We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem of a hotel”
Review of Allegro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Allegro Hotel
Ranked #8 of 56 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Little gem of a hotel”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We had a marvellous two nights at Allegro. A warm and courteous welcome from the very helpful reception staff who carried our bags right up to our room. Our room was delightful and characterful, perched right on top of the hotel where you can see the top of the castle tower (we even picked out our room from the splendid view from the tower the following morning!). Air conditioning effective, lovely bathroom, comfortable beds giving an excellent night's sleep. Efficient wifi and lots of plug points for recharging all our batteries.
There is also a beautiful courtyard which I imagine would be great for whiling away a warm evening but we were too busy out and about to try it.
The breakfast was fine and plentiful, and in a lovely converted cellar room, delicious bread and plenty of good coffee (but as I have said before, I am not a coffee connoisseur - as long as it's black and with caffeine, I'm happy)
The hotel is also extremely well situated, near the centre but not in the very noisy street. It backs onto a beautiful old church. The staff recommended a brilliant restaurant just up the road on the same side as the hotel, whose name I can't remember now but other reviews on here have mentioned it. It was perfect for our 30th wedding anniversary meal.
I can't recommend the Allegro highly enough - if you like a unique, hospitable, interesting hotel, this is for you.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    98
    30
    9
    2
See reviews for
43
111
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília
Level Contributor
751 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,986 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

POSITIVE:

The hotel staff deserves special praise! Extremely professional and efficient care, with kindness far above average, making guests feel wanted and welcome. Deserves praise especially Ursa and Luka, who were extremely kind to my children.
Hotel on an exceptional location, on the historical part of the city, in a pedestrian area, close to the principal points of interest.

Comfortable rooms, as well as the bed.

The room is very wide, with 2 bathrooms.
Excellent Wi-Fi.
Breakfast is very good, with fresh fruits and juices.

NEGATIVE:
The hotel does not have a parking place and does not provide a parking place to your car.
Why locate in the area for pedestrian only, we have to walk with suitcases down the street to get to the hotel.
It has no lift.

CONCLUSION:
I really enjoyed and intend to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank MarcioEstrela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you have no map of Slovenia in your GPS (as we discovered in our car), here is a tip to go to this hotel: take the highway exit "Center" then focus on the signs "Ljubljana Grad" (castle) until you reach the Old town.
There is the river, cross the bridge and park your car temporarily on the left (this is the beginning of the pedestrian zone).
The hotel receptionist was very helpful: he took our luggages from the car.
The hotel has 2 private parking places located on the right side of the bridge.
Cost is 10 euros per day.
The hotel is very well located in the old town, you get out and start visiting the touristic points.
As the building is old, the rooms are quite small (at least ours on the 1st floor) and there is no lift.
In our room, there was air conditioning and boiler for tea and instant coffee.
Without asking for, the towels were changed every day.
If the breakfast had been fine, I would have better marked this hotel.
Yet I was disappointed by the breakfast, especially when you pay such a price per night.
There is a very good coffee machine with beans but... at the reception only.
In the breakfast room, there was only a Nescafé machine (instant coffee) and coffee bowl. I tried both and I really disliked the coffee.
Eggs and sausages were pretty cold, despite the candels under the plate.
Pastery and fruit salad were coming from the supermarket.
The second day, my girlfriend and I preferred to go to the café located 20 meters away from the hotel, near the fountain.
There we got for good price a tasteful cake and nice espresso and fruit juice.
If you don't care about breakfast and have 1 day to visit Ljubljana, then go for this hotel as it is again well located.
Otherwise, consider other hotels reviewed in the pedestrian area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghislain V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We got the impression from reading reviews of the Allegro Hotel that it might be an older, mustier sort of hotel; in fact, the hotel was really well-maintained and clean, and our room was great, with fresh fruit on the table to greet us and a cute terrace area in front with some chairs and a table.

The staff at the Allegro was so awesome, as well; just really friendly and down-to-earth and fun to talk to, and they gave us great advice on how to navigate the wonderful town of Ljubljana.

The location is perfect -- a short and pretty easy walk up to the castle from right up the street, and the main old-town street is half a block away.

Probably the only quibble is that the queen-sized bed in the room was really two twin beds (with separate bedding) pushed together, and the bedding itself was a little flimsy; then again, we encountered that in another Slovenia hotel too in Lake Bled so maybe that's just how they do it in Slovenia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
391 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this peaceful hotel. Unfortunately we did not have the room prebooked but the ordinary double room on the first floor front of the building was nice. Very clean and well appointed. The whole hotel is pleasantly quirky with breakfast served in the old cellar and a small central courtyard available for guests. Apparently it used to be home to a group of musicians and the music theme is maintained throughout. It was unusually hot for the time of year (June 2012) but the room a/c unit coped very well to give us a cool night's sleep. The location is in a quiet street in the pedestrian area but a few minutes walk to the central part of this lovely town and all the sightseeing. I think that one of the outstandingly good features of this hotel was the customer care of all the staff. All we met displayed an extremely friendly and professional attitude and were pleased to find ways of helping with any matters even before I asked sometimes. Very impressed and an excellent choice for our short stay in the city. Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delighted_Client2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEXINGTON
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We found this on the internet, it looked nice, and was close to my meeting. When we arrived, we were allowed to check in early due to our early plane arrival, and the front desk was excellent in making us welcome. Our room was a basic double, but spotless and comfortable.
Breakfast was available every morning, and quite good. This is a small boutique hotel in the downtown center that is one of the most friendly hotels we have ever stayed in. We would suggest it without hesitation to those who want a quiet friendly hotel with charm and excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeCRNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We just returned from a professional meeting in Ljubljana and we stayed at the Allegro Hotel unit # 14. It was a deluxe double just acorss the courtyard and up the stairs from the front lobby. It couldn't have been any better. The air conditioning unit and tv were top notch, and the bathroom just the right size. The hotel was a nice 10 minute walk through the old part of the town whcih was full of great unique restaurants such as Spajza and Valvas'Or.The hotel staff all spoke perfect English and very helpful. Since we had to depart at 4:30 AM to catch our plane they even packed us a lunch to take on the plane home.

Room Tip: Each room is unique in size and shape. Our friends took a reagular double and they had a sloping cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#21 of 31 in Ljubljana
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Hotel

Property: Allegro Hotel
Address: Gornji trg 6, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Location: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and luxurious hotel in the center of old Ljubljana opens its doors. It does not matter why guests come to us, but to satisfy them in all their expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Allegro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing