We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy night at the Mescanka”
Review of Mescanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mescanka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a very noisy night at the Mescanka. We stayed in a nice room in the heart of the promenade but the noise from the street outside and the bar downstairs kept us awake until the early hours of the morning. Other travellers said the double windows kept the sounds out. We didn't find this to be the case for us. Though we'd paid for 3 nights (you might want to wait to pay), we left after the first night. No refund.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawndo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mescanka, Manager at Mescanka, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

We are really sorry that you had a bad experience in Mescanka. We have considered that we are located within the pedestrian zone with cafes and that the area can be lively, so we put double glazed windows to prevent the sound from coming in. According to our house and cancellation policy we always arrange the payment up front. Hope you will stay in Mescanka some other time, so we can improve your impression. Best, Sasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 166 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in a very nice studio apartment overlooking the river. The promenade along the river is crowded with bars and restaraunts. We are happy to report that the double windows and aircon keep the outside merry making sounds out.

The apartment is in a no vehicle zone. The nearest official parking is 39 euro/day (covered parking in an undergroung garge) and entails carrying your bags about 300 meters. Outside parking is about 800 meters away but is only about 16 euro/day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabiBagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night before flying our of Ljubljana and wished I had booked more time here.

This place is in the middle of the pedestrian only area and is surrounded by restaurants, cafes, and bars. It is a beautiful place to be in and very lively at night.

The room I had was huge - a king sized bed, seating area, kitchen, and huge washroom with a rain shower head. It was facing the "street" so it had a lot of windows. It was beautifully decorated, modern, and very clean. The staff that came to meet us were very friendly as well.

Just note: the hotel is on top of a bar/restaurant and we could hear music pumping in our room as our room was right above it - even with the the double windows which were double paned and fully closed. The music stopped at 12am.

If I were to come back to Ljubljana, I would stay here again but would request a room that was not above the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarinaInRedDeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I love staying in apartments like this, as you feel a lot more ike you live in the city for a short space of time, and a lot less like a tourist.

Mescanka was perfect. The apartment was huge, clean and really nicely decorated. Everyone we dealt with there was really friendly and polite and trying to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

It's really well placed, right in the centre of Ljubljana. Yes, it's above a bar, but if you're a decent sleeper you won't really hear anything. Or just go down and join in - the bars seemed to shut around 12 on a thursday, and 1 on a weekend - not too late.

Definitely recommend it for a city break in lovely Ljubljana.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at the Mescanka Apartments during May 2012.
The apartment is right in the city center and an excellent place to base yourself from. We stayed in the cheaper rooms that overlooked the side alley (note at night we heard lots of voices and only realised the next day that people stand by the side door of a late night bar/club next door talking and their voices echo - This was resolved the next night when we closed the double glazed window and then heard nothing). Sasa was excellent on our arrival and pointed out places for breakfast and evening meals.

Ljubljana
A great place to go, we all found it very relaxing and the prices were very reasonable.
Drink- In some bars Beer was Eur2.20 per pint and wine EUR0.1 for basic (wasn't bad) and Eur 0.2 for rally good local wine (served in 100ml - bottle 750ml)
Food - Julija was a great restaurant and for four of us the bill came to EUR110 which included a bottle of wine. Sokol was also good with the servers in their national costumes. Here we had the Restaurant's own beer and the meal for four of us came to EUR80
Travel outside Ljubljana
One day we got the bus (bus station next to the train station - walking distance north of the center) to go to Lake Bled, took about 1h15m. The trip was great and Lake Bled is beautiful (we also walked to Vintgar gorge which was a nice walk and interesting - took about 3 hours round trip)
Overall I would advise everyone to go to Ljubljana.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We've spent 5.days here like a couple and this location deserve rating Excellent 5 in terms of:
- location
- clean and nice decorated room
- walking distance for everything you need (bars, restaurants, explore the city...even kissing near river :)
- warm hospitality and any kind of help (0-24) from the owner
- secure (you need to unlock two different doors before you came to your bed)...

We came like a couple with a warm welcome of Sasha - the owner. Location is in the walking zone in the heart of the city, with nice view on the river, "chill-out" bars and restaurants around and very,very nice atmosphere. Room was extremely clean and very nice decorated. Including affordable price and "no need for car" - we've spent one of the best 5.days in our life :) Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GanaSarajevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I highly recommend this place. We were three Spanish friends and everything was great. Best location in the city, next to Ljubljanica River, very closed to very cool bars and restaurants but ....It is not noisy place at all ! The room was really clean, and best of all: the staff: really friendly and helpful people all the time, I see they enjoy their job ! Thanks Sasa and Domen !

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bardai79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#17 of 31 in Ljubljana
909 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mescanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mescanka

Address: Kljuchavnicharska ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range: $69 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the river, beneath the castle and between the two central bridges of the city, Meščanka apartments (pronounced 'Meshchanka', meaning City Lady) offer you the perfect place to stay to discover Ljubljana. You can choose between rooms, studios or fully equipped flats, all with private bathroom. The clean and cosy premises were completely renovated in 2011 to blend a great mix of old refurbished furniture and modern interior design. Come and stay in Meščanka and you will feel why people fall in love with Ljubljana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mescanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing