We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merry December”
Review of Mescanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mescanka
Certificate of Excellence
iPSWICH
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Merry December”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Visited for the Christmas Market - or more importantly "Merry December" when the lovely people of Ljubljana meet up to drink hot wine. Mescanka is in the centre of all the fun.

Lovely clean comfortable apartment and welcoming knowledgeable staff.

Spent our weekend experiencing everything Ljubljana has to offer including some "hot" cocktails Apple Strudel and Cuban Hot Choc. Don't miss the covered market a trip to the castle on funicular, tivoli gardens and the lovely shops and restaurants.

Ate breakfast at a Le Petit most mornings but did pop into a little bakery Kruhana by the market for breakfast and a light lunch. At night we can recommend Marley and Me , Jujlia, Valentin and Gujzina. Also don't miss Gostilna Na Gradu the restaurant at the castle - considering its location very good value.

We also visited the Museum of Modern art and Museum of Contempory History - well worth a visit.

Can't wait to come back and we will not hesitate to stay at mescanka.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveandKate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    44
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
109
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Flagler Beach, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Mescanka is a small guest house right in the middle of Ljubljana. There is a bar attached to the lobby that gives you access and a place to wait for the staff to check in. The bar is nice with reasonable prices. Though they're present for short scheduled hours, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The building is a beautiful old(almost ancient) place on the outside with modern rooms and facilities. We arrived on a cold rainy day. The taxi drivers outside the station would not drive is near the old town when we asked how much it would cost. The recommended taxi service is the Metro Cab co. They are only radio dispatched. We were lucky when we haled a Metro cab dropping off and he was willing to take us to the old town when we explained our problem. He was great to us and when I gave him an overly generous tip for his excellent service he returned most of it saying he would take what he deserved.

Little known is that there are 2 taxis that are permitted to drive in old town. That's the only way to get door to door service. Mescanka can give you the phone number. Ask for the white cab. He is much better than the black cab.

Mescanka is well worth the price and will give you a great place to stay in a great town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We loved the Mescanka, it is located facing the river surrounded by restaurants and the wonderful old town of Ljubljana. Walk out the door and you are steps from it all, great food, nice walks. The apartment is well fitted out and very comfortable.

Highly recommend both the city and this apartment. Saša immediately made us comfortable and helped us settle in to our studio apartment. The cost is very reasonable at 80 Euros per night. The studio is air conditioned, has free WiFi and TV.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnabytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a first floor apartment overlooking the river. The apartment is in the heart of the old city. Lively bars, cheery cefes and wonderful restaurants are literally a few steps away. We contacted the owner on arrival at the train station and a taxi picked us up near the McDonalds sign outside the station and dropped us to the shuttle pick-up point. The shuttle took us to the apartment. The owner arranged one of the approved London taxis for our return to the station. Wonderful service! We had no problem with noise from the bar beneath the apartment. We were quite comfortable with the windows closed and slept soundly. All the old city attractions are within easy walking distance and the street musicians add charm and style to the city.
Apartment Mescanka provides ideal accommodation for independent travellers who enjoy immersing themselves in the life of the cities they visit. Don't hesitate. Book now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreynomadQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the Mescanka on the top floor; you cannot get a better location in the beautiful city of Ljubljana. Once you stepped out of the apartment doors you were in the middle of the stretch of bars by the river.
The apartment is very easy to find althouh our shuttle from the airport dropepd us by the 3 bridges, it was just a short walk to the apartment where the really friendly owner met us and showed us into our room.
The only negative aspect of our stay was that we found the apartment quite noisy, this was due to it being next to/above a bar which seemed to stay open all night; this was easily remedied though by wearing ear plugs.
Ljubljana is easily one of the best cities I have ever visited and staying in the Mescanka really allowed us to do whatever we wanted; if you want a more independent experience in this fantastic city do not hesitate about booking here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christophe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mescanka, Manager at Mescanka, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are happy to see that you liked Mescanka and the independent way of travel, which we support. As Mescanka has a central location within the pedestrian zone with cafes, the area is lively. However, the double glazed windows prevent the sound from coming in, so our guests can choose, whether to enjoy the buzz of the river bank or remain in silence by closing the windows. Best, Sasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you are keen on a 24h-reception-desk with a lot of staff around you will be disappointed. To us, the Mescanka was everything that we needed, a simple, Ikea-style apartment in a central location. We paid on arrival and ordered one of the cost-free electric cars to pick us and our luggage up to drive to one of the nearby car parks - which was extra fun for our kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We really enjoyed out stay, the location was very central and the room was clean and modern. We found Mescanka easily from the directions given. Just a short walk from the train station. We had a room overlooking a small side street, with the windows shut we heard nothing. The Mescanka is perfectly located to explore the wonderful city of Ljubljana.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,577 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 31 in Ljubljana
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mescanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mescanka

Property: Mescanka
Address: Kljuchavnicharska ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the river, beneath the castle and between the two central bridges of the city, Meščanka apartments (pronounced 'Meshchanka', meaning City Lady) offer you the perfect place to stay to discover Ljubljana. You can choose between rooms, studios or fully equipped flats, all with private bathroom. The clean and cosy premises were completely renovated in 2011 to blend a great mix of old refurbished furniture and modern interior design. Come and stay in Meščanka and you will feel why people fall in love with Ljubljana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mescanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing