We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Older Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Older Rooms”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The staff at the hotel are very pleasant and kind. They try to help you out. I really appreciated this. The rooms themselves are a little dated. They are clean and tidy. The hotel is footsteps to the Old Town which made a difference for me. I could easily walk to restaurants, up to the castle, and go to stores after I finished working. I left my window open at night to get some fresh air. There was some noise from the streets. The hotel did leave ear plugs beside my bed table. I think they are aware that it can be noisy. I would come back and stay at the hotel due to the staff and the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atime4pleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    777
    214
    42
    28
See reviews for
253
662
149
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a 3 night stay.
We chose the Slon because of the reviews,and they were right.
They are super friendly.
Nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms are all they said. super bed,real air conditioning that works.
If you decide to eat at the restaurant.,go for the duck.
And if you are lucky you may get the tall lady with glasses to serve you.
She is a credit to your hotel.
Also use their taxi service. It is efficient and so cheap.
Book early to get the best deals..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I love elephants (elephant=slon), and I love this hotel  I traveled to Ljubljana several times for business, and I choose this hotel because it is on good location, very nice rooms, excellent service, good food...
There is free wi-fi in rooms, you can make you instant coffee or/and tea in your room (free), you can use umbrella if it's raining, you can buy cute plush elephant for 9,9 EUR (it welcomes you on your bed ), you can use hotel garage for 18 EUR/day. Ljubljana center is in 5 minutes walk, as well as some shops, restaurants, cafes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabinaAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel has a great location close to the oldest part of Ljubljana! It is near the river and many of the bridges. Lots to do and see here. We covered the main sites on our first trip, so this time it was more for the pure enjoyment of walking, people watching, visiting cafes and trying different restaurants. Fabulous breakfast buffet included. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: Website says they have a 'guest laundry' which we thought meant self-service coin-ops. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ljubljana is really a very nice and attractive city. Then staying in a hotel in the very center is super! The hotel exudes a nostalgic atmosphere of the 1960s but is piccobello oké. Spacious rooms, excellent breakfast and good fitness/sauna facilities. No other wellness possibilities :-( .
Service is correct but not really warm. Our room was at the backside: not really superb view but on the other hand very quiet. Rooms on the street side should have more nuisance of noise I think. The restaurant is not really cosy and the menu is rather limited. But the city offers lots of possibilities so this is not really a problem. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIRK V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I had to travel to Ljubjlana on business and a friend recommended this hotel as its close to the old city and not far from the airport.
Due to flight delays I didnt arrive until gone midnight - but the staff were brilliant, very welcoming, very informative and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is absolutely spotless everywhere. My standard room was very spacious, very clean, in fact among the nicest I have stayed in. Next morning I took breakfast, (included), it offered a really wide variety of food in buffet style for all tastes. Again the staff were extremely attentive and keen to exceed expectations.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND STAYING HERE.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is close to the old town.

Had a good sized double room with plenty of space and reasonable bathroom. The room was clean and the bed comfortable the breakfast excellent.

The staff where very helpful with any questions we asked.

Used the shuttle from the Airport 9 EUR each and there is a scheduled shuttle service from the hotel to airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,622 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
659 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Slon

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Address: Slovenska Cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Premier Hotel Slon - Elephant is situated in the very heart of Ljubljana city centre. It is only a few steps away from the old city core, Ljubljana castle and all the main city sights. This modern 4-star superior hotel has 170 comfortable and well-appointed rooms with all modern facilities and amenities. Superior deluxe rooms, Deluxe rooms and suites offer luxurious accommodation. The hotel's Spa & Fitness features a state of the art Fitness Center open 24/7, equipped with Technogym machines, providing all the latest cardiovascular and weight training facilities as well as relaxing saunas with tropical rain showers. There is a generous choice of 9 different Thai massage treatments at Hotels Thai massage & Spa to unwind, relax and escape the daily stress. There are extensive facilities for business functions; a versatile array of five conference halls provides accessible and flexible conferencing for up to 250 participants. In our versatile function halls and breakfast restaurant, we also host working breakfasts, business lunches and gala dinners, receptions, parties and beautiful a-la-carte weddings. The hotel is also famous for its excellent cuisine. In the attractive atmosphere of the Restaurant Slon 1552 overlooking the busy streets of Ljubljana, our guests will be served modern Slovene, Mediterranean and other international dishes, as well as a vast choice of top quality wines. For hotel guests, we provide valet parking in a nearby garage attended by our friendly staff. A preliminary reservation is required. Best Western Premier Hotel Slon is an institution in hospitality; celebrating 460 years of tradition, offering comfortable accommodation, multipurpose conferencing facilities combined with excellent cuisine at an elite location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ljubljana
Ljubljana Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing