana: train station - 3 min, Three bridges: 8 min walking distance - UNIQUE EXPERIENCE: Sleep in 20 artistically renovated former prison cells (a priceless work of art). - Artistically renovated former prison into a modern youth hostel - Food & beverage facilities - Cultural events, art gallery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Celica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Celica Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing