We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but noise is a problem”
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cubo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff was very helpful, the room was fine, the bath luxurious. But one problem keeps this from being a premier hotel: too noisy. The hotel is only a short walk from the central area, but it sits on the busiest road in Ljubljana, next to the mother of all bus stops. The windows are reasonably new and double pane, but the noise pours in, or at least it poured into our turret room. The walls are also paper thin, so we could hear our neighbors. One day there was a 12 hour sports event a block away with loudspeakers and microphoned announcers that rolled on until 10 PM. Perhaps a second set of double paned windows would help? Not likely we will return.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MJH161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matevz, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cubo, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

First, let us say we are very sorry for your bad experience with CUBO hotel. It is a pity that you haven't told us about it immediately because we would be able to move you to a room facing interior courtyard.
Indeed, CUBO hotel is on one of the main roads in Ljubljana centre and this is why we ask our guests whether they prefer a room with the view of Ljubljana castle (facing the road) or one that is even more quiet but does not have the castle view.
As you can see from previous reviews, the sound level from the street is too high for some guests and completely OK for others.
What happened on September 16 is that a large part of Slovenska street has been closed for all traffic except busses and taxis. The part of the street on which CUBO hotel stands, is just next to it and the level of traffic has been significantly reduced since making the sound level everywhere even lower.
The sporting event you experienced was the European basketball championship in Slovenia and the main event area in Ljubljana was on the square close to CUBO hotel. Again, the sound from there could only be heard in the street-facing rooms. CUBO hotel was proud to be the host of Slovenia's national basketball team in the second stage of the championship. Peace and tranquility were one of the most important selection factors for the team and they had no problems with noise whatsoever.
Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused and recommend all future guests to check the sound level in rooms before checking-in or let us know immediately if they change their mind afterwards and we will move them to another room whenever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our stay in Hotel Cubo very much and we both think this is the best stay in Europe!!

- Modern n cozy room with a big tv n bathtub!
- Free mini-bar
- Great choices of TV channels eg. plenty of English channels, NationalGeoChannel, HBO, lots of soccer channels!
- Excellent toiletree eg. Loccitane bath gel, shampoo etc.
- Welcoming n nice staff eg. gave us a guide written by the hotel introducing basic info of Slovenia like language spoken, transportation, water, govt, dining at restaurant (tipping isnt expected, locals dont dine out oftent etc).
- Nice breakfast with v attentive staff serving breakfast!!

I really like the staff of Hotel Cubo! they are v professional and efficient!! When we were planning to visit the lale bled n wondering where to check the bus schedule, the staff actively checked at the internet and printed out the schedule for us!! While we were checking out n planning to walk to the train station with heavy luggages, the staff recommended us to take taxi coz it took just five euro! That was a perfect recommendation!!

The success of hotel cubo is truly attributed to the professionally trained staff!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoytravelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a treat! This hotel is located a short walk to the old part of the city...which is filled with shops, restaurants and open air markets! The hotel is ultra modern....very clean, comfy beds and terrific service. The breakfast buffet was amazing!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Californiafatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The service at this hotel was superb, very friendly and attentive but not intrusive. The guest rooms are done in a modern design but are very spacious and comfortable with a light and airy feel. The linens and mattress were top quality. The bathroom was expertly designed with a huge tub and shower and a separate water closet with bide. The sink area had extensive counter space as well as a huge mirror with a built in lighted make-up mirror. Breakfast was wonderful. There were plenty of options on the buffet, but if you wanted something else the staff was more than happy to accommodate you. Everything was delicious and served in a very nice setting. The location was excellent, about two blocks from old town. For the most part the hotel was very quiet except after midnight on Friday and Saturday. There was a disco nearby (not sure where) that played thumping music until after 3am. Otherwise everything was perfect.
.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leon70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very fantastic and high quality hotel. Modern design, very reasonable prices, very good and friendly staff. Big room, comfortable bed, good location. Very good breakfast. Very good quality of the food

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Dalius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a lovely night at the Cubo. The hotel is perfectly located in Ljubljana, just a few minutes walking from the centre of town. Even though the entrance and reception area is unassuming the service was impeccable and very welcoming.
Our (upgraded) room was large and very comfortable with an excellent bathroom.
The breakfast was the best I have had in a long time with jams, yoghurt and bread to die for. The only thing lacking was freshly squeezed orange juice.
The assistance of Luka and his colleagues was much appreciated and very helpful.
Would like to have stayed a bit longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed just for two nights to this amazing boutique hotel. Cozy, spacious, comfortable room. A big glass panel divide the room from the bathroom. Marvelous view from our room. Great and very helpful personnel. Top of our stay the gourmet breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cretan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,712 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.2 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Address: Slovenska cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range: $151 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cubo is located in the centre of Slovenian capital Ljubljana, right opposite to the traffic free historical centre, within walking distance from the most important sightseeing sites and the shopping streets with lots of restaurants. It offers 26 modern rooms (2 Junior suites, 14 double rooms with one king bed, 7 twin rooms, 3 single rooms). All rooms are luminous and decorated with particularly good taste in a warm contemporary style using only the highest quality materials and amnesties, such as prestigious bed linen by Rivola Carmignani and The White Company bathroom amenities. All rooms have double glazing, carpet, telephone (10 minutes free calls within EU) TV, air conditioning, heating, free safe, WiFi , minibar. Bathrooms have showers or bath tubs, hairdryers, bathrobes and slippers. In addition, it also offer conference facilities - 3 meeting rooms. After thorough renovation the refurbished building opened its doors again in 2011 as a design hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing