We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good choice for a short stay in Ljubljana” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Central Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Kastela, Croatia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good choice for a short stay in Ljubljana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent one night in this hotel. It is a tipical city hotel. We really liked the breakfast and the very nice service, everyone is heplful and polite. The position is great, just few min walk to the center of old town.
Rooms are not 4 star european standara, special the bathroom which need a be renovated, but for a city break it is more than perfect.

We got a very good price by booking over the web in advance, if we had to pay the full price my review wouldn't be that positive, but our value for mony was perfect.

Some advice, don't use the hotel parking, it is cahred 19euro per night, there is a lot of public parking areas next to the road around the hotel, you pay per hour just a part of the day.

Hotel offers free and very fast internet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goran_1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    304
    114
    24
    7
See reviews for
87
263
53
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

. I looked at many hotels on line and was surprised Ljubljana hotels are so expensive. This hotel is no exception. On the other hand this is a grand hotel, and just a few yards from the very center of the city. I must confess that I was a bit disappointed in the room they gave me at first but I easily got moved to a fantastic suite. The staff are all very helpful and the breakfast buffet must be one of the best in Europe! The center of the city is is wonderful place to stroll in the evening. I really want to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenw15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

5 Minutes walk from bars, riverside, castle and bus station for number 28 coach to airport. Nice clean rooms. Breakfast was cold 1st morning due to fault with equipment but made me a fresh omelette. Helpful staff!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Clean, quiet and comfortable hotel. Reasonably good value for money, staff very friendly,
spoke good English.Bed was comfortable but air conditioning wasn't working and it was a particularly hot weekend for October so room was very hot. Five minute walk to the city centre (three bridges) and all the bars and restaurants. Breakfast was good with hot food refreshed throughout opening times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flightpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Classic 3-4 star, international TV, i/net, minibar. Nothing very Slovenian. Arrived late without booking on Sunday (dead day of week for hotels) and got discount on announced rate (paid 100 Eur/night for double with breakfast; hotel parking extra 19 Eur). Clean, quiet, view of castle, piedestrian area of town centre, local restaurants very cheap. Good stopover.

Room Tip: For stopover this hotel is fine. Don't expect anything 'local' in the decor, but breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulgaria34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

As we were staying 6 nights in the hotel we upgraded to a suite. This was a very good move as we had loads of room. Separate sitting room, bedroom, 1.5 bathrooms, 2 TV's. plenty of cupboard space and drawers.
The hotel is only a 7 min walk to the central part of the city. Staff were very pleasant and always had a smile. Whilst breakfast was buffet style you could have special meals cooked for you. Overall a very pleasant stay in this hotel. Definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We got a good rate for this hotel off booking.com and were happy with what we got.
A nice, clean hotel with spacious room and bathroom. Great shower! Very clean, lots of toiletries in the bathroom. We had a room on the 6th floor, very quiet and no noise at all.
Drinks in the bar reasonably priced. Shuttle service to and from the airport. Helpful, friendly staff. Literally a five minute walk from the main square.

Only downsides were the pillows were useless and ended up with two very bad nights sleep and the breakfast wasn't as great. Suspect this was because we got there at 9am and it finished at 10am. The hot food had gone cold and there wasn't much left. Otherwise a good enough selection.

Room Tip: Ask for room higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midlander80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#8 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Property: Central Hotel
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 9, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel is a comfortable and cosy Ljubljana hotel. Its unique location in the city centre gives it a special sense of practicality and comfort. Central Hotel offers comfortable accommodation with 71 hotel rooms and 3 suites at good value rates The equipment in the rooms and suites: cable and pay-per-view TV, direct telephone, an internet connection by the writing desk, a mini bar, a safe, a bathroom with a shower or bath-tub and a hair dryer and anti-allergenic floor covering. All rooms in the hotel are air-conditioned. The hotel has smoking and non-smoking rooms arranged by floors. The hotel also has a laundry room, where guests may have their laundry washed and ironed for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing