We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ljubljana Castle

Ljubljana Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$8.19*
and up
Ljubljana Castle Entrance Ticket
Ranked #9 of 168 things to do in Ljubljana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mighty medieval fortress, a symbol of the Slovenian capital Ljubljana is an interesting tourist point, the idyllic grounds for long strolls just a glance away from the lively city centre. The Ljubljana castle offers many cultural, historic and entertaining events throughout the year.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I actually married there, and all the guests were impressed by the surrounding and the view from there. Nice to visit any time of the year, you can even join it with the fenicular, if you can´t make it on the top by foot ;)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jysuisjyreste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,155
    1,423
    887
    202
    50
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
İstabul
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you're at Ljubljana, sure you will go to the old town and as you are there you’ll visit the castle. We went there with funicular which facilitates enormously walk of the stiff hill. The castle had a good restoration but to be frank it is restorated so good that it lost its authenticity.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Behic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must visit when in Ljubljana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Easy to visit with the well-run funicular right in the old town. Excellent restoration/preservation, and very much worth a visit. My husband and I went in the rain and still had a lovely time. The video they show is definitely worth watching.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaAthena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Late funicular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very easy to get to as the funicular runs until 9pm; we went up the castle around 6.30pm. (1.50€ one way for students)
Once up there, we wandered around the yard, saw the view, noticed a café and some sort of restaurant and a busy room with a pianist player where everybody was very well dressed so we assumed it was a private evening.
I don't know if there's much more to see during the day but we were a bit disappointed.
Also we walked down the hill and there was no light whatsoever so we had to use a torch app on our smartphone!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mezzathefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We got the all-inclusive ticket that covered the funicular & all exhibits - great value. The staff at the theater were particularly gracious, as they allowed us to join a school group, so we didn't have to wait for the next showing.

The views from the top are incredible!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ljubljana Castle also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Ljubljana Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing