We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alo Apartments `Vila Klara`
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxing apartment”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It is quiet in a residential area. The people in Ljubljana is educated and friendly anyway. The host of this apartment is a typical Ljubljana people as well. but a bit remote if you don't know the bus routes. Get there by taxi and the host will show up the bus stop after.
Water heater however is a problem. Make sure hot water there before taking shower. Enjoy the lovely apartment.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aunatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a very disappointing experience at this apartment. The main problem was that there was nobody at the Reception, after we had checked in around 8 pm. The heating was inadequate, and we were feeling quite cold the night we stayed. The apartment does not have an elevator, and we had to lug our heavy baggage to the second floor. I must state that the lady who received us at the reception did help us by carrying one bag herself. She said that her boss would come in by 9 am, which is the time we told her that we would check out, but he never showed up.

Room Tip: Choose lower floor if you have heavy baggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunil021966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I am so sorry that it has taken me months to write a review of this great apartment. We rented two apartments (for two couples), and had a wonderful stay in Ljubljana! The apartment was very easy to find when coming into the city from the highway. It is a 15-20 minute walk to the city center, but the walk is easy and very safe feeling, and the price is far more reasonable than staying in the city center. There is a grocery store across the street if you choose to cook meals in the well furnished kitchen, and a bakery and restaurant for breakfast just across the street. The apartments are furnished with everything you need and some extras that we didn't find in other rooms on our travels- an iron, full-length mirror, washing machine available for a small charge downstairs and a rack on the balcony for drying clothes. Beds are comfortable, and we especially enjoyed sitting on the large balcony having wine and snacks.
The best thing about the apartment though is its hospitable owner, Andrej. Andrej gave us a very good bottle of wine when we checked in and provided us with guidebooks, Slovenian cookbooks and books about the area to enjoy during our stay. He also spent time answering our questions about Slovenian history, politics and economics.
We loved this apartment and Ljubljana so much that we stayed 3 nights instead of our scheduled 2! We would definitely love to return to Ljubljana someday soon and hope to stay in the apartments again! Thanks, Andrej, for a memorable stay in Ljubljana!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had not planned to visit Ljubljana Slovenia but our local newspaper had a commentary and the same week we saw on the TV Rick Steeve's European commentary on Ljubljana. We figured why not try somewhere different. Our only concern was the Car rental companies had a cautionary on the type of vehicles we could drive into Eastern Europe. My husband found Vila Klara on one of the sites. We could not have been happier with the accommodations. It was a converted older three storey-ish residential dwelling with small apartments. The inside were very modern, new and immaculate. Andre had emailed us earlier to find out what time we would be arriving in order that he could meet us at the residence. It is located in a residential area with a high gated iron fence where you can safe and securely park your vehicles. We only stayed for two days and regret we did not stay longer, but unfortunately we had no idea how lovely Ljubjlana was. We only had time to venture into the older city. But we were aware there was a larger park where local artists showed off their paintings. The old city was within 15 minutes of nice safe walking along the water that meandered passed the old city. The first day when we walked along the river, there were people selling their antique wares. We ventured off into the old city that had numerous restaurants, pizzeria, bakeries etc etc etc. It is a university town and we happened to arrive the week the university faculties had their several of their display booths and a band. We walked and walked and ate at the Julyja restaurant for lunch, the Djor for dinner and The Romeo for dinner the next evening. We went up the funicular to the Grad or castle. Another quaint morning eatery was the Pupa Tortana, the bakery immediately kitty corner to the Vila Klara. They specialize in cakes but she will make you any thing you wish to eat. Her pastries and croissants are delicious. The quaint stores in the old village are amazing. I must have gone back to the chocolate store twice to purchase each time a bag of their hot sugared nuts. You must visit the university square area. There was a band playing in the afternoon in the pagoda. There was so much to see that we promised Andre we will definitely return with our friends. Thank you Andre and what a beautiful city you have.

Room Tip: Good price for a super clean apartment that comes complete with a full kitchen, ironing board etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Vila Klara for two nights, when we first arrived in Slovenia, and couldn't have been happier. The owner, Andrej, was incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful - and finding the apartment from the centre was so easy that we did it on foot, whilst still carrying our not inconsiderable backpacks! Vila Klara is wonderfully quiet, well-equipped, and fantastically spacious - including a private balcony. And to get into central Ljubljana, it's a peaceful 10-minute walk, much of which is along either canals or the river. All in all, a great base from which to explore Slovenia's capital, and the perfect place from which to ease into Slovenian life. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

I highly recommend anyone to stay at Vila Klara for several reasons:

* Andrej, the owner, is the most hospitable host we met on our 2 week trip around Slovenia. He greeted us with lots of information on the area, maps and leaflets etc. He also gave us a bottle of wine, offered to take our laundry to the laundrette for us and spent some time helping us with our onward travel arrangements.

* the apartment is spotlessly clean and very well stocked. We had a large bedroom, a terrace, large kitchen with
dining table and chairs, as well as a well stocked bathroom.

* we loved the location. It's just a short walk into town. Enroute there are some great bars which, had we not stayed at Vila Klara we would not have found. These bars were not touristy which we preferred.

We hope to come back soon!

Thank- you Andrej!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSarahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Andeij proved a 11 point facility on a 10 point scale.

And he manages it with equal quality.

This is a tremendous facilty--clean, modern, spotless, wonderful value for the money.

And Andrej helps in ways beyond expectations--recommendations for dining, local points of interest, travel help to bus/train stations, use of local buses, etc.

This is a exemplary facility. I give it my highest rating.

John

Room Tip: Ask Andrej to tell you about his apartment labeled wine. John
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.8 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#25 of 31 in Ljubljana
239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Ljubljana
3.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mrak
Hotel Mrak
#18 of 31 in Ljubljana
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alo Apartments `Vila Klara`? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alo Apartments `Vila Klara`

Property: Alo Apartments `Vila Klara`
Address: Staretova ulica 25, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alo Apartments `Vila Klara` reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing