We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern oasis with outstanding service!”
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cubo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern oasis with outstanding service!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel is just two blocks from the old city. Modern design, spacious rooms, comfortable beds. Service is outstanding. Mini bar is complimentary - with beer! The breakfast is one of the best I've had (buffet + select items to order) with fruits, cereals, croissants, yogurts, cheeses and meats, fresh juices.
When we were leaving, our flight was very early so they made us lattes and packed us breakfast boxes for our trip. Definitely a find!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the third floor and take one of the rooms facing the courtyard or side - much quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parisatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    170
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
120
553
73
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

A few top luxury hotels could learn from the superior level of service displayed by staff and management at this lovely hotel. There are no plastic smiles here, there is genuine warmth and interest from each member of staff. The culture of excellence in service and a genuine attempt to create the best experience shines through. Hotel Cubo is a neat, modern and very agreeable hotel close to the old town but this isnt why I give it such an exceptionally high rating. I have stayed in some leading luxury hotels around the world, at a price to reflect of course, yet I would rarely bother to write a review. This is because even in such fine hotels staff are trained in a formality of approach that sees them always polite but generally distant and this makes the total experience feel a little formulaic. Hotel Cubo just gets it right. They are the best representatives for their beautiful country too. I hope they don't change a thing.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaggieGong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I travel frequently and rarely give a hotel 5 stars since there is usually something missing. Hotel Cubo was close to perfect. The other reviews have captured the quality. It is well-designed with good room layouts, and a high comfort level. The staff were wonderful, pleasant and helpful at all service levels. The breakfast was the best continental I have ever seen and beautifully displayed; it was a nice way to start the day. The lunch menu was superb. I have stayed in Ljubljana before and consider this the best hotel. I recommend it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a street facing room for the best view. There is no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoiledtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay three nights at this boutique hotel in downtown Ljubljana - 5 minute walk from downtown square and 2 minutes from university. We stayed in a Jr. Suite - which was very roomy and modern. Large HD TV for entertainment.
Breakfast buffet was included. Nice assortment of fruit, cereal, eggs, bacon, bread/pastries, yogurts, meat/cheese and juices. Excellent service for your coffee/eggs/bacon.
While the room was great, we couldn't believe the staff. EVERYONE WANTED TO HELP IN ANY WAY and seemed genuinely interested that you enjoy your time in their hotel as well as their city and country. They all seemed like good will ambassadors!!!!!
Would highly recommend Hotel Cubo if you're going to Ljubljana.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was in a party of six and stayed at the Hotel Cubo for 5 nights. We had a fantastic stay and were very impressed with the hotel. The service we received was excellent and all the staff were friendly and helpful.
We had double rooms on the front of the hotel which were quiet, clean and comfortable with excellent facilities - Wi-Fi, mini-bar, safe, dressing gowns etc. The breakfasts were cold buffet style with a good choice and hot food such as eggs, bacon etc could be ordered. We particularly like the mixed omelettes.
The location of the hotel was ideal for a city break as it takes less than 5 minutes walk to reach the centre of Ljubljana. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a base for a trip to Ljubljana.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I decided to book this hotel based on the exceptional reviews here and on other websites. I spent 5 nights and can only confirm what everybody has already said.

Location: Ljubljana is small, so the hotel Cubo is very central even if not located within the pedestrian central area (this is probably a plus if you come with luggage). Just cross the street and you are facing a beautiful park (good restaurants at night!) with the castle in the background. And just across the square you are already in the river. Perfect. There is also a big parking under the park although it won't be cheap.

Room: I had a big bedroom that could accomodate three. It was a corner unit but not the one with the round beds. The bed was fantastic, with several pillows to choose from. There was an extra long desk to work, three windows, a bathroom and a separate toilet. L’Occitane toiletries. Everything was very good quality and very clean. This is probably a good room if you have a kid because there is a sofa/small bed and the bathroom is not transparent as in other rooms. It has the number X09. It is also facing the back of the hotel so there was no street noise. The minibar was very complete, free, and they fill it back every day. It made me discover Cockta, a sort of cola drink that I'd never heard of.

Breakfast: I found the breakfast ok with two highlights: the girls taking care of the service (both were lovely every time) and the eggs that they would cook for you!

Service: everybody was extremely nice from the time I contacted them before my arrival to get them to boock a taxi for me to the very last moment. At no time I had the impression there were less than happy to be there taking care of us. The two nights that we were out until late they prepared the room for my return closing the windows and opening the bed. This is the first time I've seen this in a hotel and it is lovely.

Other details: Make up mirror for ladies although the lighting could be better. Electrical plugs all around the room (unlike many hotels where you need to choose between the TV or charging your phone). There are speakers for the TV in tha bathroom (I dind't find how to turn them off so it made a funny stereo effect).

Overall: great quality, great service, great location and lovely city. I found the price to be a third or less of what it would have costed in another European capital so go ahead and spoil yourself if you stop by Ljubljana! you won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_cheese_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I chose this hotel for a two night stay at be start of a trip to Slovenia, and strangely it was one of three hotels we stayed in in Ljubljana. Initial impressions were good after a call to advise we would be late as our flight was delayed, resulted in a taxi being arranged to pick us up from the airport. The small bar and reception area are unprepossessing and although the welcome was warm and friendly do not give an accurate impression of the quality of the hotel.
The room was spacious and very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent both in terms of quality and service.
Overall while there are potentially good cheaper options, this was money well spent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IFMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,570 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
250 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Property: Hotel Cubo
Address: Slovenska cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cubo is located in the centre of Slovenian capital Ljubljana, right opposite to the traffic free historical centre, within walking distance from the most important sightseeing sites and the shopping streets with lots of bars, night clubs and restaurants. It offers 26 modern rooms (2 Junior suites, 14 double rooms with one king bed, 7 twin rooms, 3 single rooms. All rooms are luminous and decorated with particularly good taste in a warm contemporary style using only the highest quality materials and amnesties, such as prestigious bed linen by Rivola Carmignani and The White Company bathroom amenities. All rooms have double glazing, carpet, telephone (10 minutes free calls within EU) TV, air conditioning, heating, free safe, WiFi , minibar. Bathrooms have showers or bath tubs, hairdryers, bathrobes and slippers. In addition, it also offer conference facilities - 3 meeting rooms with minimalistic design, strategically placed lighting and latest audio-visual equipment. Impressive residence of a hotel was build around 1830 for the family of attorney and rebuilt in 1930's in the for that period popular middle European cubist Art Deco style. During its history it was home to a ballet school, a publishing company, an education centre for first aid, driving school and most recently a famous milk cafe 'Miška'. After thorough renovation the refurbished building opened its doors again in 2011 as a design hotel, using only best quality materials and with a wink to the cubism of elder times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing