We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautifull”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ljubljana Castle

Ljubljana Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$8.19*
and up
Ljubljana Castle Entrance Ticket
Ranked #9 of 168 things to do in Ljubljana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mighty medieval fortress, a symbol of the Slovenian capital Ljubljana is an interesting tourist point, the idyllic grounds for long strolls just a glance away from the lively city centre. The Ljubljana castle offers many cultural, historic and entertaining events throughout the year.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“beautifull”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

great casstle, beautifull restourant good food,high pricess for my bugget, but still worth. recomended

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank vladimir s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,155
    1,423
    887
    202
    50
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Take the climb to the castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

On a hill overlooking the entire town, you’d can’t miss the magnificent Ljubljana Castle. The new funicular train makes the climb to its gates significantly easier than before, and wandering around the centuries-old castle is free. It’s worth it to pay the small admission fee, however, to gain access to the observation tower

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArtepL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
213 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Amazing view of Ljubljana!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We just came back from a day trip at Lake Bled and decided to visit Ljubljana Castle. We took a taxi from the train/bus station and only costs us 5 Euro to get to the top of Ljubljana Castle. The view up there was amazing as you can see from my photos. It's kind of a place that you must visit if you already in Ljubljana. Give it at least an hour or so to walk around and appreciate the view. We decided to walk back down and it took us less than 10 minutes.

Please vote for me if you find this review helpful. Thank you very much.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tingleboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

we came up here on the little tourist train that leaves every hour from city center. 3.50 Euro round trip. We found out later that the cable car is cheaper. The view from up there is breathtaking. Luckily it was a pretty clear day and you could see the Alps clearly. The story of the castle is impressing. We haven't taken the tour yet (6 Euro with access to the tower + 2 for cable car as a package) but will go back to Ljubljana to do that. Some info was given in English to let us know that it once was a prison. Unfortunately, most info (really anywhere you go) is just in Slovenian. There is a seemingly nice restaurant up there which we will visit next time we come here. It's called Gostilna na gradu, whoever wants to do some research. On a nice day one could sit and eat outside. .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

There are many ways to get up to the castle wich is located on a hill, you can either take the cable car, or you can walk up the hill, although it's a pretty steep road. Once you arrive you can visit some rooms and climb some towers, but the most important reason to visit it probably is the amazing view of the city and the Alps you get from the castle's terrace as well as from it's viewing tower.
Definetly worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tourists007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ljubljana Castle also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Ljubljana Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing