We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the typical tourist spot food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gostilna Na gradu

Gostilna Na gradu
Ranked #33 of 568 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Slovenian, Central European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Gostilna Na Gradu is in the castle courtyard. The decor is a mix of old castle artifacts and modern like the castle. We went with a group, the food and service were excellent. Normally I would avoid any restaurant in a monument for anything more than a hot dog at the time of famine. This one is run by the couple that own Hisa Franko near Kobarid. Ana Ros is a gifted chef. More on that with my review of Hisa Franko. (The food is Slovenian and not really Croatian. In this part of the world, wars have been fought over less!
Burlingame, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the typical tourist spot food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Slow service--but great food. Try the stuffed squash blossoms! Given the location, the food was actually reasonably priced and delivered with a high level of skill...very pretty.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    138
    41
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
American in Bogota
Level Contributor
400 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Fantastic Slovenian food in modern, cozy environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This place, though located in one of the most touristy places in Ljubljana, was full of locals and I think the reason is that it has excellent food and wonderful ambience. Our group of six was universally pleased the the menu and wine list and the service was friendly, helpful and eager to please. The terrace is quite pretty and the interior rooms as well (no views of the city but it still has lots of charm.) I definitely recommend it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiquiMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uruguay
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious Slovenian food for a fair price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Right in the middle of the castle's courtyard, this restaurant provided one of the best meals on my European trip. They have a nice selection of typical Slovenian food and a wine list, all for very good prices. There's even a menu for two in which you can taste different traditional meals.

I personally had the zlikrofi (a kind of stuffed pasta) and lamb ragù and it was very tasty. Before the meal I had some bread with DELICIOUS cottage cheese with herbs and I had a very good wine (super cheap!)

The service was prompt, friendly and inviting. The setting marvellous. The food impeccable. The prices fair. Unmissable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScarlettDubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great meal at the castle!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this place for lunch while about the castle. The staff was friendly and welcoming, the young lady who helped us with the menu was genuine and I appreciated that. Very good wine selection. We sat in the enclosed section of the patio and it provided views of the castle courtyard. The menu was enjoyable with interesting choices using some classic Slovenian ingredients. You can tell that there is much thought put into the menu and much care put into your plate. I appreciated the sophistication for a gostilna.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank global_latte2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg, Germany
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“absolutely excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Superb cuisine, great choice of wines, helpful service ... nothing more needed to really enjoy food and meeting with friends, family or making business.
In dazs of nice weather it is hard to find free table so reservation would not be a bad idea ...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Krzysztof R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gostilna Na gradu also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Gostilna Na gradu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing