We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely-jubbly in Ljubljana” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely-jubbly in Ljubljana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We absolutely love this hotel. Have visited Slovenia twice, and stayed here on the way in and the way out - both times. It's a beautiful aristocratic mansion - lovingly decorated, with heaps of style. It has a warm ambience, with huge elegant flowers, a 'snug' with free liqueurs - and last time there was even a smell of baking in the air when we arrived in the evening, and they brought 'complimentary croissants' to our room. The suites are beyond enormous (bigger than our London home!), with high ceilings, comfy sofas, often C17th frescoes and extra rooms - and once, even a piano. True, it's a little quirky (unlike the standard faceless luxury of big city minimalism), but that gives it character. It suits the lovely nature of Ljubljana perfectly - is great value if you choose your days well - and I can't imagine why anyone would stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Go for the poshest suites (they are periodically very good value) - even if you have to wiggle aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewSection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us and maybe will return for second adventure in Ljubljana. In any case, please feel free to contact us, we would be happy to make your stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    123
    36
    25
    13
See reviews for
77
177
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

great experience, in the center of the town, little hard to reach by car and the navigator doesn't really help.
Once we found the hotel (3 colleagues) we had 3 different types of room, i must say one of of 3 was not so good.
i do recommend the place for 2 or 3 night maximum over that can be boring.
Overall the palace is an excellent palace, beautiful and helpful staff.
will go back again anytime

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianfranco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us and maybe will return for second adventure in Ljubljana. We are terribly sorry for navigation problems you had to deal with. We understand that one cannot change the experiences in the past, however, would be truly delighted for an opportunity to showcase you the unique historic interiors Antiq Palace offers. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay, pleasant, relaxing and so it meet your expectations of service.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in mid feb and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful and the room was massive. It is in a nice quiet area of Ljubljana and well situated. My only comment is the plumbing in the bathroom left a bit to be desired. What looked like a space age shower cubicle turned out to be a disappointment as the shower heads were coated in limescale the whole thing was somewhat over engineered and the water ran cold about every 3 minutes. The breakfast was very good and I would return to this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed only one night very briefly and even without breakfast. So just a superficial review. Building has a splendid historic feel. Reception staff very welcoming And nice. My room , however, was not so splendid. Nice parquet floor, bed was fine, but soundproofing was zero, very noisy if anybody passed the room. Bathroom equipped with plastic cabin which was adequate but crappy cheap material. In conclusion; nice historic feel and atmosphere, but soso comfort.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank panda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us and maybe will return for second adventure in Ljubljana. We understand that one cannot change the experiences in the past, however, would be truly delighted for an opportunity to showcase you the unique historic interiors Antiq Palace offers. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay, pleasant, relaxing and so it meet your expectations of service.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our stay at the Antiq Palace was wonderful. The rooms were gorgeously furnished. This included a kitchen and dining area. We even had a piano in the room. The living room was large so we invited our friends from Ljubjana for some drinks as there was room to entertain. The breakfast provided was excellent. The staff were very polite and helpful. We will definitely return to this wonderful hotel and beautiful Ljubjana. B & D Toronto

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked a four night stay at the hotel as part of our Christmas holiday 1- 5 January. As my husband and I were travelling with our one year old toddler, night life in bars and restaurants was off the cards and we were keen on picking a hotel where we could watch a DVD with a bottle of wine in the evenings. This was imperative for us and was our guiding principle in making our hotel selection. We were happy to discover an advertisement for Antiq Palace with a room labelled "family suite", with DVD player and plenty of space to relax.
When we got there, we found that we had been most ludicrously assigned a suite with an internal staircase - the kind with gaps between the steps- going from the ground floor hall and bedroom up to the sitting room. As the sitting room was open plan at the top of these stairs and had no door or walls, our toddler could simply have plummeted to his death in minutes. This they had advertised as a "family" suite. Anyone could see straight away it was a death trap and straight away we could not relax. We then found that there was no DVD player as advertised - we had brought DVD films with us and were now stuck housebound in a dangerous suite with no entertainment in the long evenings from 5pm onwards. To cheer ourselves up at one point in our disappointment about the DVD player, we ordered two glasses of wine as room service. Despite being a hotel, and despite it being the festive season ( Christmas ending on 6 January and decorations all over the place), we were informed that there was none as supplies were due to be delivered the next day. A hotel with no wine??
The "family" suite also backed on to a music academy as I discovered one morning when I decided to treat myself to a lie-in and was awoken by the caterwauling of a woman practising operatic singing coming through my open window.
On our third day we were moved to a room on the other side of the building where the opera singing was now replaced in the wee hours by drunken revellers singing outside on the street en route home from the nearby bars. A DVD was located for us on the final night of our stay. All too little too late...The hotel has lovely decor and polite but impotent staff. We had the most basic needs - a "family" suite as advertised, a DVD player as advertised and peace and relaxation. We expected minimal interaction with the hotel staff and were not even breakfasting at the hotel, but we had so much hassle with the many frustrated interactions with them over the above matters.
Antiq Palace trades on its looks and location but the management needs a professional development course. It was an expensive hassle from start to finish.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoystonRolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The entrance is gorgeous with stone steps and colums and hints of great design are a welcome site, the staff were very kind with a change of standard in the accomodation. The room on the first floor was large and generous with lots of character, a balcony overlooking a small courtyard. The bathroom was large. There was several rooms which invited one to sit and enjoy the surrounding. The location was great not being able to get right to the door by car was a bit of a hassel but the staff were prompt in collecting us from the no car perimeter of the area. We did not eat at the hotel but had a peek at breakfast being served and it seemed to be eaten with great relish

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaudiArabia1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#15 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#23 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing