We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genial!!!”
Review of Mescanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mescanka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Mescanka with my wife and was an incredible experience!!
The location is more than perfect, the personnel is more than nice and the rooms are more than beautiful...
I definitely recommend it.
And Natasha is the best receptionist that I met...!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mati L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Mescanka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 164 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

From the moment we booked mescanka the level of helpfulness was brilliant. Anything we wanted to know they provided the information. They Booked us all a taxi beforehand which was a nice touch and a lot cheaper. When we arrived we were greeted with real warmth and friendliness like they had known us for years. The apartments are situated on the riverside right in the middle of the old town so you are minutes away from everything you need. They are warm,clean and well furnished. Bathroom was well equipped and modern and the shower is excellent.the bed was real comfortable. And wi fi worked brilliantly thtoughout the building.Yes the apartments are joined to a cafe/bar but we heard no noise as we were enjoying the nightlife ourselves which was excellent I might add. with all the Christmas lights and decorations spread out throughout the town and all the market stalls and food and wine stalls excellent!!. This is another gem of a city to visit and if I ever return we will be staying in the mescanka apartments for sure. Thanks!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BIGGINGERBALDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

What a fantastic property, right in the heart of the city and walking distance to EVERYTHING you'll want as a tourist. Very spacious, great kitchens and bathrooms and reasonably priced. Very helpful staff, willing to always help, speak excellent English and very polite. We would without doubt return here if we visit Ljubljana again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m.obrien83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

i am so glad i did my research thoroughly before coming to ljubjlana as both myself anf my partner have been absolutely overjoyed with our stay at Mescanka. so many nice touches, the staff very very helpful, polite and spoke excellent English. we had a double room on the top floor and it was beautiful. room was impeccably clean, an amazing roomy shower, fridge in room, safe, hairdryer, tea making facilities, TV (with really good channels) and free WIFI. Ljubljana is a wonderful little city and this hotel topped off a perfect weekend. it is about a 10-15 min walk from the bus station, and as close to the old town and riverside cafes as possible. LOVED IT!

Room Tip: we stayed in Minka and it was lovely :)
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahlowe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Mescanka is supremely located by the river near the centre of the old town. It is a very short walk to the best restaurants, the markets, a number of quality bars and pubs and most public transport services. The staff were always very helpful and responsive and seemed to genuinely care that we enjoyed our stay in their beautiful city. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Lili Room is magnificent!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimTim9435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our recent trip to ljubljana, had a great room overlooking the river
Service is great, friendly staff with good sense of humour. Location is perfect, right in the middle of the old town below the castle. Wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else if we return to ljubljana.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nz_phill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Mescanka is perfectly located in Ljubljana old town. The structure is very cozy and comfortable. My room, with double bed and bathroom, was nicely furnished, warm and very silent. Maybe only a little bit dark, but that was not really an issue. Staff are extremely cordial and helpful. Ideal place to roam around and enjoy Ljubljana.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 31 in Ljubljana
882 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mescanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mescanka

Address: Kljuchavnicharska ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range: $67 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the river, beneath the castle and between the two central bridges of the city, Meščanka apartments (pronounced 'Meshchanka', meaning City Lady) offer you the perfect place to stay to discover Ljubljana. You can choose between rooms, studios or fully equipped flats, all with private bathroom. The clean and cosy premises were completely renovated in 2011 to blend a great mix of old refurbished furniture and modern interior design. Come and stay in Meščanka and you will feel why people fall in love with Ljubljana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mescanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing