We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food,wine and homemade beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gostilnica XXI - CLOSED

Gostilnica XXI
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Central European, Italian, Slovenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
rio
2 reviews
“Very good food,wine and homemade beer!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We went there with friends the other night,and i must say that the food was very very good!..We also tried their homemade beer and some slovenian wines and i must say they was perfect to begin our Ljubljana night.
I would definitely recommend this place for friendly gathering or some romantic dinner!
Just keep on going with your enthusiasm!
hope we gonna come back

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mister m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“I can't wait to go back....”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

As an American traveling abroad I'm always a little cautious about neighborhood restaurants, but the Gostilnica XX1 was superb in every way. We were greeted by friendly smiles from the staff, and the ambience was very clean, comfortable and contemporary. I can't say enough good things about the food. Our group of 10 shared various selections and every item was delicious. The Slovenian wine we ordered was reasonably priced and held up to any good French red. The service was perfect... plenty of help with the menu items, prompt and very friendly. To top the evening off a group of local musicians started playing at about 22h. They danced and sang and the whole restaurant joined in on the celebration. I can't wait to go back to Gostilnica XX1.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gahoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice food in a nice place”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We went here based on a recommendation from a local. The menus were only in Slovenian however the waitress took her time to explain all of the dishes to us in English (I saw her do the same for at least 3 other tables).

The food was very nice, reasonably priced and served in a reasonable time. Overall it was a very enjoyable experience

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jip_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice atmosphere, very slow and indifferent service”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Gostilnica XXI is a small restaurant behind the Faculty for engineering, just a few steps away from Lipa and Thai inn pub.
The menu changes daily, the dishes are innovative, freshly prepared and contain fresh ingredients. The place enjoys a pleasant atmosphere.The prices are reasonable.
Unfortunately the service is very slow (we had to wait for more than 10 minutes to be served and then another half an hour to get the salad) and the both waitresses are rather surly and indifferent.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marjan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield
Level Contributor
335 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Cozy, stylish”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The food seems to be a cut above the rest of the restaurants here. Special menu every day with tasty plays on Slovenian and Croatian food. Waitress thoughtfully explained each menu item to us, even though she was busy. I had a delicious goulasch--and a wild asparagus and egg appetizer. (I do not think it is open on the weekend and it's away from river and within walking distance).

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aventine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gostilnica XXI also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing