We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We found the hotel very nice and clean, the staff as helpful as it gets and breakfast amazing in variety of choice. The room was adequately sized, comfortably warm and offered all that we needed. The location is very convenient and overall the hotel exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSlon, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest! Thank you for your nice review and we are very happy that you had a nice experience while staying in our hotel. Please visit us again and all the best on your future trips.

Kind regards,
Zeljko Vrhovac
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    644
    176
    36
    18
See reviews for
198
541
126
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel Slon is ideally located within minutes of the major attractions and restaurants within the old part of Ljubljana. Leave the hotel, turn left and left again, and you're right in the middle of everything. The buffet was excellent, from both a variety and quality viewpoint. Highly recommended hotel if you're in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sgitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSlon, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear ''sgitlin'', Thank you very much for taking the time and writing a review about our hotel. Especially our breakfast team is honoured about your breakfast comments, and we hope that your travels will lead you again to our hotel to make that double left turn to Ljubljana's downtown.
We wish you pleasant journeys!

Zeljko Vrhovac
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The "Slin" Hotel is located on the main street of Ljubljana, very close to the old town and the castle hill. The hotel has a long history dated the beginning of previous century. The service here is very good, staff is very helpful and friendly. A parking is located in 10 minutes walk distance from the hotel and there is the problem with parking at the front of the building. But this is the only minus, which I have found. Rooms are very clean, not big, but comfortable. You can prepare coffee and tee in the room, you have also mineral water included in price. The selections of drinks and alkohols you can find in minibar. The bathroom is equipped with hair dryer and a dressing gown. You can use small spa or fitness center, located in the building. Breakfasts offers nice selections of food, juices, fruits and great coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSlon, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for the great review and all the small details mentioning about our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Zeljko Vrhovac
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

It’s an easy walk from the train/bus station to the hotel. The hotel is situated a minute walk from the “pink church” and square.
Check in was efficient.
Room 337 has a foyer before the main room and the bathroom off to the left. There are large windows that open. There’s a desk with chair plus a double bed. The lighting is a little lacking but the bed side lamp is enough for reading. There are plenty of electrical outlets. The wi-fi is included and works pretty well. The safe gave us a lot of trouble…it is large enough for a laptop but it is placed in a high cabinet out of my reach. At five feet nothing, I know I am below average…but, it could be better located. My six feet husband had to reach everything for me. Further, the instructions to input your combination are not accurate and we set it off. We had to call the front desk. The bellman arrived quickly and resolved the problem.
The bathroom is a little dated with the plastic enclosure. But, it worked well with good water pressure and constant temperature. The big towels are good and soft. The hairdryer works well.
The included breakfast is quite nice. There is a lot of variety; including sparkling wine, hot chocolate, fresh milk, yogurts, cheese, cold cuts, fresh tomatoes, cucumbers and peppers. There are a lot of breads and rolls. The hot foods are great especially with the yummy Slovenian sausages. We had a much better experience when we arrived early before the crowd.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celusnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Fantastic stay. No negatives at all. Beds were super comfortable, breakfast had enough variety to keep everyone happy. Though they tend not to replace certain items as it gets closer to closing time.

Location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Guyana
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed there while traveling through Ljublijana and were very pleased with the overall experience. The room was very comfortable, with great bed and very silent. It is in the center of town and has a parking (although for secure parking you have to pay an extra 18 euros... a bit pricey...). The staff was exceptionally helpful and nice and the breakfast absolutely great! I highly recommend this hotel and I will be using it again for sure. The room and interior of the hotel could use a bi of renovation though....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I booked the hotel not expecting too much having stayed in a “normal” Best Western a few weeks before. The “Premier” version is so much better. All the staff I met were friendly and helpful. The room (641) had a super view of the castle, although I think only rooms 634-641 have such a view due to buildings in the way for other rooms. The room was fairly small, but fine for me. Comfortable bed, fast wifi, lots of hot water…what more could you want? The buffet breakfast was amazing, plenty of choice, and a free a la carte menu if you wanted a proper meal rather than the buffet (I ordered the eggs benedict – very tasty). The spa area was a little odd though, with it being a unisex area, and the showers without curtains overlooking the “relaxing area”. The minibar was very overpriced, but there is a Spar shop downstairs. The location is nearly unbeatable for central Ljubljana. I’d definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 634-641 have super views of the castle. Same rooms on the 5th might have a similar view. Other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#5 of 29 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon

Property: BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Address: Slovenska cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the very heart of Ljubljana city centre. It takes only a few minutes’ walk to the old city core, the Ljubljana castle and all the main city sights. All rooms have been newly renovated and among other feature modern decoration, LCD screens with DVD players. The new luxurious bed concept is composed of new mattresses, duvets and an extensive pillow menu. The bed linens are made of the finest Egyptian cotton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ljubljana
Ljubljana Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing