We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grate hotel, excellent service, super restaurant, super breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union Business
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“grate hotel, excellent service, super restaurant, super breakfast.”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I and my wife came to Ljubljana for the first time. We lowed every minute. One of the cleanest towns we have been to. First class room with balcony facing the Castle. the first morning at breakfast, the staff found out we were celebrating a big anniversary, and to our big surprise a waiter and a young service lady, brought us two glasses of Champagne and a little chocklate cake .
we had dinner at their restaurant, super meal and top service. The hotel is situated in the center of town, so you do not need any taxi. Lovely to stroll around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magni_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lipovsek_Bogdan, General Manager at Grand Hotel Union Business, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear “Magni_13”

Thank you for sharing this wonderful review here on TripAdvisor.

I’m happy that we have been an important part of making your first visit of Ljubljana unforgettable.

On behalf of everyone here in Grand hotel Union Business I would like to thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Bogdan Lipovšek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    269
    69
    16
    6
See reviews for
92
188
38
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in April for 2 nights for a business trip. It was my first visit to Slovenia, Ljubjiana. Hotel is 25 min from airport and very close to old city center. Good for sight seeing in evening. Staff was very polite and cooperative, good variety in breakfast, clean rooms as well.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KMAOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My 2nd visit on business to nice Ljubljana was great also due to this hotel. The rooms are really good and spacious and if you get a room with a balcony you enjoy a marvelous view to the castle. Breakfast is great as well. The staff is freindly. Old downtown is just within walking distance. I recommmend this hotel warmly.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelKurt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is located in downtown and walking distance from the old town. Hotel is old and need some refurbishment but the bed is very comfortable.The breakfast was just ok. I have paid 115 euros per night which is very expensive for the destination. I am sure you can find a better deal elsewhere. They are charging 6 euros in the minibar for water (you can buy the same bottle in the market beside the hotel for 0.41 euros)...
The supermarket called Mercador is located beside the hotel.
Coming from the airport, we have booked a shuttle and paid 9 euros per passengers. You can book and pay online at http://www.mnj.si/en/mnj-transfer-shuttle-airport/ . Taxi will cost you 38 euros.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primosten
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

It was my first visit to unexpectingly nice Ljubljana. The hotel is located in the very centre, the rooms are nice and spacious /we stayed at junior suite/, friendly reception staff, and good breakfast. I recommend the hotel and the city. There is spa and swimming pool which we did not have time to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank primosten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

first time in Slovenia. Excellent location , staff very good, hotel clean. breakfast OK.
rooms clean.
The location is perfect for looking around the city center. 2 min walk to the river and old quarter, shopping near by, (note that this is not a shopping mecca) a quick walk to the castle (via cable car) and historical areas would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

First time in Ljubljana.
I was really impressed!
The city center is small but wondrous.
The Union Buisness is a wonderful structure,
where everything works perfectly,
and with an amazing location,
Five minutes walking from the beautiful centre, and the location in my photo.
Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriele_palma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
2.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union Business

Property: Grand Hotel Union Business
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#5 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union Business 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and comfortable Grand Hotel Union Business enjoys a privileged location in the financial and shopping district of Ljubljana's city centre. Renovated rooms feature elegant design, high-quality furnishings, free WIFI access and relaxation options adjusted to the requirements of every traveller ... Perfect combination of spacious rooms and modern facilities. Elegant a la carte restaurant with delicious cuisine is led by the head of Slovenian national culinary team. For a delicious warm or cold cake, visit the The Grand Union Cafe and enjoy the unique confectionery based on ancient recipes. Unwind at the indoor swimming pool, during a sauna or a massage and enjoy the souvenir shop, a fashion boutique and a jewelry shop. The Grand Hotel Union provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with a capacity for up to 800 participants and many other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Union Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing