We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, excellent breakfast”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We found the hotel very nice and clean, the staff as helpful as it gets and breakfast amazing in variety of choice. The room was adequately sized, comfortably warm and offered all that we needed. The location is very convenient and overall the hotel exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSlon, Director of Sales at Best Western Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest! Thank you for your nice review and we are very happy that you had a nice experience while staying in our hotel. Please visit us again and all the best on your future trips.

Kind regards,
Zeljko Vrhovac
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    763
    212
    42
    28
See reviews for
244
646
146
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel Slon is ideally located within minutes of the major attractions and restaurants within the old part of Ljubljana. Leave the hotel, turn left and left again, and you're right in the middle of everything. The buffet was excellent, from both a variety and quality viewpoint. Highly recommended hotel if you're in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sgitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSlon, Director of Sales at Best Western Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear ''sgitlin'', Thank you very much for taking the time and writing a review about our hotel. Especially our breakfast team is honoured about your breakfast comments, and we hope that your travels will lead you again to our hotel to make that double left turn to Ljubljana's downtown.
We wish you pleasant journeys!

Zeljko Vrhovac
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The "Slin" Hotel is located on the main street of Ljubljana, very close to the old town and the castle hill. The hotel has a long history dated the beginning of previous century. The service here is very good, staff is very helpful and friendly. A parking is located in 10 minutes walk distance from the hotel and there is the problem with parking at the front of the building. But this is the only minus, which I have found. Rooms are very clean, not big, but comfortable. You can prepare coffee and tee in the room, you have also mineral water included in price. The selections of drinks and alkohols you can find in minibar. The bathroom is equipped with hair dryer and a dressing gown. You can use small spa or fitness center, located in the building. Breakfasts offers nice selections of food, juices, fruits and great coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSlon, Director of Sales at Best Western Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for the great review and all the small details mentioning about our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Zeljko Vrhovac
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

It’s an easy walk from the train/bus station to the hotel. The hotel is situated a minute walk from the “pink church” and square.
Check in was efficient.
Room 337 has a foyer before the main room and the bathroom off to the left. There are large windows that open. There’s a desk with chair plus a double bed. The lighting is a little lacking but the bed side lamp is enough for reading. There are plenty of electrical outlets. The wi-fi is included and works pretty well. The safe gave us a lot of trouble…it is large enough for a laptop but it is placed in a high cabinet out of my reach. At five feet nothing, I know I am below average…but, it could be better located. My six feet husband had to reach everything for me. Further, the instructions to input your combination are not accurate and we set it off. We had to call the front desk. The bellman arrived quickly and resolved the problem.
The bathroom is a little dated with the plastic enclosure. But, it worked well with good water pressure and constant temperature. The big towels are good and soft. The hairdryer works well.
The included breakfast is quite nice. There is a lot of variety; including sparkling wine, hot chocolate, fresh milk, yogurts, cheese, cold cuts, fresh tomatoes, cucumbers and peppers. There are a lot of breads and rolls. The hot foods are great especially with the yummy Slovenian sausages. We had a much better experience when we arrived early before the crowd.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celusnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Fantastic stay. No negatives at all. Beds were super comfortable, breakfast had enough variety to keep everyone happy. Though they tend not to replace certain items as it gets closer to closing time.

Location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
229 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I booked the hotel not expecting too much having stayed in a “normal” Best Western a few weeks before. The “Premier” version is so much better. All the staff I met were friendly and helpful. The room (641) had a super view of the castle, although I think only rooms 634-641 have such a view due to buildings in the way for other rooms. The room was fairly small, but fine for me. Comfortable bed, fast wifi, lots of hot water…what more could you want? The buffet breakfast was amazing, plenty of choice, and a free a la carte menu if you wanted a proper meal rather than the buffet (I ordered the eggs benedict – very tasty). The spa area was a little odd though, with it being a unisex area, and the showers without curtains overlooking the “relaxing area”. The minibar was very overpriced, but there is a Spar shop downstairs. The location is nearly unbeatable for central Ljubljana. I’d definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 634-641 have super views of the castle. Same rooms on the 5th might have a similar view. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay here on Christmas eve, The room was clean although not as spacious as we like.
The staff is friendly and the bar has a very nice selection of Slovenian wines and very affordable prices.
We had dinner in the restaurant and were very pleased with the quality of the food and service.
This hotel is right in the center of the city, a block from the town square and not far from the train station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverDotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
634 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Slon

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Address: Slovenska Cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Premier Hotel Slon - Elephant is situated in the very heart of Ljubljana city centre. It is only a few steps away from the old city core, Ljubljana castle and all the main city sights. This modern 4-star superior hotel has 170 comfortable and well-appointed rooms with all modern facilities and amenities. Superior deluxe rooms, Deluxe rooms and suites offer luxurious accommodation. The hotel's Spa & Fitness features a state of the art Fitness Center open 24/7, equipped with Technogym machines, providing all the latest cardiovascular and weight training facilities as well as relaxing saunas with tropical rain showers. There is a generous choice of 9 different Thai massage treatments at Hotels Thai massage & Spa to unwind, relax and escape the daily stress. There are extensive facilities for business functions; a versatile array of five conference halls provides accessible and flexible conferencing for up to 250 participants. In our versatile function halls and breakfast restaurant, we also host working breakfasts, business lunches and gala dinners, receptions, parties and beautiful a-la-carte weddings. The hotel is also famous for its excellent cuisine. In the attractive atmosphere of the Restaurant Slon 1552 overlooking the busy streets of Ljubljana, our guests will be served modern Slovene, Mediterranean and other international dishes, as well as a vast choice of top quality wines. For hotel guests, we provide valet parking in a nearby garage attended by our friendly staff. A preliminary reservation is required. Best Western Premier Hotel Slon is an institution in hospitality; celebrating 460 years of tradition, offering comfortable accommodation, multipurpose conferencing facilities combined with excellent cuisine at an elite location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ljubljana
Ljubljana Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing