We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were not disappointed!”
Review of Lesar Hotel Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lesar Hotel Angel
Ranked #1 of 58 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked this hotel based on Trip Adviser reviews and location, and were not disappointed! Booking online was friendly and easy, the arranged airport pickup and drop off were smooth, there was a warm welcome, a comfy room, a great breakfast and excellent location! Ljubljana is a truly beautiful place to visit and Lesar Hotel Angel a wonderful place to base yourself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArealaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Lesar Hotel Angel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 351 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

The hotel is exactly as described in its website, so no surprises there! We were well received, given a map and information about location, town, places to eat. There are robes and slippers in the rooms, free internet, fruits/biscuits/coffee/tea available at all times, a garden area to unwind and a good breakfast. There are stoppers in the large bathroom and the hotel is quiet with comfortable beds. The colours inside the building are nice, there is incense smell at the entrance of the hotel.
Be forewarned that if you are taking a taxi from the train station, please, arrange to be picked up by a taxi through the hotel or call the hotel from the train station. The taxi drivers there are thieves. We paid 18 euros for a trip that should have costed 5 euros. When we left the hotel arranged for a taxi and it cost us only 5 euros.
Also, if you pay cash the hotel gives a discount. If we had known that we would have brought more cash and paid it so rather than by credit card.
The hotel is perfectly located near all atractions, just minutes by taxi from the train station and in the historical part of the city where there many cafés and restaurants. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: Although room number 1 has no view, it is quiet, large, with large bathroom with bathtub and is one...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband a friend and I booked this hotel at the last minute. What luck! The location was great- convenient (walking) to what we wanted to see and do and eat. The rooms are clean, large and modern with touches of traditional Slovene elements. Breakfast was in a lovely large dining room and was plentiful and varied. The price was also a good value. I expect us coming back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I loved this hotel. From the warm welcome on reception to the unexpectedly spacious room on the top floor with rooftop views of the old town, I was extremely happy from the moment I arrived. Yes, the odd thing could have been improved (having a sloping ceiling in the shower is interesting!) but I think a 5* star review is about the experience and this place definitely deserves 5 stars. Delicious breakfast, great location, lovely furnishing, nice 'touches' (like the water and chocolate, and bowls of fruit to help yourself from throughout the hotel) and - most importantly of all - I slept for a solid eight hours...bliss.

Room Tip: No. 3 - it's a long way to go with your luggage but so worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLass32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had a lovely two night stay at the Angel hotel. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Hotel was really well appointed & very clean and tidy. The provision of refreshments in the breakfast room was very welcome. Our room was stylish and calming. Highly recommended stay

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesswhite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Maybe the effusive TripAdvisor reviews left me expecting too much, but I was a tiny bit disappointed with this hotel. Make no mistake, it is undeniably lovely. It has a charming location in the Old Town, maybe three minutes' walk from the first of the little bars lining the Ljubljanica river. The area is certainly a much more atmospheric choice than the commercial district to the north, where most of Ljubljana's hotels are.

We were in a Deluxe Double room which had a very comfortable bed, great shower and plenty of space. And the breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I've had in ages. And yet I felt a tiny bit disappointed. The hotel was perfectly fine, but from the lyrical reviews, I expected something utterly extraordinary. People have maybe become slightly too eager to dole out five-star TripAdvisor reviews. It's not the best hotel in the universe. It's just a hotel. A nice hotel, but not something so extraordinary that it will take your breath away.

Nevertheless I would gladly recommend it. As I would all of Ljubljana! It's one of the most enchanting little cities you'll ever visit.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a Deluxe Double, but I'm not entirely certain it was that much better than a r...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThereGoesDeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

An ideal location for exploring the beautiful old town, and just yards from the pedestrian spinal street lined with restaurants, some of them very good. Very limited car parking, and no restaurant. It is in an old townhouse, on four floors without a lift. Recently done up, very stylishly. Our room (no 3) was in the roof and very spacious, with lovely views over the rooftops. Very comfortable bed and very quiet (except when heavy rain fell). Friendly staff. Free wifi. Breakfast OK but not outstanding, with a tiered stand of obstinately unripe and entirely help yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnHCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,068 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lesar Hotel Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lesar Hotel Angel

Address: Gornji trg 7, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range: $118 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lesar Hotel Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LESAR HOTEL ANGEL was built in the centre of Old Ljubljana and resides in a large medieval house, where tradition and a classic look join the modern trends and approaches of topmost hospitality. Good knowledge of the city's history enabled us to shape the living space in a way that allows our esteemed guests not only to experience a pleasant and serene stay, but also feel first hand the charm of the life led by the old townspeople who once inhabited this place. In this way, we wish to join the old and traditional with the contemporary and modern.The hotel prides itself on its 500 m2 private garden that ascends the slope of the Castle Hill directly underneath the castle tower, from where a marvellous view of Ljubljana and its surroundings may be enjoyed. The garden has an exit to the Cat's Path, one of the popular routes towards the Ljubljana Castle.We wish to offer our guests a luxury stay in a calm leisure or working environment, where they can enjoy gourmet cuisine and spend time in perfect privacy in the very centre of Ljubljana, be it in the premises of the hotel or in the pleasant hotel garden. Due to the location of the old town centre, the hotel is a perfect vantage point for various activities in Ljubljana and its vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lesar Hotel Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing