We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel over the summer and booked it on the strength of the reviews here on TA but were disappointed with our stay. Now that we have looked again at the reviews I see a lot of them are written by people with only 1 review, so wondering how accurate they are.
Anyway we were surprised by a number of things with this place. The staff were not polite to us at all and did not offer any help. The room we had was very small which was a real surprise when you read about all the big wonderful rooms here. Our room was so small we had to both get in the same side of the bed! The restoration of the hotel is quite poor, we have stayed in many places like this throughout Europe that are much better done. The breakfast was only cold and not included in the room rate. The wifi hardly worked. I could go on and on about the things that I didn't like but in summary would just say that there are some other options in this lovely city that are much better value and we would recommend staying elsewhere!

Room Tip: I don't know why we ended up with such a small room but ask for a big one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmalaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to express your opinion on your recent stay at the Antiq Palace. Your opinion is of great value to us and will be used as a constructive feed back to further improve our level and quality of services.

We are sincerely sorry to hear about your experience and regret that we were unable to recognise your dissatisfaction at the time, which would have given us an opportunity to attend to your concerns. Please be kindly advised that Antiq Palace features a number of suites of
100 sqm+ as well as selection of smaller rooms, which one can consider of a similar size to standard room categories for other properties in Ljubljana (18-24 sqm). Please be advised that we constantly strive to improve our level of customer service and are very pleased with our kind and attentive team, which until now has never been a subject of a guest complaint. We are respectful of the fact that you are a frequent contributor to the TripAdvisor and your reviews are valued by other fellow travellers, however, it is a difficult task to evaluate other contributors simply by the frequency and amount of the reviews posted.

We would like to thank you for your constructive remarks, which will be taken into consideration and improved upon to ensure that the level of our services meets the expectations of all of our future guests. We are sincerely sorry that during your recent stay we were unable to make your experience more relaxing and enjoyable, however, we hope sincerely that such opportunity becomes available to us in the near future. Should you be planning on returning to Ljubljana in the future please do not hesitate to contact us at a time convenient for you to discuss the ways in which we can make your next stay in Ljubljana more pleasant and satisfactory.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    123
    36
    25
    13
See reviews for
77
177
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I visited the Antiq Palace twice within two months and as a regular traveller I do not often return as I like to experience new hotels.
The reason I returned so quickly is because the Antiq Palace is an outstanding hotel in terms of staff, comfort and design.
The suites are practical yet indulgent and it has the feel of being in a private home while still having ambience and character.
The location is perfect and the envy of others of I met during the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is a jewel. Great location in the old town, in a beautifully renovated palace or mansion. Staff is friendly. Service orientation seems a second nature to them.
Lovely lounge and outdoor seating area. I did not even have time to enjoy the spa as I had already such a great time enjoying the hotel!
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were in Ljubljana for professionnal reasons and the Antiq Palace made great efforts to make our stay perfect. They were very flexible and dedicated to our needs and that could not have been more practical for us.
In addition to that, the rooms are amzingly wide and luxurious, which is a really good point when you stay almost 20 nights as we did.
Location is the best you can imagine in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denioche0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Although we spent only one night in Ljubljana, it was quite special and unforgettable - on the one hand, the city's great vibe, and, on the other, this beautifully designed hotel.
Rooms were very spacious with creative interior design ideas, and the little back garden was a perfect place to have a morning coffee.
However, we were a bit taken aback by the not very welcoming hotel staff. A little bit of warmth and a smile wouldn't hurt:-) Additionally, the hotel needs to improve the quality of the espresso they serve!
Despite this, next time in Ljubljana, we will stay at the same hotel. Hopefully, by the time we go back, they will have improved the coffee and the service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaPTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA Beach
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

One of the great hotels of the world group. Located in the old town very convenient to food and attractions. Staff very accommodating. Had no car so we didn't encounter some of the parking issues mentioned . Had a room not a suite that was large, I would call decor Victorian, bath modern. Very nice breakfast buffet in an equally nice setting. Price seemed fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alphotodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I have visited antiq palace with my family. The hotel was 300 years old. The service was so good. It was a nice room comfortable room. I will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ljubljana. A star.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Loay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#15 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#23 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing