We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best location and service”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I had a truly enjoyable stay in this hotel for 2 nights. Location is excellent, just minutes walk from the central park and the centre of the old town. Would definitely recomend for all - both for business and pleasure. All the sights of Ljubljana can be reached within minutes. Hotel is definitelly worth the money - nice, clean rooms, lots of english TV channels, great food at the restaurant, great advice by the staff, would come here again, not only for business.

Room Tip: There are both smoking and none-smoking rooms so take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antanas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    779
    214
    42
    28
See reviews for
254
662
149
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very enjoyable three night stay at the Hotel Slon and as previous reviewers have mentioned it is perfectly located for exploring Ljubljana. The room was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was superb with lots of choice all self service and all the staff were friendly and helpful when approached. The Wi Fi in the room was erratic but that didn't worry us. We were disappointed with the bar and cafe areas the staff were not as friendly as in the main hotel and we just went elsewhere for a drink or a snack!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveDSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was one of my best value for money hotel experiences to date. The stand outs have to be the location - just metres from the old town and the service was excellent. Staff were incredibly genuine, kind and professional. The room and bathroom were extremely comfortable with modern furnishings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StKildaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I booked this hotel only because of its great position (a few meters from the Prešern square ), on the main road, 10 minutes on foot from main train station, in fact everything You need is in 5 min of walk. Here are my impressions, I hope they will be helpful - nice and comfortable rooms, nice bed, but on the Saturday night it was a huge wedding at the hotel restaurant so it was a bit noisy. Staff was average, while we were checking out they were talking at the same time on the phone and didn't say goodbye. Breakfast was really great, a huge choice of sweet and salted things, beverages of all kind. Spa was a disappointment - one Turkish sauna and a small Finnish one. I expected a bit more. There was no any tea, just cold water. Fortunately I payed for the room half of its price because I bought a coupon for 50% discount so I didn't regret not a cent. But if I have had payed the "normal" price I wouldn't be so happy...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frecume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

As last year we were upgraded to a corner suite. It is really a beautiful suite. We stayed one week and were more than satisfied and hated to leave it. The suite with two rooms is very large with two televisions, coffee maker and a beautiful view. The best what invite us to this hotel every year is cleanliness, high quality of linen, towels and bathrobe, very rich breakfast and of course kindness of all staff. We usually travel for about two months in Europe and stay in 4 or 5 star hotels. Some 5 star hotels are really nice but hotel Slon is the best even it has only 4 stars. Better ones were only 5 star hotels in Dubai where the price was four times more. The location of the hotel can not be better; everything is very near, from sightseeing attractions, galleries, to stations, restaurants, shops and a post office is just across the street. We stayed in 13 other hotels in Europe this autumn and in every hotel, even so nice one, there was something wrong. Slon is the only one that nothing was missing, and everything was perfect. Everywhere in the hotel is very clean and staff is very kind, with smile on sunny or rainy days. Bed and pillows with wonderful linen are very comfortable; you start a day in a wonderful mood. Bathroom is very clean and neat and towels are big and very good quality as well as bathrobes. We haven't stayed in a hotel that had so many and good amenities in the bathroom as Slon. My picture tells more! Buffet breakfast is very rich and delicious and staff is very kind. We enjoy eating and drinking for an hour or more. The bad point of the breakfast is that we eat too much and need no lunch nor dinner so we have no chance to taste traditional Slovene dishes in other restaurants. We thank to all staff especially to Ms. Milica who treats us so kindly that we want to come again as soon as possible. For my husband a hotel is most important and in Ljubljana he prefers to stay in hotel than walk around. He always says that it is too nice in the room to go out. I recommend this hotel to everybody who wants to have a nice stay, nice sleep and nice breakfast with nice staff. We thank to all staff especially at breakfast room and the reception. Really all staff is so kind but we want specially thank to Ms. Milica, Mr. Vrhovac and the general manager Mr.Jamnik. Thanks to all of them we had a wonderful time in Slovenia and want to come soon again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjana1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The room is big and the hotel is well located. The main sights are all within walking distance and it's about 10mins from the train and bus stations. The breakfast was pretty good, on some days there was a machine where you can make your own freshly squeezed orange juice. In the room, the free wifi worked intermittently.

The room has a cute stuffed toy elephant but if you want to keep it, you have to pay for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nice hotel, with excelent food, in city center, where everything you need is in 5 minuts of walk away.Rooms are nice, breakfast was excelent with lots of food to choese from, one thing this hotel could use is some spa are to make it complete. Nothing much to complain about the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Branislav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,626 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
663 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Slon

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Address: Slovenska Cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Premier Hotel Slon - Elephant is situated in the very heart of Ljubljana city centre. It is only a few steps away from the old city core, Ljubljana castle and all the main city sights. This modern 4-star superior hotel has 170 comfortable and well-appointed rooms with all modern facilities and amenities. Superior deluxe rooms, Deluxe rooms and suites offer luxurious accommodation. The hotel's Spa & Fitness features a state of the art Fitness Center open 24/7, equipped with Technogym machines, providing all the latest cardiovascular and weight training facilities as well as relaxing saunas with tropical rain showers. There is a generous choice of 9 different Thai massage treatments at Hotels Thai massage & Spa to unwind, relax and escape the daily stress. There are extensive facilities for business functions; a versatile array of five conference halls provides accessible and flexible conferencing for up to 250 participants. In our versatile function halls and breakfast restaurant, we also host working breakfasts, business lunches and gala dinners, receptions, parties and beautiful a-la-carte weddings. The hotel is also famous for its excellent cuisine. In the attractive atmosphere of the Restaurant Slon 1552 overlooking the busy streets of Ljubljana, our guests will be served modern Slovene, Mediterranean and other international dishes, as well as a vast choice of top quality wines. For hotel guests, we provide valet parking in a nearby garage attended by our friendly staff. A preliminary reservation is required. Best Western Premier Hotel Slon is an institution in hospitality; celebrating 460 years of tradition, offering comfortable accommodation, multipurpose conferencing facilities combined with excellent cuisine at an elite location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ljubljana
Ljubljana Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing