We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant church” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franciscan Church (Franciskanska Cerkev)

Franciscan Church (Franciskanska Cerkev)
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.77*
and up
Taste of Ljubljana: Charcuterie, Cake and Wine on a Guided Walking Tour
Ranked #14 of 167 things to do in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“pleasant church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

a very nice church. I felt a little uncomfortable going inside as there was a group of 8 inebriated men on the steps, but i took another set of steps and they didn't bother me. Worth a short visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1234321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    168
    36
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pretty Church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

The church is in the main square of old town and is a lovely rusty pink color. It's a good photo op, but since it was closed up tight the whole time we were there (in Ljubljana) there isn't a whole lot to say about it. I would like to have seen the inside, but that wasn't possible. It's very nice from the outside.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank OnTheMove737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The light coral church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I did not manage to go into this church as it was always closed when I was in the Piazza, but believe me, the light coral coloured walls of this church with white touchings and the stairs at the front, gives it a prominent mark. In fact its the place where I was able to meet other tourists who came to join in for a 'free city tour' along with Tina. We met there at 11.00hrs and Tina took us around the city explaining all the city landmarks in detail. She is a brilliant girl.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank purpledress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domzale
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Child's dream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Every Christmas this was a place to go. The time after Christmas hundreds of people would go and admire the crib that the brethren had prepared. It's inovative and the children have a problem to go away, there are so many things to admire. The church is a place where you can hide from the busy pace of life. The ceiling is to be admired, the portraits give peace to your thought.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julijana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sezana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I visited the students service on Wednesday and the number of people really surprised me. Everyone was singing and students organized the choir and reading of the gospel. They are currently renovating the church, but it's beautiful already so I can't wait for the final result.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank loomingshadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franciscan Church (Franciskanska Cerkev) also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Franciscan Church (Franciskanska Cerkev)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing