We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Call if you arrive late otherwise you'll never get inside.”
Review of Stari Tisler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stari Tisler
Ranked #22 of 56 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Call if you arrive late otherwise you'll never get inside.”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Overall, I liked the room. It was clean, warm and very nice.
The breakfast is rather basic but it's ok. The location is very good too. But everything is so close that any place is a good location.
The only bad point in the reception.
I booked my room via booking.com and specified I was arriving late, around midnight.
I didn't have any response from the hotel neither after sending an email. Because I booked quite late I wanted to ensure that would not be an issue and decided to call the day before.
Hopefully I did because the woman I had on the phone had to explain how to enter after dark.
The front door is locked and you need a card to enter. So she let it open for me.
If I hadn't call I would have been stuck outside without any way to know how to enter !!!
Still when I came in, it was dark everywhere and nobody around, neither a sign for the reception desk.
I had to knock to all doors I could find until someone hears me. It took about 15min !!!


I discussed my issues with the woman who said it's due to the fact it's newly renovated and there should be a sign for the reception from April.

I would suggest to call before if you arrive late.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    48
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
39
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
536 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

They let me bring my luggage a day before I actually checked in. I wanted to go through the Julian Alps but did not want to bring all my luggage with me so they stored it for me. The staff will help you carry your luggage to your room. The rooms are clean and they have comfortable pillows. Beds are a little firm. I ate dinner in their restraunt and it was very good.. The television has English speaking channels. It is very close (about 1 1/2 -2 blocks away) to the train & bus station. They have a courtyard that is nicely decorated and with tables. Their breakfast was very good. Bathroom was clean and has good water pressure. I would stay there again. if you are arriving by bus or train just walk out the front door and continue straight for about 1-2 blocks and it will be on your left (i think) very easy to find.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World-wander-woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent 5 nights in this lovely, homely authentic B&B. Staff superb! we were provided great advice re local sites etc, ate and enjoyed the traditional style food cooked in site! High praise for staff presentation, we felt very relaxed in this all purpose establishment

Room Tip: some rooms quieter than others, check them out and ask advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stari Tisler is a short walk from the train and bus station. The old town is also within walking distance. It is a newly renovated hotel. The rooms are decorated in a modern style and were clean and comfortable. The staff are very helpful. There was a good selection at breakfast and one of the staff offered to make eggs or an omelette for us. It was the most expensive place we stayed in Slovenia though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 2icecreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Room: Newly renovated and stylish. Small,clean and cozy. Acceptable price.
Location: Near Train Station and city center. It's G/F is a restaurant, a bit hard to locate it for the first time.
Staff: Very friendly and helpful, pre-packed BIG breakfast with sandwiches, drink and friuts for us to go as we left very early on the next morning

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Nicely renovated hotel still incorporating the old style. The room was very nice, clean and comfy. The bathroom is also nicely furnished. The access is card based, which means you have free access even at late hours, when the reception is closed. The location is great. Few minutes walking from the airport, also within walking distance from the old town. The restaurant has delicious food, parking is in front of the hotel, but they are city parking places, so you have to pay the meter. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alberteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lovely place, with newly renovated rooms, private bathrooms, and confy beds. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is a good place to stay, the prices are OK, and the location is good. Few minutes walk you can reach the old city center, also in walking distance from the Train station. Parking is not an easy task in Ljubljana, but you can find parking places on the street, we had luck when we arrived to find one free right in front of the entrance. Second time we found free place bit further on the street. Parking fee is 1.4Euro/hour, from 8:00 to 20:00. So overnight you don't have to pay. If you leave your car all day parked, ask the staff for the best options (cheapest/safest). We enjoyed our stay, and the food in the Restaurant is also great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lnemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stari Tisler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stari Tisler

Property: Stari Tisler
Address: Kolodvorska ulica 8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Stari Tisler 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Stari Tisler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing