We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in the city!!!”
Review of Marley & Me

Marley & Me
Ranked #27 of 601 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $34
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Slovenian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Excellent choice for lunch or dinner in one of the nicest streets of old town. We are small and simple yet excellent..Just for you. Find out yourself! :). We received from Ljubljana municipality a certificate of quality. We are rated among top 15 in Ljubljana!
Palermo, Italia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in the city!!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and me stayed 1 week in Lubiana, and we went in this restaurant 4 times!!!
Why? because the dishes, the owner and the stuff (Mattej and Daniel) and above all the Chef were delicious, perfect, very friendly, really the best in the all city!
We went also in other 3 restaurants but we didn't feel and we didn't eat as well as in Marley & Me!.
If you are a couple I recommend to reserve the only place next to the window, soooo romantic!
Marley & Me is a special place, you need to go to feel it like us!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaBellaVitaBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    325
    139
    54
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Slovenian food, great service!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Don't be put off by the outside! We almost didn't go in, but are so glad we did. The manager of the cafe-restaurant was so helpful. We asked him for a recommendation of the 'most typical' Slovenian dish, and he recommended two that weren't even on the menu, but which they prepared for us anyway. Both dishes were fabulous. They also had great Slovenian wine and spirits. If you can, save room for their dessert prekmurska gibanica. After the huge meals served here, this dessert is big enough to share and is delicious! Highly recommended to all.

Helpful?
1 Thank KeiraNandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“So friendly and welcoming and how we enjoyed the food...”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Another place to revisit on our list. We dined there on New Year's Day. The food was excellent and the wine was really nice and Slovenian, of course. The waiter took time for a personal chat with all his customers. The things he recommended were superb. The restaurant is not big but this creates an enchanting atmosphere. Praise for such a marvellous diner! Thank you for your effort and welcome!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyLighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I'm usually visiting Marley & Me with co-workers. Food is great and prices are really normal. Todays Risotto was so delicious, that memory of it will haunt me for years.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zigomir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh food at normal prices”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Most of the affordable everyday restaurants in Ljubljana have huge menus with very generic food. This place is one of the rare few that mostly provides just daily menus based on currently available ingredients (at least that's what they're pitching). The owners post daily offers on their Facebook page.

We occasionally have work lunches there and we're always very satisfied. The prices are quite low considering the quality of the food, the place may not be very fancy, but feels kinda homey.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mzgajner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marley & Me also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Marley & Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing