We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, excellent location, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lesar Hotel Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lesar Hotel Angel
Ranked #3 of 55 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
jesswhite27
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, excellent location, great staff”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had a lovely two night stay at the Angel hotel. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Hotel was really well appointed & very clean and tidy. The provision of refreshments in the breakfast room was very welcome. Our room was stylish and calming. Highly recommended stay

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesswhite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    99
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
191
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Maybe the effusive TripAdvisor reviews left me expecting too much, but I was a tiny bit disappointed with this hotel. Make no mistake, it is undeniably lovely. It has a charming location in the Old Town, maybe three minutes' walk from the first of the little bars lining the Ljubljanica river. The area is certainly a much more atmospheric choice than the commercial district to the north, where most of Ljubljana's hotels are.

We were in a Deluxe Double room which had a very comfortable bed, great shower and plenty of space. And the breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I've had in ages. And yet I felt a tiny bit disappointed. The hotel was perfectly fine, but from the lyrical reviews, I expected something utterly extraordinary. People have maybe become slightly too eager to dole out five-star TripAdvisor reviews. It's not the best hotel in the universe. It's just a hotel. A nice hotel, but not something so extraordinary that it will take your breath away.

Nevertheless I would gladly recommend it. As I would all of Ljubljana! It's one of the most enchanting little cities you'll ever visit.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a Deluxe Double, but I'm not entirely certain it was that much better than a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThereGoesDeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

An ideal location for exploring the beautiful old town, and just yards from the pedestrian spinal street lined with restaurants, some of them very good. Very limited car parking, and no restaurant. It is in an old townhouse, on four floors without a lift. Recently done up, very stylishly. Our room (no 3) was in the roof and very spacious, with lovely views over the rooftops. Very comfortable bed and very quiet (except when heavy rain fell). Friendly staff. Free wifi. Breakfast OK but not outstanding, with a tiered stand of obstinately unripe and entirely help yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
436 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

An elegant boutique hotel in the heart of the old town,with 15min.walk to Ljubljana Castle. Our room was quite large with a very comfortable bed with fine linen. The fireplace was a nice touch but not in August. Free
Wi-Fi and flat screen TV with international channels was appreciated.
Buffet breakfast, included, was exceptional. Outstanding service from the staff was first class. The parking in the area is very scarce and expensive, so try to do without the car, maybe at the end of your trip than arrange a transfer to the airport.

Room Tip: Get the lower floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were upgraded to the penthouse suite which made us very lucky and very happy! Room was beautiful with an enormous bathroom and our own private terrace. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is in a pedestrianised area of the old town but really Ljubljana is so small that you can't have a bad location. Wonderfully quiet and peaceful and plenty of great bars and restaurants close by. Breakfast is taken in the lovely front drawing room and there was plenty of fresh choice available. There is a small bar and you can help yourself to free tea and coffee any time.
One thing to bear in mind - if you are staying for longer than a city break here and have a car do email the hotel and prebook the parking - it costs 15 euros a day. The parking space is on a small road about 2 minutes walk away. There are only 2 spaces and if they are full/prebooked then public parking is 30-40 euros a day!
We really would recommend this hotel - beautifully designed and wonderfully located.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our room at Lesar Hotel Angel was one of the finest, if not the finest, rooms I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. This boutique hotel is a beautifully renovated medieval house in the heart of idyllic Ljubljana, with a fantastic central location that also somehow manages to remain quiet and away from the crowds. The welcome was warm, the staff were highly professional, and the hotel gardens were lush, but the unquestionable highlight was our room itself - the master room (number 2, I think), it was immense, with a welcoming lobby, a bathroom that was bigger than most hotel rooms, and a main room that combined an enormous (and marvellously comfortable) bed, several plush seats, and an open fireplace. Our only regret was that we'd visited in summer and not been able to use the fire! Breakfast was mildly underwhelming in comparison to other spreads that we'd enjoyed during our stay in Slovenia, but we may have been unlucky with our timing. It was a rainy Sunday morning, and it seemed that the entire hotel had had a lazy morning and descended upon the breakfast room at exactly the same time. However, the staff showed excellent initiative, seating us at the bar and giving us perfect cappuccini while we waited for a table to be cleared. And, while the variety of the food itself was not outstanding, it was continually refreshed during the time we were seated. While the rain continued outside, we had the perfect meteorological excuse to return to our palatial room - and when the sun came out, we were able to walk from the hotel up to Ljubljana Castle (stunning views) in minutes. For a luxurious, relaxing boutique hotel in a wonderfully manageable capital city, I simply can't imagine a better option...

Room Tip: Master room 2 really must be seen to be believed...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Thanks for our stay it was really marvelous. The beds are Fantastic and very well appointed rooms inside. The staff is very helpful. Hotel is in excellent location for exploring city. Thank you Lesar hotel Angel. We we will be using it more.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldWideTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
979 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
1,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 30 in Ljubljana
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
1,240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#21 of 30 in Ljubljana
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lesar Hotel Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lesar Hotel Angel

Property: Lesar Hotel Angel
Address: Gornji trg 7, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lesar Hotel Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LESAR HOTEL ANGEL was built in the centre of Old Ljubljana and resides in a large medieval house, where tradition and a classic look join the modern trends and approaches of topmost hospitality. Good knowledge of the city's history enabled us to shape the living space in a way that allows our esteemed guests not only to experience a pleasant and serene stay, but also feel first hand the charm of the life led by the old townspeople who once inhabited this place. In this way, we wish to join the old and traditional with the contemporary and modern.The hotel prides itself on its 500 m2 private garden that ascends the slope of the Castle Hill directly underneath the castle tower, from where a marvellous view of Ljubljana and its surroundings may be enjoyed. The garden has an exit to the Cat's Path, one of the popular routes towards the Ljubljana Castle.We wish to offer our guests a luxury stay in a calm leisure or working environment, where they can enjoy gourmet cuisine and spend time in perfect privacy in the very centre of Ljubljana, be it in the premises of the hotel or in the pleasant hotel garden. Due to the location of the old town centre, the hotel is a perfect vantage point for various activities in Ljubljana and its vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lesar Hotel Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing