We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Hotel”
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Located near the city centre, the hotel is ideal to explore the city of Ljubljana. The hotel has a 3 star rating but should have at least 4! Comfortable and luxurious rooms, friendly staff and great breakfasts make this a " must stay" hotel for travelers to Slovenia.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Marianne144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 767 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

Ljubljana is a great base for people wanting to ski (Mt. Vogel, Kranjska Gora), visit the caves (Postojna, Skocjan), or visit the sites (Lake Bled, Tryglav National Park). This hotel is perfect for this. It is two blocks south of the train station and bus station which are next to each other. Don't even bother with a taxi from the stations to the hotel, you are just so close.

Most sites mentioned above are a half hour to one hour away by either train or bus. Bus is usually better because they are more frequent and travel to more places. The airport can also be accessed by bus (40-45 minutes) from the main station.

The hotel is also just 4 blocks north of the cultural center of the city - Preseren Square with three bridges. Good restaurants with plenty of outdoor dining and people watching are along the river. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but the ones in the city center are very good. The Sokol (with traditional Slovenian entrees and atmosphere - try the trout fillet), Zlata Ribica (with the best reputation for views and people watching along the river front), and Marley and Me (a cute little place - the salmon salad and cream cakes are excellent) are just some of the eateries worth checking out.

Excellent shopping is minutes outside your door. Little boutique shops and the oldest department store in the country are just steps away.

One tip. I avoid tours, but there is one minutes away in Preseren Square every day at 1100 am that is recommended. It is the Ljubljana Free Tour. Check their website. Tina did the walking tour and the tour was quite informative and enjoyable. It lasted almost two hours. Tips accepted.

The hotel rooms themselves are average - quiet, claean and comfortable. A room on the 6th floor gives you a view of the castle and some of the city from the large windows. An indoor swimming pool on the top floor of their sister hotel two blocks away is a nice compliment. Yet the hotel does not deserve it's excellent rating on the rooms or facility (which is still good), but on it's great location which will allow you to maximize your experience in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahbutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

walking distance to everything, 5 mn walking distance to the bus and train station, 8-10 mn distance to the old town. we got a really good deal through a booking website so if you get a deal then go for it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank exclea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed at Centra Hotel for New Years Eve, for one night. My car was safely parked in the near by carpark for a convenient price of 20€ for the 24 hours, walking distance to the main square in Ljubljiana was less then 5 minutes. Reception personal spoke both English and Italian and was very helpul with a nice map of the city, still I knew the city already. The room was perfect for two, soft towels and amazing bathrobe, all set of shower gel and cream, sewing kit and shoe sponge!! Although our window was not facing the main road, there was some noise but of course only because of the celebrations! Breakfast was a delightful surprise, all sort of food, from sausages, eggs, cakes, cereals, fruits, juices and deliciuos home made croissants!!! Half an hour breakfast, we skipped lunch!! I will definetely recommend this hotel and will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CristianaRanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

we arrived at this Hotel without a reservation close to midnight. The reception was very helpful not only at check inn time but the other days as well. The quality of the breakfast was impressive; really good and included with the price of the room. The location fantastic, very close to everything in this wonderful city of Ljubljana and the rooms impeccable, clean and quite.
Step at the Hotel door, walk a couple of nice blocks, enjoy the architecture and you are downtown!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights last weekend, and had a wonderful stay at this very " Central " hotel. Close to the town centre, rail and bus stations.
We arrived early, yet were checked in and given a room straight away. Reception staff are English speaking and very friendly, polite and helpful.
Our room was spotless, not the largest but perfectly adequate for our needs. Lovely en suite with fluffy towels/robes/slippers and the usual complimentary shampoos etc.
There was a mini bar in the room which wasn't extortionate, but tea and coffee making facilities would have been really useful. The bed was comfortable and there were extra pillows and quilts in the wardrobe should you have needed them.
The breakfast was excellent, all sorts of everything! All hot and fresh and as much as you wanted. The little croissants were delicious. My husband enjoyed the full English both mornings-which set him up for the day!
In the reception area were free computers which was useful.
We particularly liked the hot mulled wine in the downstairs bar, which for a 4* hotel was really reasonable.
All in all, I could not fault this lovely hotel we had a wonderful short break in Ljubjiana, which is a beautiful little capital, with lots of interesting places to visit only a short bus trip from the city centre, we particularly enjoyed our day in Bled...an absolutely stunning little town, we walked around the lake and took a boat to the island to visit the church.
We also enjoyed the views from the castle in the town centre which we got to via the funicular.
A must try are the local burets..a meat or cheese filled pastry..very yummy!
I would recommend Slovenia for a short city break, and most definitely the Central Hotel to stay as it really has all the necessities and comforts for the visiting tourist.

Room Tip: Should imagine the majority of rooms are all the same, and all overlook the surrounding roads. But t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laviniajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Located in the center of Ljubljana the hotel offered a very comfortable stay. Starting from a kind reception service to a very clean room with one of the most comfortable beds there is very little to add completing a very good price/quality ratio. Wi-fi in the premises is with one of the best coverage I have found anywhere and free of charge of course. Bathroom amenities are very complete and overall have very little to add. Having traveled all around the world it is a pleasure to recommend this hotel. As written in my previous review from Sweden, details make the difference which in this case are all to the positive side !! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikko E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,771 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,464 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#12 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 9, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: $92 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel is a comfortable and cosy Ljubljana hotel. Its unique location in the city centre gives it a special sense of practicality and comfort. Central Hotel offers comfortable accommodation with 71 hotel rooms and 3 suites at good value rates The equipment in the rooms and suites: cable and pay-per-view TV, direct telephone, an internet connection by the writing desk, a mini bar, a safe, a bathroom with a shower or bath-tub and a hair dryer and anti-allergenic floor covering. All rooms in the hotel are air-conditioned. The hotel has smoking and non-smoking rooms arranged by floors. The hotel also has a laundry room, where guests may have their laundry washed and ironed for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing