We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Union Business

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union Business
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
134 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is one minute away from the very center of Ljubljana. From outsidethe building itself looks a bit old fashioned, but the rooms are spacious,well and newly furnished.I trully liked the mattress firmness. The breakfast offers great variety altough the fruit drinks have max 5% fruit content.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    217
    52
    13
    5
See reviews for
74
153
33
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very nice hotel, with very professional and friendly staff. The rooms are very comfortable, and so is the bed. Very quiet environment. I was very pleased to find an exercise bike in the room. apparently they all have one.
The hotel is ideally located, only 2 minutes walk from the old town, and in a nice shopping area.
I stronlgy recommend this place, especially if you are on a business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celinegyzmoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My third stay. Spacious room, large & very comfortable bed, even small balcony, (only) decent breakfast .... best of all is hotel's location, only few steps from Three Bridges and old town. Even though I have some bed memories from prevoius stays (unpleasant staff in breakfast room), this time everything was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelX17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Me, my husband and our 2 year old daughter and really enjoyed everything about the hotel. Big spacious room, great breakfast, great location. Parking for 17 euro a day is a bit too much. That's a shame. Otherwise great. Pool is not as big as it shows on picture. It's little with mirror wall so it looks double the size.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barca1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night as a pit-stop to our ski vacation to Austria.
The hotel is comfortable and stylish. The rooms are quite spacious with a lot of amenities and a big balcony.
The food was very tasty and varied.
The hotel is downtown Ljubljana and the town is gorgeous. It is worth going on a walk dowtown Ljubljana - a large pedestrian area from the two sides of the canal with a lot of small shops, old buildings well maintained, small cafes and nice restaurants.
The hotel has a parking / 17 euros per day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simeonova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent a three day New Years holiday here and they met all our expectations. The staff was responsive and helpful, but not overly social- that's fine. It is clearly set up for busnies traveler (hence the name- GHU Business), and would be perfect for the working traveller.

The room was great- an 8th floor room with a little balcony overlooking the old city- sweet. big bed, nice workspace/desk, and a massage chair. We decided to eat in the hotel for New years eve dinner as they were having a specail dinner- the buffet reminded us of a crusie ship meal- not bad, but we could have done better in a local restraunt. The breakfast, however, was fantastic.

The best thing about this place in the great location- very close to the main promenade in the old town. We enjoyed it, but next time may seek a little more cosy atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColSnuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this luxury hotel. The business hotel was connected to the family hotel, we stayed in the business hotel. Big rooms, lots of amenities, great view of the city. Close to the main square. We ate in a wonderful little restaurant behind the hotel in a strip type mall. Stay up high if you are on the mall side as the coffee bars open early and although they are not noisy you can hear them. They were very accomodating getting us a car and driver to take us and stay with us at the caves and then to drive us back to Trieste plus it was reasonably priced. The first clerk wasn't helpful but we waited until he left and asked a young woman clerk how to get to the caves and she was very helpful. Had an incredidle free breakfast that came with the room.

Room Tip: Stay up high on the city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 1,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#12 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 879 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union Business

Property: Grand Hotel Union Business
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union Business 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and comfortable Grand Hotel Union Business enjoys a privileged location in the financial and shopping district of Ljubljana's city centre. Renovated rooms feature elegant design, high-quality furnishings, free WIFI access and relaxation options adjusted to the requirements of every traveller ... Perfect combination of spacious rooms and modern facilities. Elegant a la carte restaurant with delicious cuisine is led by the head of Slovenian national culinary team. For a delicious warm or cold cake, visit the The Grand Union Cafe and enjoy the unique confectionery based on ancient recipes. Unwind at the indoor swimming pool, during a sauna or a massage and enjoy the souvenir shop, a fashion boutique and a jewelry shop. The Grand Hotel Union provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with a capacity for up to 800 participants and many other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Union Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing