We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and lovely setting, but terrible service”
Review of Spajza

Spajza
Ranked #20 of 584 Restaurants in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and lovely setting, but terrible service”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We were quite disappointed by the this dining experience. The food was good, but it took nearly an hour for the food to arrive even though the place was not busy. The service provided by our waiter was very poor. She seems misinformed about the food and was awkward to talk to. Perhaps she mistook our order and this is why it took so long for the food to arrive. Overall value of the meal was ok. On the bright side of things, the restaurant has a nice atmosphere and is beautifully setup. The other waiters looked much better than the one we had. Assuming you don't get the one disorganized waiter we had, I'm sure you will have a good dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    284
    89
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California Central Coast
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Another WOW dining experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Highly recommended by our hotel, a little out of the way, but worth every step. International, mediterranean and slovenian food - a menu full of items I'd not seen before. Appetizer of trout mousse with horseradish especially wonderful. One of us had duck, and one of us had horsemeat, two had fish. All had extraordinary good things to say about their food. Service also wonderful - attentive but not intrusive. Reservations highly recommended. This place fills up!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CypressRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
313 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, excellent service & pleasant ambience.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were staying in Ljubljana's Old Town and when we asked a young woman at the tourist office for restaurant recommendations, Spajza was one of a handful that she recommended. Are we ever glad that this was the one we selected! Our initial experience was so good that we made reservations for the following evening, asking for the same inside corner table in the front section of the restaurant, which was set aside for us the following evening. The food was amazing in both instances, in presentation, taste and creativity. Our server, Martina, was very familiar with the various menu items, and helped us immensely, especially with the wines. She also acquainted us with toasted pumpkin seed oil, which was so good that we brought two bottles back with us. Our two night stay in Ljubljana was certainly enhanced by our two evenings at Spajza.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hopsalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent, relaxed dining...”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wonderful, quiet, courtyard dining at the bottom end of the old town. Highlights were spinach gnocchi with monkfish, chanterelles and truffles, saffron risotto with scallop,and rabbit fillet with pancetta and green pea puree. Friendly knowledgable waiting staff and every wine available by the glass. Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
800 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

From the narrow street the restaurant looks quite small. Inside through several rooms you then arrive in the pretty courtyard garden. This restaurant clearly takes pride in providing uniquely Slovenian dishes and excellent service. We opted for the option that brought five courses each served with a different wine. It was a good way of experiencing new tastes and made for an interesting and memorable eating experience. It was quite expensive but we were glad we had found it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spajza also viewed

Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
Ljubljana, Upper Carniola Region
 

Been to Spajza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing