We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standards across the board”
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cubo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“High standards across the board”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Cubo in July, at the start of a two week trip to Slovenia. The location was superb, with easy walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go in the old town, as well as a short distance from Tivoli Park, where my husband could go running. The hotel has a few parking spaces nearby which guests can use. The rooms are modern and stylish, ours had a huge walk in shower. On our final night, because of a mix up with our booking, we were upgraded to a fabulous corner room with a circular bed, and a view of the castle. Both rooms had bathrobes, huge fluffy towels, good toiletries and a free minibar.

We loved the hotel breakfasts, with a great choice of breads from a speciality baker, and fruit and vegetable juices. As well as the open buffet, guests could have hot food to order.

The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We would definitely rebook if we return to Ljubjana.

Room Tip: We booked a superior room, and after our third night upgrade were moved to a suite. Both were excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoshana62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    168
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
119
552
73
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at this small boutique hotel for one night
The room was beautiful and comfortable , front desk service was outstanding with giving information of where to go , what to see and where to eat , even arrange breakfast box " to go "
Since we left very early to the airport
If I am back in Ljubljana - this where I am staying !!!
Thank you keep up the good style and good service

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Had a business trip to Ljubljana and Hotel Cubo was the booked hotel. Was not sue what to expect. I was incredibly happy with the hotel and staff. The hotel is very modern, new and in a great location. In addition to the hotel, the staff was outstanding. From check in to the breakfast and to check out, smiling and pleasant professional staff. Highly recommend this place to anyone going to Slovenia.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dbuff3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cubo in June 2013. The hotel is excellent - very large, comfortable room. We appreciated the view of Ljubljana Castle from our window and the complimentary mini-bar. The breakfast is fantastic, a large variety of items available.

Being of Slovenian heritage, I really appreciated the detailed welcome letter that explained a lot about the city and country. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and accommodating. The bellman (I forget his name) went out of his way to make sure we had the proper directions to visit the village where my extended family lives when we were leaving. The location is great - it is only a few minutes walk from the old town. This will definitely be our hotel of choice when we return to Ljubljana.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CES_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent just one night here in mid-June. The hotel is small but very comfortably appointed and exceptionally clean. The service is a notch above. In particular, we appreciated the complimentary mini-bar and wi-fi. It's so refreshing to stay in a hotel and not be nickel-and-dimed for all of the extras. The location is convenient to the old town (5 minutes walk), but it is on a rather busy street. This wasn't a problem for us (no noise issues) but if you're looking to have the old town atmosphere right out the front door, then you might be disappointed. Our only real regret is that we were not able to stay longer to explore this enchanting city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cubo as a family of 5 people, 2 grandparents in a double room and my husband and I in a large room with a separate bed for our child. We loved our stay in Ljubljana and would highly recommend the hotel.

The hotel is boutique sized, with just 3 floors of rooms. Our room faced the rear courtyard and was extremely quiet, which we loved. My parents' room faced the street side, with an amazing view of the castle, although they could hear a bit of traffic noise (not overly bothersome). Both rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. I haven't seen hotel bathrooms this clean in a very long time! Beds were comfortable, air conditioning worked well, WiFi was free and quick, the safe was large enough to hold 2 laptops, and the decor was very interesting (particularly the lights!). The bathroom was modern and had good toiletries, ample towels, and plenty of hot water. In the larger room, the toilet and shower were in separate rooms, which was nice. The hotel is environmentally conscious and doesn't change towels/sheets daily unless requested. We did request on one day, but otherwise were content to reuse as towels dried rapidly on the rack provided.

The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The front desk recognized guests and knew our details with amazing recall. And the staff in the breakfast room were also friendly and constantly available for coffee, omelets, etc. The hotel arranged taxis to pick us up from the train station (only a 5 min ride, but too far to walk with many suitcases) and also to drop us off at the airport, which took about 30 minutes to drive. We were impressed that the front desk had our keys ready for us when our taxi arrived, avoiding a long check in process.

Breakfast was of very high quality, with a buffet of cold items (cereal, bread, fruit, meat, juices, homemade jam), and hot items such as pancakes and omelets on order. We regretted leaving such a fabulous breakfast when we checked out!

The location of the hotel was very good, with a short and scenic stroll to the heart of downtown, and good restaurants within a 5 minute walk. We particularly enjoyed a restaurant called Julija which was recommended by the hotel front desk.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are very quiet, while rooms facing the front have a great castle view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

It is near to sight seeing spots which can be reached on foot. The breakfast is very good with various kind of fruits, eggs, grilled bacon etc. and the service is excellent. It is very appreciated that I got a room well before the check-in time after a long flight from Asia..

It is a bit expensive when you consider the standard of living in Slovenia. I choose this one because of ease of parking (finally free although it was marked at cost when I made the booking) and its proximity to tourist spot.

Room Tip: Any room as there was not much road traffic in the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canonLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,567 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
248 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Property: Hotel Cubo
Address: Slovenska cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cubo is located in the centre of Slovenian capital Ljubljana, right opposite to the traffic free historical centre, within walking distance from the most important sightseeing sites and the shopping streets with lots of bars, night clubs and restaurants. It offers 26 modern rooms (2 Junior suites, 14 double rooms with one king bed, 7 twin rooms, 3 single rooms. All rooms are luminous and decorated with particularly good taste in a warm contemporary style using only the highest quality materials and amnesties, such as prestigious bed linen by Rivola Carmignani and The White Company bathroom amenities. All rooms have double glazing, carpet, telephone (10 minutes free calls within EU) TV, air conditioning, heating, free safe, WiFi , minibar. Bathrooms have showers or bath tubs, hairdryers, bathrobes and slippers. In addition, it also offer conference facilities - 3 meeting rooms with minimalistic design, strategically placed lighting and latest audio-visual equipment. Impressive residence of a hotel was build around 1830 for the family of attorney and rebuilt in 1930's in the for that period popular middle European cubist Art Deco style. During its history it was home to a ballet school, a publishing company, an education centre for first aid, driving school and most recently a famous milk cafe 'Miška'. After thorough renovation the refurbished building opened its doors again in 2011 as a design hotel, using only best quality materials and with a wink to the cubism of elder times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing