We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location, very good quirky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
214 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, very good quirky hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We only stayed one night, but were so comfortable and well treated that I would have enjoyed staying longer. Great location a block off the river in the historic center, all restaurants, bars and shopping easily within an easy and delightful walk. Our suite of rooms was very large, two bedrooms, a very large living room with fireplace, large bathroom and a kitchen for coffee or to keep a bottle of wine or fruit. The layout of the room and the hotel was quirky but fun. The front desk staff was helpful but stretched thin while we were there. A fine place to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    124
    36
    26
    14
See reviews for
77
177
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Celje, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

A nice place to stay. Very good location. Overall a very nice experience. I liked very much the classical style of the hotel. Will return again when on bisuness trip in Ljubljana... I would reccommend this hotel in the slovenian capital any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this true treasure. From classic designy interior with vaulted ceilings, and cobble stone courtyard to nice breakfast and service. Room wise I recommend to go for superior. I had a smaller room under the roof, which was also nice and a bit arty but the superior rooms, which I wanted to have a look at are really very nice. If you look for a small luxury place to stay with historic charme and very private this is a place to go. It is also walking distance to everything in the old town (actually 30 seconds from the river). I would come back anytime.

Room Tip: Take a superior room or a bigger suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebullers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in many SLH properties in the past and this falls far, far below,their standards. Stayed two nights in early June. We were in an apartment on the second floor. No opportunity to sleep, heard all of the hall noise and the street noise. They began street construction before 7am, on a Sunday!

Breakfast , selection was poor, they were out of basics and service was just sad! Only after three complaints and a request for extra towels to mop up the water was the shower drain repaired. I was concerned re the electrical system as loose cords and plates were everywhere. Cleanliness, no.

On the plus side, the staff were quite pleasant.

The overall impression is that the hotel has run out of money before they have restored the property. Free glass of sherry and a piece of chocolate do not compensate. By the way, that is typical of an SLH property.

And yes, impossible to find, but convenient to the Old Town

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank desertjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We were sincerely sorry to learn about your dissatisfaction with our services and the inconvenience caused to you by the temporary maintenance fault in your suite.

In light of the EuroBasket tournament taking place in Ljubljana in September 2013, most of the Ljubljana Old Town areas were under construction during the busy summer months with the main aim to improve the local infrastructure for the visitors to come. Unfortunately part of the construction was taking place on the Novi Trg square located just a stone-throw away from the Antiq Palace and some of the street-facing suites, in spite of the soundproofing ,were subject to sporadic and yet increased noise levels from the works carried out outside. We are however pleased to inform you the maintenance faults you were highlighting were resolved promptly after and the Novi Trg square became a popular location for a number of cultural events in Ljubljana.

We sincerely appreciate your experience and high regard of other SLH properties as a seasoned traveller and hence would be grateful for the opportunity to turn your experience of the Antiq Palace around. We look forward to hearing from you about your next visit to Ljubljana to discuss the ways in which we would make your trip pleasant, relaxing and memorable.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights after advance purchase months earlier. Had to move rooms after first night when local pop concert kept us awake for hours and our room had no sound insulation. There's also no cooling which was surprising and we had 3 sweltering nights. The plumbing made a shocking clunking noise and despite the enormous size of the suite,the bathroom was tiny and poorly equipped.
The staff do their best to help but this place would be better as a museum than a hotel. For what you get it is way overpriced....we would have left after the first night if we hadn't already paid for the entire stay.....very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wineandfoodnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your time taken to share your experience of the Antiq Palace. We were sincerely sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused to you during your stay both by the temporary maintenance fault as well as the performances and concerts taking place in the close vicinity of the Antiq Palace as part of the Festival Ljubljana summer programme.

This year Ljubljana has experienced unusually high temperatures in the summer period, which caused a certain level of discomfort to some of our guests, which are generally used to staying in the suites with an in-built air-conditioning units. Due to the authentic features such as cca 0,8m original thick walls) and the layout of the Antiq Palace, which was built in 16th century, we are unfortunately unable to fit all of our suites with an in-built unit however are working on alternative solutions to make our guests stay more pleasant.

We were sincerely sorry to learn about your dissatisfaction only from the current review and would have been delighted to attend to your needs and concerns at the time of your stay. Should such opportunity be still available to us – we sincerely look forward to hearing from you about your next trip to Ljubljana to discuss the ways in which we can make your next stay with us pleasant, comfortable and enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,

Antiq Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I booked the hotel well in advance. The hotel is nice and is very close to the historic district. I was expecting a SLH standards with charm and nice decoration.
Instead we got a Suite that far from being an upgrade resulted in an impersonal apartment with lack of furniture, too big for us yet uncomfortable. No stand for the suitcases, no desk for laptop work and no towels on the separate toilette.
Looks like the management has redone the rooms of the apartments area, but they are unfinished.
Other unfavorable details were that bath towels were decolored, different in patterns and sizes with little holes on them presumably got in the thousands laundry cycles they might have gone thru.
Last but not least, a small plush dragon toy left on the bed with a sign "buy me for only 12 euros" was more from a Disney discount Motel than a 5 star Hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a couple be sure they give you a classic room full furniture. If they offer an "upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eduardo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We value your opinion greatly and will use your constructive remarks to further improve the level of our services. We would like to thank you for your kind appraisal of the friendliness of our staff as well as the unique ambience of the Antiq Palace, which dates to early 16th century and enjoys a convenient and premium location in the heart of the Old Town centre of Ljubljana.

We sincerely regret that our team was not able to recognise your dissatisfaction with the occupied suite at the time of your stay, what could have possibly given us the opportunity to turn your experience around. In light of the full occupancy of the Antiq Palace on the day of your arrival your reservation was upgraded to the Duplex Suite (120 sqm), which unfortunately due to minor maintenance flaws you have mentioned did not meet your expectations of the SLH property. Please be kindly advised that Antiq Palace features over 13 spacious suites of more modern décor (as the one you were staying in ) and historic suites, each of unique layout and design, which have been renovated in the style that would depict and highlight its original purpose and that is the aristocratic residence from 16th century.

We have taken all of your remarks regarding the technical aspects of the suites into consideration and have made several improvements to the quality of finishing, tiling as well as the storage in the bathroom areas. Furthermore several improvements were made on the matter of regular maintenance checks as well as staff’s efficiency and prompt reaction to resolving any possible inconvenience caused due to a temporary maintenance malfunction.

Please be kindly advised that the souvenir or the plush dragon placed in each of the suites, is an official mascot of Ljubljana depicted on the Ljubljana’s coat of arms as well is most known by the infamous Dragon Bridge. The souvenir is not a compulsory item for purchase, which is also mentioned on the leaflet attached to it. The souvenir you are referring to is also available for purchase at number of tourist information centres in Ljubljana and was nothing but a consideration on our end for the guests, who have very little time to visit the city and take any memories with them to share with the members of their families and friends. We sincerely apologise if at any point our gesture came across as offensive or not-suitable for a property of our calibre.

We regret sincerely for not being able to recognise your dissatisfaction with certain aspects and details at the time of your stay at the Antiq Palace, which could have possibly given us an opportunity to turn your experience around. Should such opportunity become available to us we kindly ask you to contact us at a time convenient for you to discuss the ways in which we can make your next stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights here in June. Having booked a 25 square metre "business room"' we were surprised to be shown to a 5 room suite beautifully furnished with plush antique couches and chandeliers. It was explained that the hotel is still in the process of acquiring all apartments in the building and only have two business rooms, so upgrades are automatic. Fantastic, at EUR 165 a night! Real luxury. It is a small hotel and as such does no have a restaurant or bar, but is well located on the edge of the old it's with all restaurants, sights, etc. within easy walk. The breakfast is opulent, service is high. Little features, such as a tray of traditional Slovenia night caps, or chocolates and other treats, adorn the common areas.

Not sure how my experience would have been if the "business" room was available, but with the upgrade, it was a special stay indeed!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Torbek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#23 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
3.7 mi away
G Design Hotel
G Design Hotel
#12 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing