We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed in”
Review of Lesar Hotel Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lesar Hotel Angel
Ranked #1 of 58 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I cannot describe how delighted I was to have accidentally stumbled into this boutique hotel. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and accommodating. Each room is different and beautiful, extremely clean and comfortable. The pictures available on the site are not deceitful. It is located in the heart of Ljubljana, location could not be more perfect. I will be staying here on my next trip to Ljubljana

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jelena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Lesar Hotel Angel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 350 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

I cannot but join previous reviewers in their praise for this little boutique hotel in the heart of Ljubliana; it is one of the most romantic places I have seen and definitely in my top 3 of "would love to go back"; tasteful and cozy, sweet and charming, peaceful and quiet and so chic it can make you fall in love with it; the staff is most accommodating, the breakfast generous and the fireplace, just another touch of romance; my boyfriend and I enjoyed a room at the top floor, with a lovely view over the red roofs of the buildings around and a spot of the castle; the bathroom has a cute window just above the bath which overlooks the same red roofs and the castle; it gives a cute, refreshing twist to the idea of taking a shower and enjoying an amazing view at the same time; do not bring your kids with you, for the other guests' sake but also for yours; this is designed and created just for you and for your whoever makes you happy to live the fairytale you may have always dreamed of; and Ljubliana as a setting for that is definitely a great choice. warmly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandriciul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Large and comfortable room...only things to be picky about were: no (or little) hot water in the shower at peak time, two single duvets on the large king size bed (not sure why?), Heineken only in the mini-bar (I didn't come to Slovenia to drink Dutch beer?) and temperature controls in the room which don't allow you to cool the room down below 18C (so it was quite hot at night).

On the whole though, the location is excellent (in the Old town near the foot of the Castle) and the place is sophisticated. The breakfast is also very good.

This is a very pleasant place to stay and from what I've read it is most likely the best option in Ljubljana (when taking location into account as well as all other factors)

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 8, was spacious and comfortable (though involves climbing stairs)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarcDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It has been a long time since I stayed in a hotel with such personal and effortless charm. In fact the first impression of the slightly tucked away (and impossibly tiny) reception desk was the only aspect that was less than delightful. Upon arrival, the manager on duty took the time to show me the dining room's free 24 hour coffee spread, fireplace and the cozy bar, before taking me to an extremely well decorated and well-lit junior suite on the top floor.

The location is completely ideal - a fairly non description door on a square that could serve as a movie set, without the tourists. More than ever before, strolling the surrounding medieval streets gave me a sense of total vindication that I avoided the business hotel across town and did a little research on tripadvisor. I was left with one last indication of service on the final morning - the phone rang as I was slow to get up (after breakfast time had past) just double checking that I didn't want the kitchen to cook me up my daily requested portion of eggs.

I would sincerely return here on any and all visits to Ljubljana.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lesar Hotel Angel is a lovely boutique hotel located in the historic district of Ljubljana, pretty close to the castle and to the commercial district. As parking is forbidden in the area the hotel provides authorizations to leave cars nearby. However, at 15 € per day it doesn't come cheap. Staff helped us taking our luggage to the hotel and to our room which was quite helpful. The hotel is located on Gornji Trg, one of Ljubljana's most beautiful squares. The hotel has been carefully renovated keeping many original features of the building intact such as stairs and external windows. A lot of attention has been given to internal decoration with nice combinations of colors (mostly soft ones) and the presence of decorative objects in many parts of the hotel. Our room (number 9) and the bathroom were quite spacious and very quiet overlooking a small courtyard. Free wireless internet in the whole facility is a plus. In the breakfast room tea, coffee and pastries are available the whole day, a very nice attention. Good breakfast with a large selection of breads, juices and cereals. There is no doubt that Lesar Hotel Angel is a very good option for staying in Ljubljana and I highly recommend it.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jean Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent two nights at the Angel Hotel in late October and were very pleased with our stay. When we booked the only room available was a Classic room which seems to be the smallest room type (room #6). But we found it quite adequate and certainly not cramped. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large and the shower great. Room 6 was only up a flight and a half of stairs so if that is a concern this might be a good choice. And the stairs are steep! The first morning we were there there were only a few other people so breakfast was prepared individually (scrambled eggs and sausages). There was also fresh fruit, cereal, and various pastries. The second morning the hotel was full and the eggs were in a large chafing dish but all the other choices were available.

We found the staff to be fine but not quite as helpful as others have found them. For instance, on check-in we were not given a map nor were we given any suggestions for restaurants. And when we arrived our reception was actually rather cool. We arrived at 1:30 and had booked a parking space with the room. We were told check-in was 2 PM so we were early. We were told we would have to go to a parking lot and pay and return later. Really??? We're a half hour early and we're sent away?? But we went, found a nice place for lunch and returned after 2 PM. The receptionist was much better in attitude then and did come help us bring our luggage in (by now it was raining) and showed us the parking space. But her initial reception was not good.

Parking is a huge problem in the city and one would think the hotels would work with the city to provide some solutions. Angel Hotel has two spaces that cost 15 E a night. We had one the first night but it was not availlble the second night. But on Saturday and Sunday night you can park for free in a neighborhood quite close to the hotel---the same street where the hotel's spaces are located. So if you're there on a weekend that is a great alternative---but check with the hotel to make sure it is still true when you visit.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, thought the location was great and would recommend the Angel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmob100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, and it was the perfect location for visiting the town. Quiet hotel, excellent, high-quality breakfast spread, along with afternoon coffee/tea and snacks. So many amazing restaurants just outside the door for dinners, and the major sites are well within walking distance. Large rooms, very clean, big flat screen tv and a strong wifi connection. Comfortable beds with very warm comforter.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaAthena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lesar Hotel Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lesar Hotel Angel

Address: Gornji trg 7, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range: $119 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lesar Hotel Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LESAR HOTEL ANGEL was built in the centre of Old Ljubljana and resides in a large medieval house, where tradition and a classic look join the modern trends and approaches of topmost hospitality. Good knowledge of the city's history enabled us to shape the living space in a way that allows our esteemed guests not only to experience a pleasant and serene stay, but also feel first hand the charm of the life led by the old townspeople who once inhabited this place. In this way, we wish to join the old and traditional with the contemporary and modern.The hotel prides itself on its 500 m2 private garden that ascends the slope of the Castle Hill directly underneath the castle tower, from where a marvellous view of Ljubljana and its surroundings may be enjoyed. The garden has an exit to the Cat's Path, one of the popular routes towards the Ljubljana Castle.We wish to offer our guests a luxury stay in a calm leisure or working environment, where they can enjoy gourmet cuisine and spend time in perfect privacy in the very centre of Ljubljana, be it in the premises of the hotel or in the pleasant hotel garden. Due to the location of the old town centre, the hotel is a perfect vantage point for various activities in Ljubljana and its vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lesar Hotel Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing