We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with all your basic amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Hotel with all your basic amenities”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We were able to check-in super early as we arrived at the hotel around 10am. The room was more than adequate for a one night stay. The room door even had a security peep-hole, which has been uncommon in our European travel. The hotel has a fitness center, a steam room & sauna, and a quiet spa lounge for guests. There is also free Wi-Fi and an umbrella in your room for use if needed. Upon check-in we were given two coupons, one coupon for a free bottle of wine with a lunch or dinner purchase at the hotel restaurant and one coupon for 2 for 1 drinks at the restaurant bar. It was a rainy afternoon, so we chose to lounge at the bar trying two kinds of Slovenian beers with the 2 for 1 coupon. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with a wide selection of foods and drinks. I had a very nice sleep on their mattress with a feather bed top.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alviemsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    783
    215
    42
    28
See reviews for
256
667
149
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Outstanding service and location at the Best Western Slon Hotel in Ljubljana! We were a group of 6 adults travelling through Slovenia and Croatia and this hotel was a wonderful beginning and end to our fabulous holiday. Breakfast was outstanding as was the location. However, the service and friendliness and of the front desk staff stood out as exceptional - they were all professional, and eager to go above and beyond to assist the hotel clients.. Very impressive and greatly appreciated! Would highly recommend this hotel with its excellent staff!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 56terrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Despite not being able to find my reservation initially (through third party site) our experience was very positive. Very friendly and helpful staff (with excellent English), decent sized room, comfortable bed and top notch pillows! Right in the centre of town (2-3 mins walk from Preseren Statue) but no noise at all to affect sleep quality. Good breakfast selection (hot and cold) in light airy room on 1st floor. Staff will also book places in airport shuttle (9 euros per person means they do not add to the cost/charge for the privilege) provided at least 2 hours notice is given. At about £75 per night this place represents excellent value for money. My partner also took advantage of the sauna (no cost) on the 2nd floor. There is also a gym.

The only slight negative (though this appears to be something of a cultural issue as we experienced this throughout Slovenia) is the unnecessarily loud music during breakfast. Whilst I like reggae as much as the next man it's not that soothing at 6.45am.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patchesonelbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

After staying in a dated hotel in Bled, the Slon was a very pleasant surprise. Our room was on the 4th floor which looked newly renovated (as did all the areas I saw). Rooms aren't large, but had everything we needed. Little touches made a difference e.g. daily weather report delivered with a chocolate elephant! We had breakfast included and the choice and quality were excellent. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Tea in the breakfast room is loose leaf and one of the staff saw me looking confused and immediately went and made me tea with a tea bag. We ate in the hotel one night - food was excellent and the Maitre D very charming. Hotel location is great, just 2 minutes walk from the old town. Ljubljana is a small city but very pretty. We ate out in the old town and there are plant of good restaurants to chose from (would definitely recommend Julija) in Stari Trg.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi_1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights. Room small & very basic. Can benefit from a good renovation. Bathroom/shower of good standard. Room may be noisy at times since hotel is central with many restaurants around. Breakfast is great & has everything you can think of. Good value for money

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anwar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Friendly Elephant
I recently spent six days at Hotel Slon ( ‘elephant’ in Slovene ). A pleasant experience.
Excellent location, a ten minute walk to the Convention Centre, five to the old town centre. Early check-in check-out was kindly granted. Reception staff were efficient and helpful. I took a single room on a high floor overlooking picturesque rooftops. Although small, the room was equipped with all necessary amenities and toiletries- and then some. Such as a “pillow menu “ ( choice of six different pillows ) fast ( and free ) wifi connection, an umbrella ( essential during a very rainy week ). I lost that umbrella but they graciously refused to charge me for it ( 10 euros ). The room cleaning was never late. The breakfast buffet was abundant and varied, always swiftly replenished in view of high occupancy in that period. Staff were friendly, efficient and polite. If I had to criticize, I would mention the following minor points :
- safe placed on a high shelf in the cupboard making access rather difficult;
- part of shower fixtures heat up and could be scalding when touched;
- no daily paper delivered to the room;
- although there is a spa, there is no pool. Had there been one, this hotel would easily
deserve 4 ½ stars.

Room Tip: High floor, rear view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amade0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here fir a work trip. A perfect room with earplugs as the hotel is so close to the square it can get noisy. The staff were friendly, the breakfast was good and a decent wifi connection. The hotel is in great proximity to the castle, the three bridges and other attractions. Ljubljana is a walking city and the Slon is perfectly situated for this!

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others too!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,630 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
961 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Slon

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Address: Slovenska Cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Premier Hotel Slon - Elephant is situated in the very heart of Ljubljana city centre. It is only a few steps away from the old city core, Ljubljana castle and all the main city sights. This modern 4-star superior hotel has 170 comfortable and well-appointed rooms with all modern facilities and amenities. Superior deluxe rooms, Deluxe rooms and suites offer luxurious accommodation. The hotel's Spa & Fitness features a state of the art Fitness Center open 24/7, equipped with Technogym machines, providing all the latest cardiovascular and weight training facilities as well as relaxing saunas with tropical rain showers. There is a generous choice of 9 different Thai massage treatments at Hotels Thai massage & Spa to unwind, relax and escape the daily stress. There are extensive facilities for business functions; a versatile array of five conference halls provides accessible and flexible conferencing for up to 250 participants. In our versatile function halls and breakfast restaurant, we also host working breakfasts, business lunches and gala dinners, receptions, parties and beautiful a-la-carte weddings. The hotel is also famous for its excellent cuisine. In the attractive atmosphere of the Restaurant Slon 1552 overlooking the busy streets of Ljubljana, our guests will be served modern Slovene, Mediterranean and other international dishes, as well as a vast choice of top quality wines. For hotel guests, we provide valet parking in a nearby garage attended by our friendly staff. A preliminary reservation is required. Best Western Premier Hotel Slon is an institution in hospitality; celebrating 460 years of tradition, offering comfortable accommodation, multipurpose conferencing facilities combined with excellent cuisine at an elite location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ljubljana
Ljubljana Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing