We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, A little Hard to find if you aren't familar with Ljubljana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, A little Hard to find if you aren't familar with Ljubljana”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed ant the Antiq Palace from the 24-28 May. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel can be a little hard to find because it is on a street that car traffic is prohibited and a taxi drops you off about 2 blocks from the hotel. The room I was in was small but it was a junior suite. The buffet breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSacauskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    131
    37
    27
    14
See reviews for
77
188
26
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Difficult to locate - a big black door with a very small, discrete sign but it's the hallmark of Antiq Palace - it strives to be private and discrete so it's guests can enjoy peace and quite. It is in a lovely location right in the centre of town with lots of restaurants nearby.
Staff were very helpful and approachable.
We stayed in a two bedroom suite that was nearly as big as our whole house! The beds were beautiful as was all the linen and towels. Bathrooms were spacious. Breakfast was ok but fresh fruit and more 'hot' choices other than boiled eggs would have made it better. Perhaps replacing the champagne - yes, champagne for breakfast - with more food choices!
There was a small gym and sauna that you could reserve and use privately.
Free internet use available.
The courtyard was beautiful and there were amazing flower arrangements in the small reception and dining room. The whole ambience of the hotel was warm and peaceful.
Overall it was a lovely place to stay and enhance our love affair with beautiful Ljubljana.
Drawbacks - our suite had a kitchen which would have been great but it was barely equipped e.g. one saucepan. Little cutlery, not even dishwashing detergent even if there were enough kitchen utensils to wash.
Our room overlooked the front of the hotel. On the nights we stayed in was noisy to very noisy early in the morning with loud people walking past the hotel. Triple glazing the windows would help.

Room Tip: Stay in a room away from the street which should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozza08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Hard to find & have to walk yourself & your luggage there about 3-400 metres from vehicle drop off point as road closed to traffic. However once there it's a gorgeous, peaceful, private and lovely "home away from home" - literally as a suite is the size of a good 1 bedroom apartment, including kitchen with dishwasher, large living room with equally large sofa, and huge bedroom. Great location 2-3 minutes downhill to old city and the river, with great cafes, shops, walks etc. Apparently 2 old homes combined into this hotel. Beautiful ambience, understated elegance, lovely courtyards, very nice breakfast. Staff recommended 2 wonderful restaurants 2 blocks away (can see hotel's roof from them): Juliya for lunch (Stari trg 9; juliyarestaurant@masicom.net) & Valvas'Or for dinner (Stari trg 7; www.valvasor.net). Great coffee cafe beside Valvas'Or.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The only difficult thing about this hotel is finding it. The extremely discrete facade next to the national music conservatory is not giving away much information about the great interior.

As the price for an upgrade was reasonable, we booked a luxury double room. Normally this means you get a sofa or a nice view. Here it meant a fully functional apartment suite with a well equipped kitchen with dining area, separate bedroom and a large living room. So two thumbs up for great value!

The breakfast didn't have a huge selection, but was really nicely presented and had a very luxurious feel to it - champagne and fresh fruit, cereals, fresh bread and spreads. No plastic cup jam in sight!

The hotel had a spa which one can book privately, but bring shorts, no nudity allowed.

As mentioned the hotel shares a wall with the national music conservatory, so if waking up to beautiful classical music sound like a bad idea - ask for a room away from the conservatory.

The location is ideal - second row from the river, close to everything - so now worries there.

If I were to be critical, there were two (to me inferior) things I could mention: The warm water was not very stable in my room, went from warm to lukewarm, then back to warm. Also the bathroom door had a window in it, looking right at the toilet - so no privacy there... It just seems like a strange solution to me - why put a window in there?? Also, some of the furniture in our suite should be reconsidered, as they did not compliment the very nice classical theme of the room.

All in all, a great hotel – absolutely no problem recommending it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the conservatory if you don't like waking up to classical music. Upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larsvedoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is an excellent accommodation choice for those visiting Ljubljana...the suites are massive and clean, the breakfast room and bar area is sophisticated and elegant and the location is perfect. A great place to stay and a wonderful city to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DL480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our suite was 100 meters, all very clean. People were very friendly. The Hotel is a beautiful old building, very cozy.
The only problem is the parking, we have to paid and not very secure.
We seem to be a fairy tale. The hotel is within the historic center with many cafés and restaurants around.Beside the hotel had a music conservatory, lovely if a few days.
The reception was very charming.
Enchanting!
This hotel should be in first place!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lluviaxlluvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelley
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Excellent location, superb suite, sensational staff, the breakfast exceeded any other we had on our travels - we rate this hotel as the very best we stayed in on our travels. Added to this is the interesting history of the hotel. The Concierge Sasha was outstanding - nothing was too much trouble and the advice given was really helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Ljubljana and this was in no small part due to our very positive experience in the amazing and unique hotel. The value for money was excellent. We have already recommended this hotel to several people.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#12 of 31 in Ljubljana
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#24 of 31 in Ljubljana
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing