We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel thanks to a Tripadvisor family package, otherwise we probably couldn't have afforded it. We stayed at a 2-bedroom apartment, 100 square meters. Very spacious, bright and clean; has 2 bedrooms, living room, kitchenette and large bathroom with separate shower and bath tub. The hotel is beautifully furnished; service was good though not very professional as others commented before me. Breakfast is lovely.
If you come with a car, don't try to find the hotel. You will need to call them and set a meeting place and they will let you drive into the pedestrian area where the hotel is. Hotel parking costs 30 euros per car per day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 445 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

Let me start by saying that this hotel has a lot of potential, but does need a lot of work/improvements and "finishing touches" before I could rate this any higher.

The hotel is a bit strange mix of large apartments put into disguise of an ordinary hotel. It is located in a very good position in the pedestrian zone in city central, and the building is old. Both of these major features have good and bad sides. For the location, you can easily access everything by just walking 2-3 minutes, and the nearest car park outside the pedestrian zone is not that far either (also quite cheap, the one south of the hotel, between hours of 19-07 it costs only a flat rate on 1.8 eur, so MUCH cheaper than the hotel's daily rate of 30 eur if you keep the car nearby only for the night time).

But the location brings in also noise from the street. Our room (7) was located in 2nd story, just above the hotel main entrance. While the street below is not a large one, and walking-only, there is a considerable amount of noise during evening and night from the nearby clubs (loud music) and people walking past away from the city center (loud shouting/talking etc) - even in weekdays but of course worst in weekends... While the walls are very thick, the windows are are not, and they let in a lot of noise.

Another MAJOR issue with our room was that it was not air conditioned and it was HOT. Outside temperature during day climbed to 31-32C and while our room had direct sunlight only during morning hours (8-12 let's say) and, as mentioned, the old building walls are thick, the heat still gets in and I would recon the bedroom temperature was at least 26C. And due to the noise from the street cooling down during night by opening the windows was not an option at all. I really do not like to wake up in a puddle of my own sweat at 4 am.

The hotel had provided in the bedroom a rather cheap looking cooling fan, which didn't cool much but just rotated the air around, and that fan system also kept a relatively loud (and uneven) noise even at the lowest setting, so wasn't really comfortable to use that either. In these southernly regions somekind of fixed airconditioning system with room temperature adjustment possibility is mandatory and expected, and I just cannot believe they are selling such rooms with such prices without such a self-given feature (and being in an old - renovated - building is no excuse of that)!

The first thing for a hotel is to get a good night's sleep. For that we need a good bed (got it!), quiet room (no!), dark room (yes!) and a resonable temperature, which the quest can adjust (not here!). If the night's sleep has been bad, all other aspects of the hotel are irrelevant..

After commenting to the heat issues to the staff after first night, they tried to enhance the cooler fan but with no luck - several times. During our 7 night stay we finally got switched to another room for the last 2 nights - I did actually consider leaving this place alltogether and going into another hotel. This new room (12) was totally different in these aspects. Located in the top floor it had no noise to bedroom whatsoever, adjustable temperature from the a/c (cheap and simple device, but it works), and still the good and comfy bed too - slept well there.

Our original "room" was about 75 sqm and while it had the space, it lacked in decor and details. The living room for example looked extremely empty with just a single painting hanging on the walls and little furnishing compared to the size of the room, and same story in kitchen (who puts a piano in kitchen by the way?). Looked to me like half of the furniture had been sold, or not arrived yet at all .. Though everything you needed (table to work, sofa, TV ..) were there, but the overall feeling was still like being in a half-finished empty room. Needs some plants, artwork or something to fill it up a bit...

The room had also a generally undermaintained feel as some of the tables/chairs were wobbly (due to uneven floor perhaps, but still .. balancing them takes 2 minutes!), the wall paintwork had cracks in all 3 rooms and actually in one corner of kitchen very large parts of the paint/plaster had cracked and dropped to the floor (~5x5 cm pieces). Does not give a 4-star hotel feeling at all. Would be understandable if this was an old hotel, but to my understanding it has been in operation just for a year or so...

However, it's nice to have a kitchen (large fridge!). There was also a microwave, freezer, dishwaser and cooker, but a very limited amount of any kitchen tools (knifes, forks etc OK, but only one tea spoon, no frying pan, and no juice glasses for example!). If you were really to cook anything that is.... The freezer and microwave did the trick for our basic snack needs between restaurant meals (however the other room, 12, did not have a freezer nor a microwave - just a small fridge and regular oven.).

Same lack of attention to detail regarding actual daily living in the rooms continued in the bathrooms, which had ample space, but no real storage space for your bathroom items (just a very small shelf that couldn't hold anything much), nor any place to hang or put down the hand towel for example (just a simple hook to the wall please, costs 2 euros?!). Same in shower - no shelf or any place to put down your (or hotel's) shampoo etc, except in shower floor?! Same minor, but annoying, issues in our second room where the toilet seat would not stay up at all, since the whole bowl was installed too close to the wall, and there was no toilet paper holder of any kind, so a stack of toilet paper was just laying around next to the wash basin. These minor mistakes are innocent but annoying, and do not help at all in making the facility look professional... (someone of the management should really actually live in the rooms for several days to see all these minor details)

The bathroom did have a jacuzzi which is a nice thing. Also the hotel provides free access to their, very small, spa section - which is basically a jacuzzi, shower and three different saunas. It has to be booked in advance but it will be then in private use for your room guests, and with a bottle of wine ordered with that, it's a nice place to sit and soak for a while after a walk in the city.

The staff is helpful and speak good English, and things like table reservations worked out without problems thru them. Finding the hotel (what others have commented) was also not a problem since I asked the hotel to pick us up at the airport. However at breakfast the staff did not keep the buffet very well supplied and I found out that very often we found lacking very trivial items like juice glasses, cereal bowls and such (why not just stack up more glasses instead of 4-5 every time, so they would not run out all the time?!), and same with some of the food too. Same repeated on several mornings, so this needs definite improvement. Otherwise I did also find the breakfast offerings too limited - I see that it's a small hotel, and they do not wish to waste it. But I recently visited another 12 room bouqet hotel where the breakfast was a bit of an á la carte style and they prepared everything just for you - and it was magnificent compared to this one where they had only very limited selection of (cold) items available...

So overall I feel that it's not a 4* hotel if you do not get one of the "good" rooms. If we would have been in the room #12 from the beginning my rating would have definitely been a very positive. But being stuck in the noisy and hot room, was definitely not positive in that sense. And not worth the money either in that case, since their list prices for a twin room seem to be around 250+ eur a night which is ridiculous for any regular hotel. Of course we, and I suppose anyone else, did not pay this much in reality, but their list prices seem to be off the scale.... I have a feeling that the hotel has been put together in too much of a hurry - the quality difference in practise between rooms is too high, the rooms feel underfurnished, there are lots of tiny details wrong etc. and helpful staff and good location cannot top these shortcomings.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SPu-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave your review of your experience of the Antiq Palace. Your opinion is of great value to us and will be used as a constructive feed back to further improve our level and quality of services.

We would like to also thank you for your kind comments regarding the friendliness of our personnel as well as the unique and convenient location Antiq Palace enjoys in the heart of Ljubljana Old Town Centre. In credit to its central position and the number of cultural events taking place in Ljubljana during the peak tourist season the Old Town centre becomes somewhat more lively and hence we apologise sincerely for the inconvenience caused to you by the increased noise levels, which unfortunately could not be controlled on our end in some of the street facing suites. However, we understand that with the change of your room on the following day of your stay this did not cause any further concern.
We have taken all of your remarks regarding the technical aspects of the suites VII and XII into consideration and have made several improvements to the quality of finishing, tiling as well as the storage in the bathroom areas. Furthermore several improvements were made on the matter of regular maintenance checks as well as staff’s efficiency and prompt reaction to resolving any possible inconvenience caused due to a temporary maintenance malfunction.
In light of the heat wave which hit Ljubljana this summer, we have been experiencing an unusually high temperature levels. For this matter we have ensured that at least 50% of the suites and rooms at the Antiq Palace have an in-built air-conditioning units (such as in the Suite XII) and for the historic suites, where once cannot make any “structural” changes to the original features, we have set-up fans and portable coolers. Until now the historic suites maintained pleasant and cool temperatures throughout the year in light of the authentic insulation capabilities which allow for the 0,8m walls to contain the warmth in the colder months and “breathe” and circulate cooler air in the summer months. Unfortunately, due to the rather extreme conditions were not entirely prepared for, some of our guests, who enjoy rooms where the cooler temperatures are maintained by the A/C unit, had experienced certain levels of discomfort which we have attempted to resolve in the best possible manner. We are now working on improving this technical matter in the rest of the suites to ensure that by next year all of our rooms and suites have a technical solution to maintenance of the pleasant temperatures.
We are sincerely sorry that during your recent stay we were unable to make your experience more relaxing and enjoyable, however, we hope sincerely that such opportunity becomes available to us in the near future. Should you be planning on returning to Ljubljana in the future please do not hesitate to contact us at a time convenient for you to discuss the ways in which we can make your next stay in Ljubljana more pleasant and satisfactory.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night and was VERY impressed by this gem of a hotel. The staff are very kind, helpful and good at english. The breakfast buffet was exquisite and the whole place just has a wonderful atmosphere to it. There is a music conservatory next door, so be prepared for practicing students - I enjoyed this touch though!

I you appreciate detailed decor you will love this place - attention has definitely been paid to all areas. The location is great too - easy walking distance to the castle, old part of town and we even walked up to the bus station when returning to the airport.

It can be a bit difficult to find the entrance though - it's a big black door with a discrete sign saying Antiq Palace.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CPHDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay as a young married couple with our 1 year old. We requested a suite suitable for travelling with a young infant and we were given a first floor suite that was on larger than our 3 bed house at home. Breakfast was lovely and the location was perfect. The staff were very helpful and the room very comfortable.

I would uttelry recomend this hotel.

Steve from London

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wookie-Moses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here several nights during the winter. It was in the low season but we found the hotel, staff and all to be quite enjoyable. We got a suite which was spacious and very comfortable. THe staff was helpful and had some great restaurant suggestions in the area. We also must laude the staff and management for their flexibility as they allowed us to depart early without penalty due to a family emergency. We would certainly return for both business or pleasure if we were in the neighborhood.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had problems locating the place due to recent changes in that part of the city but upon one call the hotel staff was able to locate us and guide us to their hotel. The rooms were well designed with lots of space but air-conditioning was provided only in 1 bedroom and living room but 2nd bedroom had no air conditioning but did have a fan. The location is very central and a prefect place to walk around in the evening, full of cafe's and restaurants. The staff was very attentive to all our details and requirements which made our overall stay at the hotel very wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexmeccti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We selected the hotel for a two night stay in the city based on the great reviews on Tripadvisor and yes, it is in a beautiful building with spacious suites, comfortable beds, a pleasant courtyard and impressive flower arrangements in the foyer. However, our stay was spoilt by the noise from nearby pubs / restaurants. Our suite (no VIII) was at the back of the hotel and did not have any aircon as far as we could determine. It was a really hot night so we opened the windows. We could not sleep at all - loud music and drunken singing / shouting continued until after 4AM. Needless to say, none of the positive attributes of the hotel could make up for this.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CB404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We value your opinion greatly and will use your constructive remarks to further improve the level of our services. We would like to thank you for your kind appraisal of the location as well as ambiance and interior design of the Antiq Palace, which dates to early 16th century and enjoys a convenient and premium location in the heart of the Old Town centre of Ljubljana.

In credit to being centrally positioned and in light the number of cultural events taking place in Ljubljana during the peak tourist season ,the Old Town centre becomes somewhat more lively and hence we apologise sincerely for the inconvenience caused to you by the increased noise levels, which unfortunately could not be controlled on our end in some of the street facing suites. We regret to have learned about the inconvenience caused to you by the increased noise levels from your feedback as our helpful team would have been happy to suggest some of the higher floor suites for you, which are not affected in the same way as well as have soundproof windows.

In light of the heat wave which hit Ljubljana this summer, we have been experiencing an unusually high temperature levels. For this matter we have ensured that at least 50% of the suites and rooms at the Antiq Palace have an in-built air-conditioning units (such as the higher floor suites) and for the historic suites as the one you were staying in, where once cannot make any “structural” changes to the original features, we have set-up fans and portable coolers. Until now the historic suites maintained pleasant and cool temperatures throughout the year in light of the authentic insulation capabilities which allow for the 0,8m walls to contain the warmth in the colder months and “breathe” and circulate cooler air in the summer months. Unfortunately, due to the rather extreme conditions were not entirely prepared for, some of our guests, who enjoy rooms where the cooler temperatures are maintained by the A/C unit, had experienced certain levels of discomfort which we have attempted to resolve in the best possible manner. We are now working on improving this technical matter in the rest of the suites to ensure that by next year all of our rooms and suites have a technical solution to maintenance of the pleasant temperatures.

We regret to hear that the increase noise level and the absence of the air-conditioning have had a negative effect on your stay and caused severe inconvenience. However, we sincerely hope that we will get an opportunity to turn your stay experience of the Antiq Palace around on your next visit to Ljubljana. Should such opportunity become available to us we kindly ask you to contact us at a time convenient for you to discuss the ways in which we can make your next stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#25 of 31 in Ljubljana
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Urban Hotel
Urban Hotel
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mrak
Hotel Mrak
#18 of 31 in Ljubljana
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: $104 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing