We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely hotel in central Ljubljana with car parking !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union Business
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“a lovely hotel in central Ljubljana with car parking !!”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

a very quiet hotel with a bit of a stuffy atmosphere but saying that the rooms were fantastic. Lovely comfy beds and decorated with great style. A great location to visit this fantastic city with much needed parking as there is none in the city. Swimming pool was closed when we visited but having it refurbished so should be bonus when completed. Breakfast good ; can even have champagne !! Didn't try hotel restaraunt as only there one night but would recommend traditional Slovenian restaurant close by called 'Sokol' great food, great price and very attentive staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodo029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    277
    71
    17
    6
See reviews for
95
196
39
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

nice hotel, with great buffet breakfast and superb location close to centre. The only problem was that the leisure centre ( pool & fitness) was closed due to repairs - and this was practrically the only reason we were chosing this hotel. In addition we were not informed in advance of this. Fine otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

The new renovated rooms are good; I included a picture of the room and bathroom. Also, the air conditioning works well, unlike much of Ljubljana. There are still signs of renovation, like carpet in the stairwell, and the summer refurbishment of the pool.
Service is polite, but not overly talkative; the desk staff will handle requests in English, but it's not like chatty America. The included breakfast is a full breakfast, and has nice breads, though I don't suggest the bacon.
The location of this hotel is very nice, only 1 1/2 blocks from Preseren Square and the centre of town. This hotel is not as luxurious as the main Union, but it's cheaper. If you want a good hotel (not a 5-star one) in a great location, you'll be happy here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hague
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for one night while visiting Ljubljana. The hotel facilities are very modern, with flat screen TV, free wifi internet, great bathroom, everything very comfortable and clean. Good breakfast, abundant and with a lot of variety. Excellent location in the city center. It was a bit deceiving that the hotel had a pool, but it was closed during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I was initially unhappy that the pool was closed for renovation as it was a major reason for choosing the Grand Union. I'm sure hotels know their maintenance schedules well in advance, and I feel they should be honest when you book. Having said that the service in the hotel was excellent and we loved the garden restaurant and the breakfast was the best we had ever had. We did also have the noisy nightclub experience before figuring out how to close the windows properly and engaging the aircon. Location is simply superb.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevalRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The Grand Hotel Union Business is located in the very centre of Ljubljana. At the reception desk the staff is very friendly and helpful, but not in other parts of the hotel (e.g. at breakfast, room service). If you are out of something in your room - as shampoo - it is not so easy to get a new one. The maid does not really care. The rooms are partially renovated and the quality of the bed was really excellent. Breakfast is just average.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weltreisender09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

If you are in Ljubljana just for a day, especially during summer months, this hotel will allow you to maximize your experience as the city center is rather small and hotel is walking distance from everything that you could possibly want to see. It has perfectly refurbished new rooms and very excellent restaurant service. My group had a dinner as well, and I can only give many compliments to the staff and management. Also, it is one of the few hotels where I have seen porters smiling and working their job with happyness. The breakfast is the jam, you can enjoy plenty of varieties. If you can afford it, go for this very confy stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tihi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,571 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union Business

Property: Grand Hotel Union Business
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union Business 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and comfortable Grand Hotel Union Business enjoys a privileged location in the financial and shopping district of Ljubljana's city centre. Renovated rooms feature elegant design, high-quality furnishings, free WIFI access and relaxation options adjusted to the requirements of every traveller ... Perfect combination of spacious rooms and modern facilities. Elegant a la carte restaurant with delicious cuisine is led by the head of Slovenian national culinary team. For a delicious warm or cold cake, visit the The Grand Union Cafe and enjoy the unique confectionery based on ancient recipes. Unwind at the indoor swimming pool, during a sauna or a massage and enjoy the souvenir shop, a fashion boutique and a jewelry shop. The Grand Hotel Union provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with a capacity for up to 800 participants and many other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Union Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing