We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, clean and modern business hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lev Ljubljana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Excellent, clean and modern business hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The location is a big advantage. The hotel is not exactly in the city centre, however it is very close to it. Ljubliana is a very small city and everything is within 5 mins walking distance. If you book a room at a budget price, it is a fantastic value. I don't know about other rooms, but we had booked a superior room (castle view) and it was comfortable. Overall a very clean and renovated hotel, with modern interior and very friendly and helpful staff.

The breakfast could have been better. The parking is a little expensive (14 Euros per night), but it is very convenient to have your car so close to the hotel! Overall, I don't know about other Slovenian hotels, but I wouldn't rate this hotel as a 5 star, compared to 5star hotels of other european capitals. It is a very good 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maikol77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    411
    144
    18
    9
See reviews for
86
341
72
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Fantastic location 10mins walk from the historic centre of the city and main shopping/tourist area. Also just behind the hotel is a lovely park (Tivoli I think) thats really nice to have a stroll around, there was an excellent outdoor national geographic picture gallery whilst we were there.

In terms of the hotel itself the standard double room was on the small side and had two single beds pushed together (dont know if the is a Slovenian thing as the next hotel we stayed in it was the same). The rooms were well appointed and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was rather on the small side with a bath that I couldn't fit in and I'm only 5'9'' and 11 stone. Despite this our stay was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was fantastic with an excellent selection of hot and cold food.

Overall I would recommend this hotel although maybe not if you were paying full price! (We got a good last minute deal)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpiper86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and we were very pleased with the staff and food quality at breakfast. It is very close to almost all sights in Ljubljana, and within few minutes you can reach all the hot spots in Ljubljana. When you have your car parked in a garage next to Casino, you do not need to worry about anything.
The view from our room was nice and we could see and castle on the hill (I believe it was 6th floor).
Very pleasant experience....

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We completed out Balkan tour at the Lev, expecting 5star services and accommodation. We were let down.

The rooms were too small and the air conditioning made an irritating noise that kept you awake. We needed it on as the temp was very high outside.

The reservation team originally told us that we could take a taxi from the train station upon our arrival to the city but alas we could not! the taxis all were unwilling to make a short journey to the Lev contrary to what we were told on booking. after walking around down town for 10-15 minutes we finally reach the hotel to be told by the reception team that the local taxi drivers are awful and never take people to the hotel from the station. This was contradictory from what their colleague said upon booking. We were unimpressed to say the least.

The next evening after taking cocktails and drinks in the bar area my party and I left for a night out in the city after paying in cash for the drinks at the bar cash register. We were chased down the road by one of the bar staff to be asked whether we had paid. How embarrassing.
I returned to the hotel and spoke with an abrupt hotel general manager who obviously struggles with dealing with anything more stressful than a simple request for roomservice.

A real disappointing end to a trip around the Balkans.

Room Tip: Ask whether you will be able to move in it whilst there is another person in there with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
170 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in the Lev hotel (meaning Lion) as our last night in Slovenia. It was amazing. from the moment we stepped in we were welcommed by the reception staff, upgraded to a suite were escorted to a lovely, huge room which was clean and comfortable. the hotel about 5 minutes walk from the main shopping street and 10 minutes walk to the river and lovely old town. Parking is availble at the hotel at a price of 9/14 Euro (above/ below ground) and it is an excellent solution for coming to Ljubliana with a vehicle.
we highly recomend this hotel for staying in Ljubliana.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
134 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the city center and 2 minutes from Tivoli park.
The staff are great and helpfull all of them reception, restaurant and cleaners they are all so nice.
The breakfast is very good.
My room was big enough, with everything i need and more, big bathroom, free WIFI, and more.
I enjoyed it and sure that i will come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shushush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My family and I stayed at Hotel Lev for 2 nights and really enjoyed our experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly, always willing to accommodate you. Asmid (I think was his name) was the manager we chatted w/a lot at breakfast and was very sweet. It's about a 10 min. walk to the center of town. I highly recommend the Lolita bakery to anyone, but especially if you are Gluten Free (Flourless choc. cake!) It's right in the main square on Cankarjevonabrezje. Our room was great and spacious, two tvs (if they aren't working you need to unplug and plug back in - trick we learned by the staff helping), two phones, huge bathroom. There was no pool, although you could use a pool of their sister hotels, but we didn't get around to it. Great place and highly recommend it to any traveler!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#6 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lev Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lev Ljubljana

Property: Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Address: Voshnjakova ulica 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Lev Ljubljana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lev is the best choice for everyone looking for classical elegance and modern comfort. Based on tradition and modern trends is offering a perfect accommodation in the centre of Ljubljana. 13-floor high glass exterior of the hotel offers a magnificent view of the city. Hotel is offering 173 rooms and suites with a sophisticated lighting concept, warm coloured lampshades and modern artwork. Recently renovated superior rooms offering different types of mattress hardness and pillows and high speed internet access are a perfect environment for business travellers with large working area, comfortable chair, possibility of a total blackout by means of electronically handled curtains. Classic and elegant standard rooms are tailored for leisure travellers who would like to escape for a simply get away from the daily grind. These ornately furnished rooms cater for a wide range of activities and offer magnificent views of the city centre and the castle. In a la carte restaurant Pri Levu, guests can enjoy endlessly in an exquisite modern cuisine with Mediterranean touch. Hotel Lev is the place to Meet with 6 meeting and conference rooms on the 13th floor with beautiful views around the city. In the ground floor, there is a newly refurbished conference and event hall which can host up to 400 participants and it is as such an important gathering place for business visitors. In this hall, working breakfasts, business lunches, gala dinners, receptions and parties can be organized. For the hotel guests parking in the hotel's garage can be provided as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lev Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing