We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views from the castle!”
Review of Ljubljana Castle

Ljubljana Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$8.56*
and up
Ljubljana Castle Entrance Ticket
Ranked #9 of 169 things to do in Ljubljana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mighty medieval fortress, a symbol of the Slovenian capital Ljubljana is an interesting tourist point, the idyllic grounds for long strolls just a glance away from the lively city centre. The Ljubljana castle offers many cultural, historic and entertaining events throughout the year.
Seattle
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful views from the castle!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We purchased the ticket that included the funicular ride, the virtual castle movie, the museum entrance fee and to be able to ascend the tower. The views were outstanding and the museum was extremely informative. The square (which is not square), a couple of restaurants, a few performing musicians, and a beautiful day caused us to choose to spend several hours here. We were not disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 411Shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,194
    1,459
    913
    209
    53
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cyprus
Level Contributor
576 reviews
237 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“The castle is nice but there are more interesting sites in Ljubljana”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Once up there is nothing much to do but climb the tower have a look at the Ljubljana roofs. There are nice coffees and restaurants. Walk around the castle is nice

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotraveldubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
631 reviews
248 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We waned to get a good view of Ljubljana and so went up to the castle. OK, don't go there for the view. You see very little of the city.
There are other interesting things worth seeing. My top choice would be the Chaple. You also have some cafes up there to enjoy a coffee, drink or ice cream.
I did not visit the museum here as I had seen a number in the City already.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sigzag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun funicular ride to a beautiful view!!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Worth a visit! Great view and interesting museum! Three restaurants from which to choose. To see the beautiful city of Ljubljana from this vantage point is fantastic!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank skybarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good views but a little disappointing overall”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We recently returned back to the UK after a holiday in Slovenia. We visited the Castle, and was pleased to find that it is accessible for the less mobile via the funicular railway and a lift. However, once up there it is a little disappointing, there is not very much to see. We had a pleasant light lunch there. I then paid an additional sum to go up to the viewing tower, which is approached by a metal spiral staircase, I did not actually count the stairs, but think there were about one hundred. This is fine if you are able bodied, but my husband was unable to go to the top because of restrcited mobility, there are no facilities for the less mobile to access the tower. The 360 degree panorama view from the top is quite amazing, I was only sorry my husband was unable to appreciate it. |

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 125Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ljubljana Castle also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Ljubljana Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing