We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Arthouse hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cubo
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delightful Arthouse hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a lovely little hotel. It lacks a grand, imposing lobby, and its restaurant is only open for lunch, but the rooms are unique and beautiful in a modern, arthouse style. The bathroom is beautifully appointed and can be opened to the main area or completely closed off with some clever sliding doors. The finishes are luxurious; one feels both at home and pampered here. The breakfast was delicious with one's choice of egg dish and a quality buffet. The hotel is just outside the old town ( across the road), and it was an excellent location for us since we wanted to look at the museums ( new town) and old town whilst we were in this lovely town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    162
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
107
527
70
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had one of the corner suites and it was superb: round bed surrounded by windows with electronically controlled shutters; beautiful, modern bathroom; nice sitting area. Hotel was an easy walk to the old town; very friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast buffet was ample, and you could get eggs and bacon and other dishes besides. Although the hotel is on a busy street, the sound deadening is adequate. We slept very well.

Room Tip: Highly recommend springing for the corner suite we stayed in (right above the restaurant). I would a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrodoEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

small but well appointed hotel just across the street/park from the old part of the city. the breakfast was good. the rooms were clean. good alternative to staying right in the old town but in modern surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cubo for 3 nights and had a great time. The hotel is centrally located and we seemed to be 5 mins from everything.
What we liked:
The service was great. All the staff were polite, friendly and always smiling. They made a difference to our stay.
Breakfast. There was a good selection of food. Everything was very fresh.
Location.
What could have been better.
The room A/C did not seem to work so we had a stuffy first night, but we figured out how to open the windows the next day, so no problems after that.
The LAN cable for the internet did not work, so we stuck with wifi, which my ipad 2 had problems connecting to.
Our room had a shower with glass walls making the whole bathing experience transparent. Best to check beforehand what type of room you will be getting if you need the privacy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohanasHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulli, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Small hotel , very clean and modern . Amazing breakfast . 3 minutes walk to the centre . Staff extremely friendly . Would stay there again . Rooms are on the small side but that is expected in Europe .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

After multiple countries and historic hotels (which I do love) it was a nice change to have such spacious, soothing accommodations. I stayed with my two adult size teens and was pleasantly surprised to see a permanent twin size bed in addition to the main king size bed. Double sinks, soaking tub with rain shower, separate WC with small sink. Great choice for travel w family. Excellent service by Luka at the front desk too. Centrally located easy to find straight off the highway exit 34.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

If you need a change from tiny hotel rooms, with bathrooms too small to dry yourself in, then this is the place for you. Its ultra modern, spacious and beautifully appointed. The bathroom is the best I've ever seen, including a magnificent bath to soak in after a hard days walking. The breakfast was exceptional too - local delicacies, great coffee and more.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiefairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Property: Hotel Cubo
Address: Slovenska cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cubo is located in the centre of Slovenian capital Ljubljana, right opposite to the traffic free historical centre, within walking distance from the most important sightseeing sites and the shopping streets with lots of bars, night clubs and restaurants. It offers 26 modern rooms (2 Junior suites, 14 double rooms with one king bed, 7 twin rooms, 3 single rooms. All rooms are luminous and decorated with particularly good taste in a warm contemporary style using only the highest quality materials and amnesties, such as prestigious bed linen by Rivola Carmignani and The White Company bathroom amenities. All rooms have double glazing, carpet, telephone (10 minutes free calls within EU) TV, air conditioning, heating, free safe, WiFi , minibar. Bathrooms have showers or bath tubs, hairdryers, bathrobes and slippers. In addition, it also offer conference facilities - 3 meeting rooms with minimalistic design, strategically placed lighting and latest audio-visual equipment. Impressive residence of a hotel was build around 1830 for the family of attorney and rebuilt in 1930's in the for that period popular middle European cubist Art Deco style. During its history it was home to a ballet school, a publishing company, an education centre for first aid, driving school and most recently a famous milk cafe 'Miška'. After thorough renovation the refurbished building opened its doors again in 2011 as a design hotel, using only best quality materials and with a wink to the cubism of elder times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing